SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8488 (Trousers/pants)

12 more reviews
Viewed 392 times 
Reviewed by:andread

About andreadstarstar
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews: 54 (patterns: 52)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/10 11:34 PM
Last Updated:6/10/10 11:38 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Gendun said... (5/3/12 2:40 PM) Reply
Great review! Informative AND funny. :) I'm confused about the waist height, however. Ppl say they are long, but they don't look it to me. To be fair, I like my trousers Katherine Hepburn high, and all the pics of these don't look quite so high. Any feedback on that, anyone please?
Pam in Virginia said... (8/17/11 9:30 AM) Reply
I made these also out of a colonial blue linen and I underlined them because I didn't want the seat bagging out. I felt the same way about the bib and here's my idea for a black wool pair. Ignore the side zipper and use a center front zipper under the flap. Then at least the flap will be covering something. I know that is still not the real way to make sailor pants, but if you want to do it the real way, the flap is an integral part of the front but with sleeve like plackets on each side. The biggest problem with that is that, like actual sailor pants, it requires a pretty rigid fabric, so the pants wouldn't drape very nicely.
whirrclunk said... (6/11/10 5:38 PM) Reply
These look great! I'm on the lookout for some 'proper' pants where the bib is the closure too, haven't found any yet...
SoVintage said... (6/11/10 2:24 PM) Reply
Love your review
amy in mpls said... (6/11/10 2:07 PM) Reply
these are SO cute! well done, i want, no NEED a pair! :)
ryansmumAria said... (6/11/10 12:17 PM) Reply
i LikE YOUr sense of humour!
Audrey B. said... (6/11/10 9:21 AM) Reply
These are awesome!
andread said... (6/11/10 0:14 AM) Reply
Please, have at it, MissTaraTara! Can't wait to see the results.
MissTaraTara said... (6/11/10 0:00 AM) Reply
I love these pants! I especially like the contrast bib. . . .really thinking outside the box! I admit I will steal this idea this summer.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2013-119

by: touran

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details