Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4059 thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 129 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:shanntarra
photo
About shanntarrastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 3/19/09
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/14 12:39 PM
Last Updated:3/30/14 12:40 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 4059 by shanntarra

Simplicity: 4059 by shanntarra  Simplicity: 4059 by shanntarra  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 4059
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Microsuede  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Background: This is a continueation of the "Flamingo Project" See Here For detail of that project.
I finished an updated version of the Flamingo outfit for my DH this past spring the review is Here.
After how well the DH's outfit came out, we got to thinking we needed to update the other flamingo's outfit. He has not had the best year this year, and this might cheer him up. This is suppose to be completed by September 1st.
Pattern Description: We are doing the long jacket version on this one. I belive it is in a spanish style of dress. We are fine if they look different but they both MUST be in pink. Depending on how the pattern is designed I may fully line it, add pockets and such. (For some reason men want places to keep their wallet, cell phone, keys... )

Pattern Sizing: 40 chest.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Planning shows it should.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I've made this pattern so many times for doublets and coats that I have to say I almost don't need them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like: Get the same look of the DH's linen PP outfit but not sleeves.
Dislike: To this day I dislike the loops thing for the front of the doublets, even with careful planning and stitching they never quite come out identical.

Fabric Used: The current plan is to use the same materials as we did on the Pink Pirates.
Outer fabric: Medium magenta pink Upolstry weight micro suede
Lining: We used left over cotton broad cloth for the top part lining, while used a white polyester chep du chein for the skirt portion.
Trim: Plum/Magenta/black/ pink 3/4" wide trim goes down the front edge, and on the Eppalets. We were going to put a gold/ pink trim around the hem and on the epalets but it didn't look right on the doublet for him. I am still searching for something to add but don't know what yet.
Buttons: All match, and if possible we will special order them when they are 50% off. (20 of them are needed)
Hat: The hat he currently has I DETEST! I'm making him a matching one to his outfit if I have the time.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None planned

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? It is one of my TNT patterns. I've made so far 5 items from it. I recommend it.

Conclusion: I think it turned out nice on him. Out fit worked great. Still is warm, and wouldn't wear in temps over 80 degrees, but nice.
Photos: The main photo didn't work properly.

Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dfr2010 said...
OK, I'm going to watch this one, as my friend bought material for me to make the same skirted doublet. A tip on the sleeves: don't fully sew them together, and they can hang down loose for variable weather (as they are supposed to do ;D ) yet button closed if need be. I *think* this style may actually be English, but with the Katherine of Aragon - Henry VIII marriage and Elizabeth I's fondness for continental ("foreign") styles it can be difficult to distinguish. If you want the definitive answer, I can always email a particular history professor who has doubtlessly looked up every detail of this specific garment ...
6/25/10 7:50 PM
KamiSue2 said...
Love it! As with all your costumes, it looks superb!
3/31/14 0:07 AM
Margaret said...
Looks great!
4/6/14 12:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2311
photo
Review by michou68 on 10/18/10
Read Review

Burda 7065 Pattern
Burda 7065 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3076
photo
Review by CarolynD on 1/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us