Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2504 thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 485 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/10 9:23 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a great job you have done on that jacket. The finish is superb!
6/11/10 10:39 PM
goosegreen said...
Wow! Funky jacket....love it!
6/11/10 11:57 PM
wsm2408 said...
Great jacket. Very trendy. You look sensational.
6/12/10 0:14 AM
SewSho said...
Great job! love the colour choice:)
6/12/10 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous !!!!!
6/12/10 5:37 AM
margk said...
Go Snuzal! Had to laugh about the hand-basting. The things we discover.... LOL. Great work.
6/12/10 5:45 AM
sugarduck said...
I was waiting to see the finished jacket, after reading your posts on the wardrobe contest board. I love the way it turned out. Great job!
6/12/10 8:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
Those exposed zippers look fantastic, just love them.
6/12/10 9:29 AM
jannw said...
love the contrast color on the exposed zip..really adds to the jacket. Great job!
6/12/10 9:30 AM
Maggiedoll said...
Looks great! I tried to do this pattern and it's in my UFO box, I couldn't get the collar to sit right. Maybe I'll have to try it again. In the fall, when it's not so hot! I can't think about cold-weather clothes in the summer or warm-weather clothes in the winter, let alone actually work on them. I thought that bit of black thread was on purpose! It's not clear in the photo, but it looked like it could have been your name or something, embroidered onto the edge!
6/12/10 9:47 AM
snuzal said...
Thanks guys, it's definitely growing on me a bit. The trick to the collar, is I think just pressing pressing pressing until it sits. it did drive me nuts for a bit too, but I just used steam 100 times over until it sat right. The exposed zips are my favourite part I think, they are so funky.
6/12/10 1:01 PM
arianamaniacs said...
That doesn't look like beginner's work to me! Great jacket! BTW I have no idea what you mean, I have at least 2 silver jackets in my closet ;)
6/13/10 4:25 AM
LaurenRose said...
Luv your jacket! You did a great job!.Your review is super helpful as I am making this same jkt. in olive green wide cordoroy. Facings are tricky tho as you said but with a little patience I think I got it. I'm also adding a lining to mine by following instructions I found from an old issue of Threads Magazine. Will post my first review when I'm done.
1/17/11 8:05 AM
Adaire said...
I am just amazed (as I often am with PR) at the creativity of you all. This seems to be a great pattern and can be interpreted so many different ways for different ages and climates. Seems to look great on all body types too.
6/21/13 4:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7696
photo
Review by Renee B on 7/11/09
Read Review

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6123
photo
Review by wendlesue on 4/30/13
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2491 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6641 Pattern
New Look 6641 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us