SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3768 (Knit top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:Bonny Dune
photo

 
 
About Bonny Dunestar
Member since: 1/21/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/10 5:23 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
Thanks for this review. I also have this pattern. Did you cut the legs as drafted? They look to be wider in the pattern. My body is so much like yours and I like how these fit you. I thought the leg cut looked to wide in the illustration, but maybe I should just cut it as drafted? Your contrast bias on the pockets is really neat.
6/26/10 5:03 AM
lyndle said...
Great shorts. The fit is excellent. I tend toavoid shorts but they are so useful that i might try these ones. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/26/10 6:59 AM
Bonny Dune said...
I cut these shorts exactly as drafted. I think the illustration makes the leg look wide, but it just looks flattering when I got them made up. The bias binding is a technique the pattern uses, and I do like the result. It gives the top of the pocket some shape, which makes it easy to drop things into your pocket. It also helps to minimize the saddle bag look.
6/26/10 9:18 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Bonnie...great review. I wish at least 50% of the reviews I read here were at least 50% as well thought out as yours! And a good choice for this time of the year in the US ( PS..wouldn't have run across the review unless you posted it in our Plus size msg board!
8/17/10 0:05 AM
Marie-Claude said...
I've always loved that pattern. I made the long skirt several times and they were always winners. I might have to give the shorts a try next summer! You did a great job on your pair, the fit is great!
8/23/10 1:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6564

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now