SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8577 (MISSES' DRESS)

16 more reviews
Work in Progress Work in Progress
Viewed 695 times 
Reviewed by:LizLefebvre
photo

 
 
About LizLefebvre
QC CANADA
Member since: 5/27/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/10 2:56 PM
Last Updated:6/23/10 4:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Easter said...
Liz, you write wonderful reviews! If you feel that you want a lining, you might try cotton batiste if your crinkly fabric isn't too stretchy. I recently bought a piece of gorgeous semi-sheer polyester that really needed a lining, and the batiste worked very well. I washed and dried it a couple of times before sewing it into the dress, since I knew the cotton would shrink but the polyester would not. Oh, and since you're thinking of adding a belt anyway, you might consider adding a loop for that spare hammer or even a clip for the Swiss army knife... ; )
6/21/10 11:52 PM
LizLefebvre said...
awesome idea: a teal full-skirted dress, with matching toolbelt! Karen, you might be on to something... as for lining... maybe I'll just make a slip instead out of the fabric you suggested... that way I can use in in other things, and wash it separately... hmmm... ideas, ideas...
6/23/10 4:40 PM
LizLefebvre said...
psst - guess what I am doing now... I'll give you a hint in the form of a riddle. (hem-hem...) "have you ever worked with a small piece of slippery fabric, cut on the bias, pinning it into a very curved area?? It's not easy!"
6/23/10 4:53 PM
MNBarb said...
You crack me up. There is a solution for your armhole issue but I'm afraid I don't know what it is since I'm just a semi-beginner in the fitting world. You could look through the posts and I think there was one by Cabinbaby who had the same problem. PR members know everything. A good fitting book might also be helpful. There are reviews in the book review section. You are such an adventuresome sewist you will probably get everything figured out by trial and error. Good work!
6/23/10 9:10 PM
persevering said...
Thanks so much for your review, looking forward to seeing your end result and hoping you lead us to finding the answers if you can resolve the armhole dilemma.
6/24/10 11:16 AM
Karen Easter said...
Hey Liz, I was just thinking about something. You seem to like non-beginner level patterns that need more fitting... so you might really like a customized dress form. You and your husband or a friend could make it in an evening out of a t-shirt and several rolls of duct tape. You have to stuff it with fiberfil and create a stand for it, but it's easy, it's really inexpensive, and it duplicates your body perfectly, right down to your posture. Here's a like to the how-to article from Threads Magazine: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/3659/clone-yourself-a-fitting-assistant If you go to threadsmagazine.com, click on "fitting" and scroll down to the bottom of the last page, you will find a couple of slightly different methods. Given the styles you like to sew, I'm betting this would help you a lot! ; ) Plus, it can be fun to tell people that you let someone tie you up in duct tape for three hours. They just don't know what to say! : ) And sometimes, telling them what was really going on with the duct tape doesn't make them think you're any less ... different.
6/25/10 6:37 PM
LizLefebvre said...
Thanks Karen for the tip about the dress form. It sounds like quite a project and maybe something to try this summer!
6/27/10 7:21 PM
pjhoff said...
I have similar fit issues with sleeves. I haven't quite worked it out yet myself, but I think it's a combination of high/square shoulders, and possibly somewhat forward shoulders. I'd like to try a fitting shell soon. Maybe you would benefit, too.
12/25/10 10:38 PM
LizLefebvre said...
Sooo, an update: I scrapped it. I realized I deeply hated the teal polyester, and my grandmother informed me that the lack of mobility might have had to do with my fudged FBA: she said I should have bought a bigger size to start with. OK - so, that's what I did. Bye-bye frustrating hot sweaty polyester too-tight beginner draft. Hello 2nd draft! My G-ma also said I was overly ambitious: for a 2nd-ever sewing project, I should have chosen something with maybe 4 pieces, like an a-lins skirt or something... and she said "make something simple, and choose better fabric." I love my Grandma - 95 years old and still so young! And full of wisdom.
9/9/11 3:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: lyndle

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now