SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8488 (Trousers/pants)

11 more reviews
Viewed 385 times 
Reviewed by:andread
photo

 
 
About andreadstarstar
AZ USA
Member since: 1/30/06
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/10 11:34 PM
Last Updated:6/10/10 11:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
Great review! Informative AND funny. :) I'm confused about the waist height, however. Ppl say they are long, but they don't look it to me. To be fair, I like my trousers Katherine Hepburn high, and all the pics of these don't look quite so high. Any feedback on that, anyone please?
5/3/12 2:40 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
I made these also out of a colonial blue linen and I underlined them because I didn't want the seat bagging out. I felt the same way about the bib and here's my idea for a black wool pair. Ignore the side zipper and use a center front zipper under the flap. Then at least the flap will be covering something. I know that is still not the real way to make sailor pants, but if you want to do it the real way, the flap is an integral part of the front but with sleeve like plackets on each side. The biggest problem with that is that, like actual sailor pants, it requires a pretty rigid fabric, so the pants wouldn't drape very nicely.
8/17/11 9:30 AM
whirrclunk said...
These look great! I'm on the lookout for some 'proper' pants where the bib is the closure too, haven't found any yet...
6/11/10 5:38 PM
SoVintage said...
Love your review
6/11/10 2:24 PM
amy in mpls said...
these are SO cute! well done, i want, no NEED a pair! :)
6/11/10 2:07 PM
ryansmumAria said...
i LikE YOUr sense of humour!
6/11/10 12:17 PM
Audrey B. said...
These are awesome!
6/11/10 9:21 AM
andread said...
Please, have at it, MissTaraTara! Can't wait to see the results.
6/11/10 0:14 AM
MissTaraTara said...
I love these pants! I especially like the contrast bib. . . .really thinking outside the box! I admit I will steal this idea this summer.
6/11/10 0:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now