SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3003 (Turtleneck)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1392 times 
Reviewed by:Kim Winson
photo

 
 
About Kim Winsonstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 2/2/02
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/04 9:57 AM
Last Updated:5/2/04 8:49 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Kim, great review! I had a laugh over the term "dressform gods" I am taking this class too but I have to wait until May end to make the dressform because thats when my mom comes to visit and I am hoping she will help me with it. But its a great idea to use this pattern as the t-shirt. I have it and I think I am going to do the same. Does it fit tight enough in your regular size or did you need to go down?
4/29/04 10:01 AM
Deepika said...
Is this the tip you were talking about? using wash away tape to apply clear elastic
4/29/04 10:03 AM
shard said...
Looks great! Do you remember the pattern number?
4/29/04 10:51 AM
Kim Winson said...
Deepika: the XS fits perfectly across the shoulders and front. I'm still learning how to properly fit my back; there is still some fabric pooling at the small of my back. The shirt is otherwise a pretty close fit. I might have to tweak the sleeves a bit tighter but then I have skinny arms. Thank you for searching for the tip but that's not the one :) Someone wrote that she used tissue paper in the above manner. Maybe I read it on the message boards.
4/29/04 11:14 AM
Kim Winson said...
Deepika: the XS fits perfectly across the shoulders and front. I'm still learning how to properly fit my back; there is still some fabric pooling at the small of my back. I'm also getting vertical folds of fabric between my shoulder blades all the way down to the waist. So I think I have a combo of broad back, swayback and an erect posture. Thank you the tip, Deepika, but that's not the one. Someone wrote that she used tissue paper in the above manner. Maybe I read it on the message boards.
4/29/04 11:18 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the tip for the clear elastic. I just tried using clear elastic to stablize the shoulder seam, but of course it stuck to the presser foot! Next time, I will be prepared!
4/29/04 7:41 PM
lilhoney57 said...
Thaks for the tip. Great review!
4/30/04 5:53 AM
jlg said...
Kim, very nice tops. I particularly like the short sleeve version.
5/2/04 10:17 AM
Diana M said...
A great review, Kim. And -- I've been looking for patterns for a nice v-neck top and a bias cut skirt. Looks like this has them both, even tho I'm not a "turtle neck kinda girl."
5/2/04 5:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-134

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
New Look 6309

photo
by: Verosews

Review