Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-104 (Flouncy balloon dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 337 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/10 8:17 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Very sweet dress. Thanks for a great review. Yes, I have fallen in love with styles that seemed to young for me or weren't exactly right for my figure, but I stick out my lowered bust point and walk proudly anyway. If it makes you smile, wear it.
6/16/10 8:38 AM
annie11 said...
Wonderful dress! Your fabric is gorgeous and your hand rolled hem on the flounces is perfection. Great job!
6/16/10 9:36 AM
Aroura said...
Great dress, and wonderful review! It looks wonderful on you.
6/16/10 11:14 AM
cindy-lou said...
Eve, Eve, Eve... I've been off the grid for a whole year now, almost afraid to try to sew again. What will get me back there? YOUR reviews! Love your dress. You have inspired me to jump right back into a Burda, both feet first, and get it reviewed here asap. Thanks for a great review and a great dress idea!
6/16/10 11:33 AM
inkstain said...
Wonderful, funny, well-written review. And congrats on that hand-rolled hem, which indeedy, wasn't possible on my poly. You've proven that is does pay off to use good quality, natural fabric. You've really captured the summer spirit with this dress.
6/16/10 1:00 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress! And I think it's perfectly flattering and NOT too young on you. Just a great summer dress!
6/16/10 1:11 PM
Seaspur said...
Wow! Gorgeous dress (I can't even imagine doing hand-rolled hems) and great review.
6/16/10 1:13 PM
Time4me said...
I have so much to say, something along the lines of I GET IT. However, what I will say is...LOVE YOUR DRESS. You look wonderful.
6/16/10 2:05 PM
amy in mpls said...
great dress! i LOOOVE that fabric!
6/16/10 10:02 PM
Eyeadaba said...
This is beautiful. Thanks for such a detailed review. Your hand rolled hem is perfection! Great dress.
6/17/10 2:41 AM
Fictionfan said...
Thanks for the excellent review, Eve. It is great to see how nice this dress can look on someone who has flesh on her bones, LOL! I would not have expected it to look so nice on someone who isn't a stick figure. BTW, I think you are wrong about the length making you look 10# heavier. That balloon hem at this length looks great, the whole style looks comfortable and flattering on you. It is very easy to see why you love the dress so much. I hope you get a lot of wear from it after all that beautiful work!
6/17/10 9:54 AM
crisford said...
Wow, what a great review! Felt like I was right there, beside you, with you showing me your dress, which is gorgeous! That rolled hem, absolutely beautiful! Great to see somebody taking the trouble to do that. Whenever I wonder if something is too young for me, I ask my teenage daughter, who stands to acquire the garment in question. Assuredly, she denys it, and says that she loves it on me, bless her heart. Then I usually give it to her after I wear it a few times.
6/17/10 12:22 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Nope...that is the PERFECT length for you. You look fresh! It truly flatters. Thanks for pointing out all the gotchas.
6/17/10 3:28 PM
Lili123 said...
i love your dress, it's very beautiful and very well done.
6/18/10 9:32 AM
Christas said...
I simply love your reviews .... oh, I LOVE the dress too! Everything about it is v-e-r-y CUTE ! I think it looks great on you! Those flounces - wow, perfection inside and out!
6/21/10 10:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us