Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB042SW (Sweet Harmony Handbag & Tote) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 433 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/10 2:50 PM
Last Updated:6/8/10 1:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
starryfish said...
I am awed by your skill. What a fantastic bag. I think I'll leave this pattern alone unless I improve my skills.
6/7/10 2:57 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great looking handbag! I like your modifications. I've been curious about this pattern and your review has been very helpful.
6/7/10 5:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your bag is gorgeous, Sherril!
6/7/10 6:46 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made!! Very pretty bag!
6/7/10 6:51 PM
OP Gal said...
What a wonderful review! And what a wonderful purse. I love where you placed the large cabbage rose (or whatever the flower is) on the purse. It's just right. The purse itself is obviously beautifully sewn. Another great project, Sherril.
6/7/10 7:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the material, GREAT review! Well worth the effort even with poor instructions.
6/7/10 7:53 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Hi Sherril! Oh, this is just wonderful! I want this bag... Hey, my last day is this friday~ One of my summer plans is to meet up with you for any reason~finally~.
6/8/10 8:05 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful bag, Sherril. Thanks for your detailed review!
6/8/10 10:50 AM
maespinoza28 said...
What a great look purse!! Makes me want to make one. I recently bought a purse of stiff leather and it's like dragging around luggage. :)
6/8/10 10:51 AM
Raye Ann said...
Lovely bag! I also love Amy Butler's designs, but find her directions overly wordy and therefore confusing. I have stalled out on beginning the bag from her book... I want it to be a success and am questioning my ability to follow the instructions:)
6/8/10 1:27 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Sherrill, your bag turned out beautifully. I love the way you centered the rose. Just terrific!
6/8/10 1:59 PM
lynne1nor said...
Wow! Great looking bag and great review!
6/8/10 4:31 PM
Morisot said...
Your bag is beautiful and beautifully tailored. (I've got a few bag patterns, but the interfacing requirements are off-putting. Hair canvas? )
6/9/10 9:48 AM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the heads up on excess fabric requirements --- hey, a 1/4 of yard and a 1/8 of a yard there adds up and creates storage problems since I can't seem to throw anything away. Very nice project.
6/12/10 6:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
I almost missed your great review -- So many helpful tips to get your professional look. I agree with you completely about the magnets -- Why take a chance on ruining a bag after all that work if you poke holes in the wrong place for the magnets! Also, I happen to like large pockets, but it's interesting that even you have problems with the gaping, as I do. It makes me think I will pinch out a dart at the top next time I cut out a big pocket piece. Lastly -- I know exactly what you mean about the difficult stitching through many thicknesses, especially when trying to reach difficult spaces with your machine. In fact, I've purchased a cylinder arm industrial machine for just those problems. Great work.
6/13/10 8:34 AM
diane s said...
One of my summer projects is to make the tote. I appreciate your review and the way you matched the pocket flower is amazing.
6/15/10 6:27 PM
Seabreeeze said...
what a lovely looking bag, you done a wonderful job. I am very impressed with the position of the rose on the front and the continuous of the fabric design onto the next pattern.. Very clever alignnment and seals the professionalism of the bag.
12/10/11 8:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us