SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6963 (Misses' Tops)

12 more reviews
Viewed 813 times 
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 1:17 PM
Last Updated:8/7/10 1:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftygamma said... (8/20/10 11:54 AM) Reply
This pattern turned out to be a wadder for me. I should have taken a picture, but didn't. My facing was all ripply at the neckling and about 2" longer than the blouse. That can just be cut off, but struck me as strange. I used a size 18 which was right for my measurements, but was too tight. I let out the back darts, and it fit snugly. I decided not to invest the cost of buttons or any more time in this pattern & wadded it.
Aroura said... (8/7/10 2:55 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you, and that you lost some fabric you really liked :( But the reveiw and coments are very helpful! I'll steer clear of this pattern if I want a nice button front shirt.
frame said... (7/26/10 4:05 PM) Reply
The cutting lines not lining up are because the shorter sleeve lengths are giving an allowance for turning under the hem. This is a very common pattern design and necessary when you turn under that hem. You correctly merged your line from the shorter version to the longer version. You will see this a lot. HTH I never heard of interfacing a back yolk in a woman's blouse, so I can't say eliminating that is bad. I do like the idea of doubling the fabric in the yoke. Good for you. Sorry this pattern didn't work out for you. There are lots more to try. :)
Margaret said... (7/1/10 4:47 PM) Reply
The single interfaced layer sounds really odd, thanks for pointing that out. :( Anyway, hope it goes well once you do go back to it.
Longarm said... (6/30/10 6:13 PM) Reply
I hope when you get back to this project you will let us know how it goes. Wishing all good luck. I just finished making this pattern and posted comments on my experience with the pattern, which you can find if you do a search under "big shirt" in the boards. I plan to post an actual review once I buy the right buttons to complete my shirt. I am really pleased with it overall.
RadarRadiance said... (6/28/10 11:30 AM) Reply
Good luck with the fitting, it is a nice pattern. I downloaded the kwik sew link you posted...Thanks! OH....I was surprised to read that kwik sew designs for a C cup, good info to know!!!
craftygamma said... (6/26/10 4:58 PM) Reply
I have this pattern now. The jogs on the sleeve are for the hem on the short sleeve version, but you are correct that there is no indication of this. I have it cut out, but did not go any further. Am looking forward to seeing your finished version. I am making a wearable muslin (I hope it's wearable).
Margaret said... (6/22/10 9:21 PM) Reply
Looks like a nice pattern/fabric choice. Good luck on the FBA -- this looks like a relatively simple method. I think those jog lines on the sleeve are to make the hem flare out correctly for the shorter sleeve... the longer sleeve should definitely be cut w/ the jog smoothed out and it's too bad the pattern doesn't indicate that.
craftygamma said... (6/20/10 1:13 PM) Reply
I hate tracing patterns PERIOD. For myself, I just cut the pattern, especially a $4 pattern. I sew a lot for my daughter & grandkids, and I force myself to trace to utilize the entire cost of the pattern. I like this blouse design, though, and will be watching to see how it works out for you. Will probably buy the pattern now though.
GlButterfly said... (6/19/10 2:06 AM) Reply
Once you get those cutting cuts in control, you can make many and have them look completely different. Good luck with the FBA. I think you'll like the fit better.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: STARG

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Pattern Details