Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5495 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 670 times 59 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/11/10 3:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I like your top and it looks good on you. Sorry you had problems with it, though - a very thorough review, thanks.
6/11/10 4:00 PM
sewrelaxed said...
I have been trying to get ahold of this pattern for weeks and just literally walked into the house with it. Thanks for the heads up. Your top is really cute, hope you enjoy it
6/11/10 4:48 PM
Nan Kay said...
Just read a great discussion in the boards about this pattern, wish I had read it before making it, the answers are all there! Do your own thing with this pattern and it will be great. Just ignore Buttericks methods!
6/11/10 5:33 PM
Kayseri said...
Shame the pattern is poor, after your extra work your top looks good.
6/11/10 6:19 PM
MNBarb said...
I've done the thing where you read the reviews AFTER the construction. Makes you mad since that is a big reason we read these reviews. Very frustrating. Sewing should be more fun than this. It's a bit difficult to see your version since black doesn't photograph well but I think it all worked out OK. In this case, I don't think DH was just trying to be nice. Good rescue of a (sounds like) crappy pattern.
6/11/10 7:21 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks great!
6/11/10 7:54 PM
mhk3boys said...
I agree with your DH, I think yours looks great!
6/11/10 10:04 PM
shaner said...
I HOPE being a size 16 isn't that big a deal...being as though that's my size I'm in right now. Cute top, though....just don't want any hurt feelings!
6/11/10 11:05 PM
my horse said...
I say listen to your DH! It looks better than you think it does. Good save on bad draft! Thanks for the review.
6/12/10 0:12 AM
Nancywin said...
My first thought was how nice this looks on you. Sometimes when things don't turn out the way we expect, we don't like them for a while. I think you'll find you wear this more than thought. It does look nice on you.
6/12/10 0:51 AM
JessieBear said...
Thanks for the review! I've been thinking about trying this pattern, but I might steer clear now - or at least do a thorough review to see what modifications I need to make before I start cutting!
6/12/10 8:25 AM
violetsnana said...
Thank you SO much for your review. I was in the middle of making his pattern, stuck at that AWFUL facing, waiting for inspiration on how to remedy it, when I had an ah-ha moment and logged on to PR. I used your tip of sewing the V up a ways and viola' I have a finished top now. I wrote a review, inspired by how helpful yours was!
6/17/10 11:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Burda 8807
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 2/23/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Relaxed Shift Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Yoshimi\'s Tiered Skirt
photo
Review by jannw on 6/19/11
Read Review

McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6569 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us