SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 02-2010-104 (skirt)

Viewed 444 times 
Reviewed by:ksmith90
photo

 
 
About ksmith90star
CA USA
Member since: 1/28/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/10 2:47 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said...
This looks like a good basic pattern to perfect for use over and over again. I've figured out that Burda makes waistbands too loose for my liking, so I have been going down a size at the waist (even if my measurements suggest I should go UP a size). I get a comfortably snug fit this way.
9/24/10 11:23 AM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous skirt - worth persevering on. Those Burda Style instructions can be pretty bad - thanks for the warning!
9/24/10 1:35 AM
SewSara said...
I just posted my review of this skirt. I kind of just skim Burda's instructions and then do my own thing. Here is how my facing looks: http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u183/sdes_photo/Sewing/Burda/IMG_0735.jpg I turned the facing to the inside and blindstitched it down to the zipper and the seam allowance on the bottom of the waistband on the inside of the skirt. Then I topstitched the top and bottom of the waistband.
6/14/10 5:38 PM
Terri Smith said...
I have used this advice before, so I hope it helps: http://thesewingdivas.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/facing-for-invisible-zipper/ It is from Goregousfabrics aka Ann Steeves, a pro and PR member.
6/14/10 5:16 PM
snuzal said...
A girlfriend of mine just used this pattern from my Burda, and I guided her along with it. Until I got to this step as well. I gave up trying to work it out, and we just kind of ignored the instructions from there on in and did the waistband how we usually do if making something. I've somewhere seen instructions on how to put in an invisible zip if you have a facing/lining/waistband etc so hopefully someone will come in and give you that link. Looking forward to seeing this when it's done.
6/14/10 3:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3880

photo
by: Home Grown...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info
Simplicity 123

photo
by: fourkid

Review