SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5801 (easy)

4 more reviews
Viewed 590 times 
Reviewed by:VirginiasDghter
photo

 
 
About VirginiasDghter
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 33
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/10 11:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSho said...
Very sweet dress:)
6/16/10 1:14 AM
Aroura said...
Good job fixing the neckband situation, it looks perfect. I love eyour fabric choice too.
6/16/10 2:00 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's a lovely dress, smart and cool looking. You would find it easier if you made it again.
6/16/10 5:16 AM
Lori V said...
Darling dress, very pretty fabric.
6/16/10 7:01 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very pretty!
6/16/10 7:37 AM
Dynamo said...
I've been eyeing this pattern so thanks for reviewing it. The dress looks super cute on you. Also I think your collar situation is a common problem. I have taken a blouse making course and lots of people had similar problems to yours re fitting the collar to the neck edge. Pin the center backs and the neck edges, and then halfway between those points and then you need to pull on the collar, keep pinning etc to get it to fit. Hope that makes sense.
6/16/10 8:54 AM
MaryDB said...
Love the dress, looks great. Nice job.
6/16/10 10:26 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
It looks so cool and comfortable.
6/16/10 12:51 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thanks for the nice comments and thanks to Dynamo for the sewing tip. I will definitely try this next time! Thanks again!
6/16/10 2:23 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cool and comfy summer classic! Great review! I think it would be great in white too!
6/16/10 5:46 PM
Dmd4106 said...
dup
6/16/10 5:46 PM
JodieT said...
I just bought this pattern. I am planning on making it out of a linen solid I have. I love the check linen. Thank you for review.
6/16/10 11:56 PM
mestake said...
Looks great on you! Nice job.
6/17/10 1:07 PM
redhotpepper said...
That is so stinkin' cute! I have the pattern and it's just moved up the list thanks to your review.
6/27/10 8:56 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
redhotpepper: LOL! Thanks! Can't wait to see yours.
6/28/10 8:17 PM
PattyU said...
Your dress is lovely. I was considering this pattern and look at each review. No one mentions that it calls for 60" woven fabric. Was this a problem for you? Did you need to alter the skirt in any way to fit it on standard width woven or did you find wide fabric? Thanks.
7/3/10 9:19 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Just pick this pattern up today at the McCalls sale at Joanns. I saw your version and I love it! You really did a great job. It looks very nice on you. Thanks for the review.
7/3/10 10:08 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
I've have been so encouraged since becoming a member of this website, it is nice to also be an encouragement! Thanks imsewcrazy and PattyU. Patty U: you are absolutely right I forgot this mention this in my review - good point! I actually used a handkerchief linen that my mother had in her stash. It was 45" so I had to re-fold (cross-wise - I think) the fabric to accomodate the required width. As a result, I ended up using more fabric than the pattern called for. I had to shorten the pattern a little but ended up using a tinch less than a yard more fabric than required by the pattern. Hope this helps!
7/5/10 1:52 PM
sharkycharming said...
Beautiful dress!
11/29/10 9:34 AM
angela langan said...
well now thats just cute, i have this pattern and gosh I have some navy checked cotton and I think I just found me a match n the stash!
8/25/11 2:38 AM
JodieT said...
Thank you for review. This dress is OOP now and I have it. I love pattern review because we can check other"s success's and failure's before destashing. I have been sewing for home, gifts and for ground children and am ready for sewing for self!
4/12/13 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 2435

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review