SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1001 (Macaron)

57 more reviews
Viewed 1011 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/10 2:48 AM
Last Updated:10/17/10 8:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
Gosh it looks lovely! I can't wait to see it on you =)
6/22/10 5:16 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty dress and thanks for taking the extra time to record and upload the video.
6/22/10 5:24 AM
dingyadi said...
That is very pretty, and I love the fabric colour choice.
6/22/10 7:46 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks guys... what would I do without your support!? You really keep me motivated (which I need these days! :-)
6/22/10 9:22 AM
marec said...
Lovely. These are great patterns. aren't they? Please, please...I want to see it worn :-)
6/22/10 9:24 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty dress. I bet it looks great on you too.
6/22/10 11:22 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow - you look GORGEOUS! Demure but sexy. Love it! and it fits beautifully too.
6/22/10 9:30 PM
MNBarb said...
Really nice dress. I have never made a Colette Pattern and now am tempted.
6/22/10 9:33 PM
Terri A said...
My daughter says thanks and is blushing:-)heehee
6/22/10 9:33 PM
Karen6790 said...
First off, what a FABULOUS photo. Such a great way to show off your dress and your daughter. I love how it turned out, the linen was exactly right and your work is beautiful.
6/22/10 9:42 PM
Gelbean said...
Fabulous dress! The photo is great. Your daughter is absolutely beautiful.
6/22/10 9:52 PM
Mahler said...
You are right to love this dress it is lovely and so feminine. Brava !
6/22/10 9:55 PM
drsue said...
Pretty, pretty!
6/22/10 9:57 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous dress, beautiful photos and your daughter looks so pretty.
6/22/10 10:33 PM
marec said...
What a great photo shoot!! Your daughter looks terrific, and so sophisticated, in her new dress.
6/23/10 0:19 AM
Kim12469 said...
Beautiful! I really want to make this dress. Thank you so much for your review.
6/23/10 7:16 AM
lamstu said...
So very pretty! The length is perfect on your DD.
6/23/10 8:31 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great photo, lovely dress!!!
6/23/10 10:21 AM
kim*brown said...
Super cute and fun pic!
6/23/10 11:21 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fab! Love! She looks gorgeous and the dress is super. I might need to make this too...although I won't look nearly that good in it!
6/23/10 4:38 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great summer dress. Loved the photo shoot.
6/23/10 5:23 PM
Paris75008 said...
That is just the most darling little dress. I LOVE it!
6/24/10 7:53 AM
LizLefebvre said...
I think it's wonderful! Your daughter looks so graceful, and the colours suit her perfectly. I do have a question, though - is it comfortable to wear? Does it allow movement in the shoulders and the arms?
6/28/10 9:36 AM
Terri A said...
Well, she says it is very comfortable but she has tiny shoulders and her underarm is high. Dresses that seem too tight in the armscye to others, fits her fine with room to spare. If you are referring to the pull lines on the photo, I think because I was working with a stretch woven with a lot of stretch, when I manipulated the fabric to ease it, unlike a woven without lycra, it wanted to stretch more than actually be placed properly. So, when that happens although you are manipulating the fabric and as you ease it in, you are not making any little tucks or pleats, because it is actually stretching, as soon as the seam is done you have some pull lines as the lycra rebounds. I attributed this to my fabric and the fact that I have slightly less experience easing in stretch fabric... It didn't reflect on the pattern itself, so I didn't think to mention it in the review. I also threw it in the wash right before the photo shoot and practically left it "as is" for the pictures instead of a thorough pressing. I think the whole dress has very little ease and is very fitted through the top. I will edit the review to reflect this. Thanks for asking... HTH Terri :-)
6/28/10 4:27 PM
senaSews said...
Beautiful dress and what a fun picture!
7/1/10 5:31 AM
pammieh said...
Wow! She can wear a dress!!
8/11/10 10:19 PM
SansSouci572 said...
I hope the designer of this pattern sees this review and photo! I just got this pattern too! Now I am even more excited to try it out. I should say my daughter is excited for me to try it out. We are both getting a new dress with this pattern, thanks for the fun and informative review.
10/17/10 9:49 PM
Christas said...
What a pretty dress! Love the extra details! Your daughter looks beautiful wearing it.
10/17/10 10:15 PM
Renren said...
Very nice dress and I think you should send a photo to the Colette patterns. They would probably be delighted to see this project, especially with the very artistic photo composition.
10/17/10 10:16 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you:-)!!! Yep, my daughter just LOVES this dress and wears it a LOT! It is fully worth every penny for the pattern.
10/17/10 10:23 PM
PolaNegri said...
Love it! Do you think a contrast part could be made from a sheer fabric (for example organza)?
11/6/10 4:15 PM
Terri A said...
Yes, Some people have done a sheer top to this dress and it looks really good!
11/7/10 4:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Kwik Sew 3773

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review

Pattern

Ottobre Design 02-2009-11

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now