Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2902 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 610 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:ryansmumAria
photo
About ryansmumAriastarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 11:12 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 11:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Ouch! 10 hours...that is what happens to me when I need somthing done fast! haha.... Well worth it because it really makes the whole outfit. I wrote the skirt pattern number down and love the top with it but sounds like lots of work. Very stylish! I'm sure you made your son proud at his special event!
6/24/10 11:55 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
love it! I am a sucker for black and white stripes. You got the fit perfect. . .
6/25/10 1:13 AM
carnelian said...
Creative, brilliant, chic. Your version exemplifies the meaning of learning from a vintage design.
6/25/10 1:40 AM
babydoll said...
this looks great - i made a straight skirt from striped wool and would never do this again - the time it took messing about with 1/8" here and 1/8" there to get the stripes to look right. you took 10 hours to get the top looking how you wanted - this would be messing with stripes too - or fitting?
6/25/10 4:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gorgeous -- and a great look with the beautiful skirt you also reviewed.
6/25/10 7:36 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW factor of 10+ That's a snazzy good looking sharp ultra perfect top! I think your 10 hrs paid off handsomely.
6/25/10 7:43 AM
Rhoda K said...
Your top is beautiful, sorry it took so long, but worth it. Right? ;-)
6/25/10 9:53 AM
becca a said...
Your top is lovely! The combination of stripes and solid is very chic.
6/25/10 9:56 AM
RLL said...
I too am a sucker for black and white stripes, or just black and white anything. I love this whole outfit. Please do tell......what are the fabrics for the top and skirt?
6/25/10 11:04 AM
sewtime said...
Love your tank top!
6/25/10 11:10 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thanks for the generous comments. The striped fabric was a tiny scrap piece from a friend of mine. It was the most wonderful piece of a rather heavy knit that must have had some lycra in it. It was luxurious and I fell in love with it - I, too, love black and white stripes. The skirt was some very inexpensive poly knit purchased from a vendor who would come to my classroom to sell end pieces. The skirt is now tired from wear so I am looking for something similar to make it again.
6/25/10 11:42 AM
ryansmumAria said...
babydoll, The ten hours was spent on mostly fitting. I thought the fitting was precise until I sewed it up and saw it needed to be altered more so I took it apart. I didn't have time or fabric to do a first muslin. Because the straps and neckline are all one piece you don't have wiggle room to place the strap location correctly so you must make pattern adjustments in several places. I tried to get the front spacing of the straps and back spacing centered on my body correctly and then get the side seam centered. There is actually alot to consider when making this up. I'm petite in some areas and chunky in others so I have to fiddle more than an average sized person.
6/25/10 12:03 PM
psgates said...
Beautiful!
6/25/10 1:15 PM
lca said...
Oh this is beautiful! I love the neckline!
6/25/10 3:48 PM
quathy said...
It looks like a million bucks! Well worth the time you spent!
6/25/10 5:04 PM
CynthiaSue said...
wow brilliant black and white combo. very striking. lol. i kept getting drawn back to the "10 hours" time frame as well. whew. i could not have don it. not for a tank top. The end result however is stunning.
6/26/10 1:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
What a special tank top. It's been worth the time (though 10 hours is a lot for a tank top). Love your use of the striped fabric.
6/26/10 7:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Great top. All your hard work paid off.
6/26/10 9:45 AM
ak21 said...
what fun. i love the stripe
6/30/10 10:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2828
photo
Review by guillorypr on 1/6/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 246
photo
Review by Rairscat on 3/2/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1218 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us