Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5801 (easy) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 583 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:GodsgirlT
photo
About GodsgirlT
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 32
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/10 11:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewSho said...
Very sweet dress:)
6/16/10 1:14 AM
Aroura said...
Good job fixing the neckband situation, it looks perfect. I love eyour fabric choice too.
6/16/10 2:00 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's a lovely dress, smart and cool looking. You would find it easier if you made it again.
6/16/10 5:16 AM
Lori V said...
Darling dress, very pretty fabric.
6/16/10 7:01 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very pretty!
6/16/10 7:37 AM
Dynamo said...
I've been eyeing this pattern so thanks for reviewing it. The dress looks super cute on you. Also I think your collar situation is a common problem. I have taken a blouse making course and lots of people had similar problems to yours re fitting the collar to the neck edge. Pin the center backs and the neck edges, and then halfway between those points and then you need to pull on the collar, keep pinning etc to get it to fit. Hope that makes sense.
6/16/10 8:54 AM
MaryDB said...
Love the dress, looks great. Nice job.
6/16/10 10:26 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
It looks so cool and comfortable.
6/16/10 12:51 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Thanks for the nice comments and thanks to Dynamo for the sewing tip. I will definitely try this next time! Thanks again!
6/16/10 2:23 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cool and comfy summer classic! Great review! I think it would be great in white too!
6/16/10 5:46 PM
Dmd4106 said...
dup
6/16/10 5:46 PM
JodieT said...
I just bought this pattern. I am planning on making it out of a linen solid I have. I love the check linen. Thank you for review.
6/16/10 11:56 PM
mestake said...
Looks great on you! Nice job.
6/17/10 1:07 PM
redhotpepper said...
That is so stinkin' cute! I have the pattern and it's just moved up the list thanks to your review.
6/27/10 8:56 PM
GodsgirlT said...
redhotpepper: LOL! Thanks! Can't wait to see yours.
6/28/10 8:17 PM
PattyU said...
Your dress is lovely. I was considering this pattern and look at each review. No one mentions that it calls for 60" woven fabric. Was this a problem for you? Did you need to alter the skirt in any way to fit it on standard width woven or did you find wide fabric? Thanks.
7/3/10 9:19 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Just pick this pattern up today at the McCalls sale at Joanns. I saw your version and I love it! You really did a great job. It looks very nice on you. Thanks for the review.
7/3/10 10:08 PM
GodsgirlT said...
I've have been so encouraged since becoming a member of this website, it is nice to also be an encouragement! Thanks imsewcrazy and PattyU. Patty U: you are absolutely right I forgot this mention this in my review - good point! I actually used a handkerchief linen that my mother had in her stash. It was 45" so I had to re-fold (cross-wise - I think) the fabric to accomodate the required width. As a result, I ended up using more fabric than the pattern called for. I had to shorten the pattern a little but ended up using a tinch less than a yard more fabric than required by the pattern. Hope this helps!
7/5/10 1:52 PM
sharkycharming said...
Beautiful dress!
11/29/10 9:34 AM
angela langan said...
well now thats just cute, i have this pattern and gosh I have some navy checked cotton and I think I just found me a match n the stash!
8/25/11 2:38 AM
JodieT said...
Thank you for review. This dress is OOP now and I have it. I love pattern review because we can check other"s success's and failure's before destashing. I have been sewing for home, gifts and for ground children and am ready for sewing for self!
4/12/13 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 4741
photo
Review by Debra H on 3/11/06
Read Review

Simplicity 2475 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2475 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6688 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6688 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Christmas Tree Napkins
photo
Review by Darla in P... on 12/17/09
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us