SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5418 (MISSES' /MISSES' PETITE DRESS)

1 more reviews
Viewed 578 times 
Reviewed by:harmony758
photo

 
 
About harmony758star
Member since: 6/19/09
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/10 7:42 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
harmony758 said... (6/10/10 3:21 PM) Reply
@lynnrowe: I think you're on to something. I though it could use essentially a lining. Same amount of fabric on both sides to even it out perhaps.
lostinvegas0 said... (6/10/10 3:21 PM) Reply
I love the Idea of this dress as well. I wonder if Vogue 1012 is a better alternative.
carolynw said... (6/10/10 8:50 AM) Reply
Agree with Ingiepops - nice looking on the envelope but obviously not well drafted? or thought out by Vogue. Maybe we should ask why?
Ingiepops said... (6/9/10 11:55 PM) Reply
It's such a pity that no-one seems to have had luck with this pattern, it looks so nice on the envelope!
LynnRowe said... (6/9/10 10:11 PM) Reply
I was so intrigued when this pattern came out as to how on earth the neckline could support the weight of all that jersey, that I bought the pattern just to find out. IMO, the original dress just has to have undersupport, there's no other way that neckline could hold up all that fabric. After a lot of pondering, I would attach the neckline foldover, temporarily or permanently, to a bra specific to that dress. Got a spare bra handy to experiment with? :D
Auntie Allyn said... (6/9/10 8:27 PM) Reply
I agree that, theoretically, it's a marvelous dress, but the reality doesn't quite match up. I ran into the same problems as you when I made it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

McCall's 6279

photo
by: SewWil

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Pattern Details