SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2902 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS)

22 more reviews
Viewed 618 times 
Reviewed by:ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAriastarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 11:12 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 11:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Ouch! 10 hours...that is what happens to me when I need somthing done fast! haha.... Well worth it because it really makes the whole outfit. I wrote the skirt pattern number down and love the top with it but sounds like lots of work. Very stylish! I'm sure you made your son proud at his special event!
6/24/10 11:55 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
love it! I am a sucker for black and white stripes. You got the fit perfect. . .
6/25/10 1:13 AM
carnelian said...
Creative, brilliant, chic. Your version exemplifies the meaning of learning from a vintage design.
6/25/10 1:40 AM
babydoll said...
this looks great - i made a straight skirt from striped wool and would never do this again - the time it took messing about with 1/8" here and 1/8" there to get the stripes to look right. you took 10 hours to get the top looking how you wanted - this would be messing with stripes too - or fitting?
6/25/10 4:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gorgeous -- and a great look with the beautiful skirt you also reviewed.
6/25/10 7:36 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW factor of 10+ That's a snazzy good looking sharp ultra perfect top! I think your 10 hrs paid off handsomely.
6/25/10 7:43 AM
Rhoda K said...
Your top is beautiful, sorry it took so long, but worth it. Right? ;-)
6/25/10 9:53 AM
becca a said...
Your top is lovely! The combination of stripes and solid is very chic.
6/25/10 9:56 AM
RLL said...
I too am a sucker for black and white stripes, or just black and white anything. I love this whole outfit. Please do tell......what are the fabrics for the top and skirt?
6/25/10 11:04 AM
sewtime said...
Love your tank top!
6/25/10 11:10 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thanks for the generous comments. The striped fabric was a tiny scrap piece from a friend of mine. It was the most wonderful piece of a rather heavy knit that must have had some lycra in it. It was luxurious and I fell in love with it - I, too, love black and white stripes. The skirt was some very inexpensive poly knit purchased from a vendor who would come to my classroom to sell end pieces. The skirt is now tired from wear so I am looking for something similar to make it again.
6/25/10 11:42 AM
ryansmumAria said...
babydoll, The ten hours was spent on mostly fitting. I thought the fitting was precise until I sewed it up and saw it needed to be altered more so I took it apart. I didn't have time or fabric to do a first muslin. Because the straps and neckline are all one piece you don't have wiggle room to place the strap location correctly so you must make pattern adjustments in several places. I tried to get the front spacing of the straps and back spacing centered on my body correctly and then get the side seam centered. There is actually alot to consider when making this up. I'm petite in some areas and chunky in others so I have to fiddle more than an average sized person.
6/25/10 12:03 PM
psgates said...
Beautiful!
6/25/10 1:15 PM
lca said...
Oh this is beautiful! I love the neckline!
6/25/10 3:48 PM
quathy said...
It looks like a million bucks! Well worth the time you spent!
6/25/10 5:04 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow brilliant black and white combo. very striking. lol. i kept getting drawn back to the "10 hours" time frame as well. whew. i could not have don it. not for a tank top. The end result however is stunning.
6/26/10 1:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
What a special tank top. It's been worth the time (though 10 hours is a lot for a tank top). Love your use of the striped fabric.
6/26/10 7:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Great top. All your hard work paid off.
6/26/10 9:45 AM
ak21 said...
what fun. i love the stripe
6/30/10 10:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 5316

photo
by: Anelie

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-131

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now