SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8488 (Trousers/pants)

11 more reviews
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:andread
photo

 
 
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/10 11:34 PM
Last Updated:6/10/10 11:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said... (5/3/12 2:40 PM) Reply
Great review! Informative AND funny. :) I'm confused about the waist height, however. Ppl say they are long, but they don't look it to me. To be fair, I like my trousers Katherine Hepburn high, and all the pics of these don't look quite so high. Any feedback on that, anyone please?
Pam in Virginia said... (8/17/11 9:30 AM) Reply
I made these also out of a colonial blue linen and I underlined them because I didn't want the seat bagging out. I felt the same way about the bib and here's my idea for a black wool pair. Ignore the side zipper and use a center front zipper under the flap. Then at least the flap will be covering something. I know that is still not the real way to make sailor pants, but if you want to do it the real way, the flap is an integral part of the front but with sleeve like plackets on each side. The biggest problem with that is that, like actual sailor pants, it requires a pretty rigid fabric, so the pants wouldn't drape very nicely.
whirrclunk said... (6/11/10 5:38 PM) Reply
These look great! I'm on the lookout for some 'proper' pants where the bib is the closure too, haven't found any yet...
SoVintage said... (6/11/10 2:24 PM) Reply
Love your review
amy in mpls said... (6/11/10 2:07 PM) Reply
these are SO cute! well done, i want, no NEED a pair! :)
ryansmumAria said... (6/11/10 12:17 PM) Reply
i LikE YOUr sense of humour!
Audrey B. said... (6/11/10 9:21 AM) Reply
These are awesome!
andread said... (6/11/10 0:14 AM) Reply
Please, have at it, MissTaraTara! Can't wait to see the results.
MissTaraTara said... (6/11/10 0:00 AM) Reply
I love these pants! I especially like the contrast bib. . . .really thinking outside the box! I admit I will steal this idea this summer.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: CindyJH

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Pattern Details
Ottobre Design Magazine 05-2006-16

photo
by: 21wale

Review