SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2398 (Misses Special Occasion Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 619 times 
Reviewed by:MaidenJane
photo

 
 
About MaidenJane
Member since: 12/7/08
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/10 6:45 PM
Last Updated:10/4/14 10:46 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2398 by MaidenJane

Simplicity: 2398 by MaidenJane  Simplicity: 2398 by MaidenJane  
Pattern Photo: Simplicity 2398
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Fabric:Crepe - Satin backed  [See other projects in this fabric]
See more photos on my blog: Click Here

Pattern Description:

Special occasion dresses in two lengths.

Pattern Sizing:

12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?

For the most part, the construction was straightforward. Since the skirt is cut on the bias, it is a large pattern piece and it is split into two. I was able to avoid this because the fabric was 54" wide and I purchased the required amount for 45" wide.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

The directions were straightforward and there were not that many steps in the construction. I found the description of the "bands" and their "facings" a bit confusing and sewed the wrong pieces together. I caught the mistake and was able to correct it.

Fabric Used:

Crepe-backed satin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I did not use an overlay.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I don't know if I would sew it again because my daughter loves to pick out new styles. However, I think the style is classic and elegant and is one of the best I've made for her.

Conclusion:

My daughter received many compliments on this dress....it has an outstanding look.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
born2bead said...
Lovely dress and she looks gorgeous in it!
10/10/14 3:21 PM
TinaLea said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your daughter looks georgous and classy, a welcome change from many of the dance dresses I see at our local high school!
10/5/14 4:33 PM
Klarisabet said...
GORGEOUS! I stared at this pattern for a long time recently before finally deciding on something else. Seeing your photos make me regret the choice even more than I alresdy do.
10/5/14 4:19 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous color! Great fit!Great job!
10/5/14 4:29 AM
material excess said...
Really pretty!
10/5/14 1:20 AM
material excess said...
Really pretty!
10/5/14 1:19 AM
catinthehat2 said...
Gorgeous dress, your daughter looks stunning!
10/4/14 3:14 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous times two - dress and your daughter. Great job!
10/4/14 12:21 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress!
10/4/14 12:05 PM
Vancouvergirl said...
Absolutely stunning!
10/4/14 10:28 AM
Sethskid said...
It's absolutely gorgeous!!
9/27/13 0:51 AM
Phasionz by M said...
Gorgeous! Great job!
8/23/10 7:40 PM
eugenia123 said...
Wow! Stunning dress - I love the colour and the style is gorgeous. Your daughter looks amazing in this wonderful dress.
8/12/10 7:50 AM
sewmytime said...
beautiful dress!
8/11/10 7:06 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is beautiful!
8/11/10 5:59 PM
barebear said...
Oh beautiful! I love the fabric choice. She looks gorgeous in it. :)
8/11/10 5:57 PM
portercs said...
The dress is very beautiful and looks wonderful on your daughter!
8/11/10 5:53 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Stunning!
8/11/10 5:14 PM
PittyPat said...
You did a fantastic job on your daughter's dress. Looks great on her.
8/11/10 4:09 PM
sugarduck said...
This is so pretty! The fit looks great and the fabric is gorgeous!
6/12/10 8:36 AM
ChristmasHills said...
It is not just outstanding it is stupendous. Lucky girl. I love the colour too.
6/11/10 3:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Butterick 5783

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
HotPatterns 1070

photo
by: wenznz

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

More Info