SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 02-2010-104 (skirt)

Viewed 443 times 
Reviewed by:ksmith90
photo

 
 
About ksmith90star
CA USA
Member since: 1/28/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/10 2:47 PM
Last Updated:9/23/10 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
snuzal said...
A girlfriend of mine just used this pattern from my Burda, and I guided her along with it. Until I got to this step as well. I gave up trying to work it out, and we just kind of ignored the instructions from there on in and did the waistband how we usually do if making something. I've somewhere seen instructions on how to put in an invisible zip if you have a facing/lining/waistband etc so hopefully someone will come in and give you that link. Looking forward to seeing this when it's done.
6/14/10 3:10 PM
Terri Smith said...
I have used this advice before, so I hope it helps: http://thesewingdivas.wordpress.com/2008/12/11/facing-for-invisible-zipper/ It is from Goregousfabrics aka Ann Steeves, a pro and PR member.
6/14/10 5:16 PM
SewSara said...
I just posted my review of this skirt. I kind of just skim Burda's instructions and then do my own thing. Here is how my facing looks: http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u183/sdes_photo/Sewing/Burda/IMG_0735.jpg I turned the facing to the inside and blindstitched it down to the zipper and the seam allowance on the bottom of the waistband on the inside of the skirt. Then I topstitched the top and bottom of the waistband.
6/14/10 5:38 PM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous skirt - worth persevering on. Those Burda Style instructions can be pretty bad - thanks for the warning!
9/24/10 1:35 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This looks like a good basic pattern to perfect for use over and over again. I've figured out that Burda makes waistbands too loose for my liking, so I have been going down a size at the waist (even if my measurements suggest I should go UP a size). I get a comfortably snug fit this way.
9/24/10 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 8508

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
McCall's 6607

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now