SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5450 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Top, Tu)

27 more reviews
Viewed 601 times 
Reviewed by:LoriLaroo
photo

 
 
About LoriLaroostar
FL USA
Member since: 6/24/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 8:23 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 8:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said... (6/27/10 10:29 PM) Reply
Pretty top!
JMarie1962 said... (6/26/10 0:19 AM) Reply
Really cute fabric and your modification of the gathers looks awesome! After reading your review and another, I'm thinking that eliminating the middle pleat *might* work for me in this top (I'm a 36C... so just on the cusp of "bigger") Love your top!
sunnysewer said... (6/25/10 12:19 PM) Reply
so glad to see this made up. I have this pattern and the center folds gave me pause - thought they might come out weird. So the gathers are the answer! very nice.
Gold said... (6/25/10 10:59 AM) Reply
Cute top love the fabric print.
LoriLaroo said... (6/25/10 9:14 AM) Reply
Coastal Connie: I though the same when I took the pix (blue on blue). I will take a pix of the back and me wearing it in the next few days. MNBarb: I think with a more stable fabric, the pleats would not be as soft-looking, but more defined. I'd try it.
MNBarb said... (6/25/10 9:04 AM) Reply
I'm just getting ready to make this top. Thanks for the review. It calls for a less drapey fabric than you used. Do you think the gathers work better for softer fabrics and, maybe, the pleat would work better for more stable fabrics? I like the idea of the gathers but am planning to use a stretch cotton but do have a rayon that could be an alternate.
lamstu said... (6/25/10 4:45 AM) Reply
I really like the modification that you made. Also thanks for mentioning about the body types that might not wear it so well - this is very useful.
Coastal Connie said... (6/24/10 10:24 PM) Reply
Looks like a cute top. Would be nice to see it on you, since your model is also blue, it is hard to make out the lines in the top. Suggest showing a back view, too.
Nan Kay said... (6/24/10 10:12 PM) Reply
Yours version is better than the picture on the envelope! I really like how you changed it!
sewing for fun said... (6/24/10 9:33 PM) Reply
Gorgeous top - love your adaptation - prettier than the original.
Lety said... (6/24/10 8:37 PM) Reply
What a great alteration, I think I'm going to try it!
ryansmumAria said... (6/24/10 8:32 PM) Reply
This is beautiful! I love the colors and the pattern - perfect combination.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2011-30

photo
by: 21wale

Review
McCall's 6408

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Pattern Details