Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5418 (MISSES' /MISSES' PETITE DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 561 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:harmony758
photo
About harmony758star
Member since: 6/19/09
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/10 7:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Auntie Allyn said...
I agree that, theoretically, it's a marvelous dress, but the reality doesn't quite match up. I ran into the same problems as you when I made it.
6/9/10 8:27 PM
LynnRowe said...
I was so intrigued when this pattern came out as to how on earth the neckline could support the weight of all that jersey, that I bought the pattern just to find out. IMO, the original dress just has to have undersupport, there's no other way that neckline could hold up all that fabric. After a lot of pondering, I would attach the neckline foldover, temporarily or permanently, to a bra specific to that dress. Got a spare bra handy to experiment with? :D
6/9/10 10:11 PM
Ingiepops said...
It's such a pity that no-one seems to have had luck with this pattern, it looks so nice on the envelope!
6/9/10 11:55 PM
carolynw said...
Agree with Ingiepops - nice looking on the envelope but obviously not well drafted? or thought out by Vogue. Maybe we should ask why?
6/10/10 8:50 AM
lostinvegas0 said...
I love the Idea of this dress as well. I wonder if Vogue 1012 is a better alternative.
6/10/10 3:21 PM
harmony758 said...
@lynnrowe: I think you're on to something. I though it could use essentially a lining. Same amount of fabric on both sides to even it out perhaps.
6/10/10 3:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 9848
photo
Review by KatieN on 5/13/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3658
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 12/15/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 4173 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us