SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB042SW (Sweet Harmony Handbag & Tote)

10 more reviews
Viewed 434 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/10 2:50 PM
Last Updated:6/8/10 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
starryfish said...
I am awed by your skill. What a fantastic bag. I think I'll leave this pattern alone unless I improve my skills.
6/7/10 2:57 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great looking handbag! I like your modifications. I've been curious about this pattern and your review has been very helpful.
6/7/10 5:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your bag is gorgeous, Sherril!
6/7/10 6:46 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made!! Very pretty bag!
6/7/10 6:51 PM
OP Gal said...
What a wonderful review! And what a wonderful purse. I love where you placed the large cabbage rose (or whatever the flower is) on the purse. It's just right. The purse itself is obviously beautifully sewn. Another great project, Sherril.
6/7/10 7:46 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the material, GREAT review! Well worth the effort even with poor instructions.
6/7/10 7:53 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Hi Sherril! Oh, this is just wonderful! I want this bag... Hey, my last day is this friday~ One of my summer plans is to meet up with you for any reason~finally~.
6/8/10 8:05 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful bag, Sherril. Thanks for your detailed review!
6/8/10 10:50 AM
maespinoza28 said...
What a great look purse!! Makes me want to make one. I recently bought a purse of stiff leather and it's like dragging around luggage. :)
6/8/10 10:51 AM
Raye Ann said...
Lovely bag! I also love Amy Butler's designs, but find her directions overly wordy and therefore confusing. I have stalled out on beginning the bag from her book... I want it to be a success and am questioning my ability to follow the instructions:)
6/8/10 1:27 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Sherrill, your bag turned out beautifully. I love the way you centered the rose. Just terrific!
6/8/10 1:59 PM
lynne1nor said...
Wow! Great looking bag and great review!
6/8/10 4:31 PM
Morisot said...
Your bag is beautiful and beautifully tailored. (I've got a few bag patterns, but the interfacing requirements are off-putting. Hair canvas? )
6/9/10 9:48 AM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for the heads up on excess fabric requirements --- hey, a 1/4 of yard and a 1/8 of a yard there adds up and creates storage problems since I can't seem to throw anything away. Very nice project.
6/12/10 6:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
I almost missed your great review -- So many helpful tips to get your professional look. I agree with you completely about the magnets -- Why take a chance on ruining a bag after all that work if you poke holes in the wrong place for the magnets! Also, I happen to like large pockets, but it's interesting that even you have problems with the gaping, as I do. It makes me think I will pinch out a dart at the top next time I cut out a big pocket piece. Lastly -- I know exactly what you mean about the difficult stitching through many thicknesses, especially when trying to reach difficult spaces with your machine. In fact, I've purchased a cylinder arm industrial machine for just those problems. Great work.
6/13/10 8:34 AM
diane s said...
One of my summer projects is to make the tote. I appreciate your review and the way you matched the pocket flower is amazing.
6/15/10 6:27 PM
Seabreeeze said...
what a lovely looking bag, you done a wonderful job. I am very impressed with the position of the rose on the front and the continuous of the fabric design onto the next pattern.. Very clever alignnment and seals the professionalism of the bag.
12/10/11 8:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now