SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8554 

3 more reviews
Viewed 209 times 
Reviewed by:D.Skaar
photo

 
 
About D.Skaar
AL
Member since: 11/15/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/10 5:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gay said...
You may feel that it's not 'you', but it looks very good on you. You might like it better in voile or lawn or even rayon, which would make the skirt less poufy. Getting a non-puckered seam on the straight-of-grain with that cotton broadcloth can be very tricky.
6/13/10 9:13 PM
embaby said...
I should have read your review first. I'm doing this project now and hated the centre seam on the front of the skirt (definitely agree that it should have been cut on the centre fold of the fabric) and the gathered skirt as well. I'm contemplating plan B- to change the dress into a jumpsuit by replacing the full skirt with high waisted short since I do like the top portion of the dress.
6/23/10 9:24 AM
mollyshark said...
I learned a secret from Louise Cutting at ASW a couple years ago. With cotton fabrics, using standard polyester thread will frequently cause a seam pucker that won't iron out. The thread draws in at a different rate than the cotton fabric and there you have it. Try a cotton thread or at least one with cotton in it that won't fight back like the polyesters. But embaby is correct..this should be cut on the fold if you can.
6/24/10 7:30 AM
chutchings said...
I am looking to make this on the weekend, both of the reviews have been really helpful. I can't think of why they didn't cut the skirt on the fold. I'm going to do that and see how it goes. But I do agree with Gay, I think it looks cute, half of why I still bought the pattern.
6/25/10 11:45 AM
D.Skaar said...
mollyshark, Thanks for the for the advise to use cotton thread. I will definitely try that out. I may even rip the seam back to fix the puckering.
6/30/10 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Amy Butler AB037DG

photo
by: ModCat

Review
Lingerie Secrets Ladies PJ/Yoga Pant

photo
by: Holmar

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now