Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5450 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Top, Tu) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 593 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:LoriLaroo
photo
About LoriLaroostar
FL USA
Member since: 6/24/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 8:23 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 8:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
This is beautiful! I love the colors and the pattern - perfect combination.
6/24/10 8:32 PM
Lety said...
What a great alteration, I think I'm going to try it!
6/24/10 8:37 PM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous top - love your adaptation - prettier than the original.
6/24/10 9:33 PM
Nan Kay said...
Yours version is better than the picture on the envelope! I really like how you changed it!
6/24/10 10:12 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Looks like a cute top. Would be nice to see it on you, since your model is also blue, it is hard to make out the lines in the top. Suggest showing a back view, too.
6/24/10 10:24 PM
lamstu said...
I really like the modification that you made. Also thanks for mentioning about the body types that might not wear it so well - this is very useful.
6/25/10 4:45 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm just getting ready to make this top. Thanks for the review. It calls for a less drapey fabric than you used. Do you think the gathers work better for softer fabrics and, maybe, the pleat would work better for more stable fabrics? I like the idea of the gathers but am planning to use a stretch cotton but do have a rayon that could be an alternate.
6/25/10 9:04 AM
LoriLaroo said...
Coastal Connie: I though the same when I took the pix (blue on blue). I will take a pix of the back and me wearing it in the next few days. MNBarb: I think with a more stable fabric, the pleats would not be as soft-looking, but more defined. I'd try it.
6/25/10 9:14 AM
Gold said...
Cute top love the fabric print.
6/25/10 10:59 AM
sunnysewer said...
so glad to see this made up. I have this pattern and the center folds gave me pause - thought they might come out weird. So the gathers are the answer! very nice.
6/25/10 12:19 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Really cute fabric and your modification of the gathers looks awesome! After reading your review and another, I'm thinking that eliminating the middle pleat *might* work for me in this top (I'm a 36C... so just on the cusp of "bigger") Love your top!
6/26/10 0:19 AM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
6/27/10 10:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us