SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8554 

3 more reviews
Viewed 209 times 
Reviewed by:D.Skaar
photo

 
 
About D.Skaar
AL
Member since: 11/15/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/10 5:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
D.Skaar said... (6/30/10 9:06 PM) Reply
mollyshark, Thanks for the for the advise to use cotton thread. I will definitely try that out. I may even rip the seam back to fix the puckering.
chutchings said... (6/25/10 11:45 AM) Reply
I am looking to make this on the weekend, both of the reviews have been really helpful. I can't think of why they didn't cut the skirt on the fold. I'm going to do that and see how it goes. But I do agree with Gay, I think it looks cute, half of why I still bought the pattern.
mollyshark said... (6/24/10 7:30 AM) Reply
I learned a secret from Louise Cutting at ASW a couple years ago. With cotton fabrics, using standard polyester thread will frequently cause a seam pucker that won't iron out. The thread draws in at a different rate than the cotton fabric and there you have it. Try a cotton thread or at least one with cotton in it that won't fight back like the polyesters. But embaby is correct..this should be cut on the fold if you can.
embaby said... (6/23/10 9:24 AM) Reply
I should have read your review first. I'm doing this project now and hated the centre seam on the front of the skirt (definitely agree that it should have been cut on the centre fold of the fabric) and the gathered skirt as well. I'm contemplating plan B- to change the dress into a jumpsuit by replacing the full skirt with high waisted short since I do like the top portion of the dress.
Gay said... (6/13/10 9:13 PM) Reply
You may feel that it's not 'you', but it looks very good on you. You might like it better in voile or lawn or even rayon, which would make the skirt less poufy. Getting a non-puckered seam on the straight-of-grain with that cotton broadcloth can be very tricky.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 6103

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Simplicity 0690

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Pattern Details