SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 02-2010-104 (skirt)

Viewed 446 times 
Reviewed by:ksmith90
photo

 
 
About ksmith90star
CA USA
Member since: 1/28/06
Reviews: 28 (patterns: 28)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/10 2:47 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Seamingly Simple said... (9/24/10 11:23 AM) Reply
This looks like a good basic pattern to perfect for use over and over again. I've figured out that Burda makes waistbands too loose for my liking, so I have been going down a size at the waist (even if my measurements suggest I should go UP a size). I get a comfortably snug fit this way.
lyndle said... (9/24/10 1:35 AM) Reply
Gorgeous skirt - worth persevering on. Those Burda Style instructions can be pretty bad - thanks for the warning!
SewSara said... (6/14/10 5:38 PM) Reply
I just posted my review of this skirt. I kind of just skim Burda's instructions and then do my own thing. Here is how my facing looks: http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u183/sdes_photo/Sewing/Burda/IMG_0735.jpg I turned the facing to the inside and blindstitched it down to the zipper and the seam allowance on the bottom of the waistband on the inside of the skirt. Then I topstitched the top and bottom of the waistband.
Terri Smith said... (6/14/10 5:16 PM) Reply
I have used this advice before, so I hope it helps: http://thesewingdivas.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/facing-for-invisible-zipper/ It is from Goregousfabrics aka Ann Steeves, a pro and PR member.
snuzal said... (6/14/10 3:10 PM) Reply
A girlfriend of mine just used this pattern from my Burda, and I guided her along with it. Until I got to this step as well. I gave up trying to work it out, and we just kind of ignored the instructions from there on in and did the waistband how we usually do if making something. I've somewhere seen instructions on how to put in an invisible zip if you have a facing/lining/waistband etc so hopefully someone will come in and give you that link. Looking forward to seeing this when it's done.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: STARG

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details