SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5450 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Top, Tu)

27 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:LoriLaroo
photo

 
 
About LoriLaroostar
FL USA
Member since: 6/24/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 8:23 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 8:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Pretty top!
6/27/10 10:29 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Really cute fabric and your modification of the gathers looks awesome! After reading your review and another, I'm thinking that eliminating the middle pleat *might* work for me in this top (I'm a 36C... so just on the cusp of "bigger") Love your top!
6/26/10 0:19 AM
sunnysewer said...
so glad to see this made up. I have this pattern and the center folds gave me pause - thought they might come out weird. So the gathers are the answer! very nice.
6/25/10 12:19 PM
Gold said...
Cute top love the fabric print.
6/25/10 10:59 AM
LoriLaroo said...
Coastal Connie: I though the same when I took the pix (blue on blue). I will take a pix of the back and me wearing it in the next few days. MNBarb: I think with a more stable fabric, the pleats would not be as soft-looking, but more defined. I'd try it.
6/25/10 9:14 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm just getting ready to make this top. Thanks for the review. It calls for a less drapey fabric than you used. Do you think the gathers work better for softer fabrics and, maybe, the pleat would work better for more stable fabrics? I like the idea of the gathers but am planning to use a stretch cotton but do have a rayon that could be an alternate.
6/25/10 9:04 AM
lamstu said...
I really like the modification that you made. Also thanks for mentioning about the body types that might not wear it so well - this is very useful.
6/25/10 4:45 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Looks like a cute top. Would be nice to see it on you, since your model is also blue, it is hard to make out the lines in the top. Suggest showing a back view, too.
6/24/10 10:24 PM
Nan Kay said...
Yours version is better than the picture on the envelope! I really like how you changed it!
6/24/10 10:12 PM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous top - love your adaptation - prettier than the original.
6/24/10 9:33 PM
Lety said...
What a great alteration, I think I'm going to try it!
6/24/10 8:37 PM
ryansmumAria said...
This is beautiful! I love the colors and the pattern - perfect combination.
6/24/10 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2497

photo
by: bennomusik

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now