Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion in Harmony: 902 (Wrap Blouse Party) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 508 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:JEF
photo
Friend of PR
About JEFstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/10 10:56 AM
Last Updated:6/18/10 11:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
I've been waiting to see one of these patterns made up, they look so interesting. I think the top is looking really nice. It looks to me like you need to shorten the waist area so that the wrap part starts higher up so that it fits closer at the waist...is that even possible with this pattern?
6/18/10 11:20 AM
JEF said...
There is a lengthen/shorten line but the ties are at bottom corners so they'd still not be at waist height. It's a puzzle. ETA: I added a layout photo above. The extension pieces (not laid out) add one more tie each.
6/18/10 11:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
That pattern piece in the layout has a very interesting shape. I like the sleeves too. I think it's definitely worth another try.
6/18/10 9:23 PM
sfshaza said...
I, too, think this pattern has potential. It looks lovely on you, especially at the top. It just looks like it needs some tweaking at the hips. Izzie might have it right. I would email the owner of the pattern company. I have chatted with her about another pattern and she's very responsive.
6/19/10 0:01 AM
lamstu said...
Interesting pattern. Although it has not worked for you, it's nice to read about your efforts. If you don't continue, at least one big piece is easier to repurpose....
6/19/10 3:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I purchased the jacket pattern and have yet to try it. Just like your top the pattern pieces are a bit unusual. Like others I think you ought to give it one more try. I think you are onto something. Maybe try one of the shorter tops.
6/19/10 9:02 AM
AuntieShel said...
I, too, have been waiting to see a review of a garment from this company, and I also think this top has a lot of potential. I particularly like the black one--the placement of the motif is fabulous (and was probably a happy accident!) I think the strong fabric carries it, for sure!
6/19/10 3:04 PM
Deepika said...
Jennifer, I like the muslin in knit a lot! I think you can make it even more fun by adding some beads at the hem...
6/21/10 8:17 AM
KBT Sewer said...
I was soooo pleased to see how you'd got on with the top. The top half really suits you so, as others have commented, a shorter top may well make all the difference to your overall fit. I do like those sleeves--very flattering and feminine
6/21/10 3:31 PM
drsue said...
I like the muslin too. I wonder if you pattern on your "real" top is just too sweet for this avant guard design. the pattern on the muslin really worked.
6/27/10 1:16 PM
KathySews said...
I think you could save this. It is too long, but maybe by adding 2 or 3 horizontal tucks, you could shorten it and the tucks would look like a hip band/sash
6/27/10 2:35 PM
sew2006 said...
Thanks for the review. I also liked the knit top version, let us know if you try it again.
7/1/10 1:28 PM
JEF said...
Thank you all for the comments and encouragement on my top. I have decided to take that one and continue to treat it like a muslin. So, I shortened it along the lengthen/shorten line a couple of inches. That put a seam RIGHT across my bust. Of course, normally I would make that change on the pattern so that seam wouldn't be there. I mention it so you know where the length is taken out/added in since the pattern shape is fairly odd. That might have helped a smidge with the general look around the hip area but made the arms/around the back too snug. It's wearable but not comfortable. So, I probably took too much up. My next alteration will be a tie-ectomy. I just can't see how these ties can work. They are at the lowest corners of the pattern on the tunic top. So, they either have to tie at the hip (leaving no definition/baggy fabric at the waist) or be angled up (creating no definition/baggy fabric at the waist). So, I'll try moving them to a waist spot and see if that helps. I'll keep you posted. JEF
7/2/10 5:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1029
photo
Review by cairncrew on 4/22/11
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 0000
photo
Review by Gillian on 3/28/05
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us