SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Era Jacket (Era Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1511 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 197
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/04 3:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slee said...
I love your jacket! Do you think it would be nice in linen? Or would it be too stiff?
5/3/04 4:35 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Susan, I think linen would be perfect, especially if you wash it first.
5/3/04 5:50 PM
jlg said...
Sue, very cute jacket. So glad that you reviewed this pattern.
5/3/04 9:01 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Sue - what about the height of the collar? I've made and not happy at all with that - I do have a short neck though. My jacket is hanging, waiting for me to take off the collar - cut it off actually, and make it lower on the body...not fun!
5/3/04 11:08 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks for the review. How is the collar for you? I know, through the message boards, that Londa was not happy with the collar. I have this pattern and I'm pleased to see this jacket made up. I haven't used a Sewing Workshop pattern before - how did you find the sizing? I am smallish and often find that the big 4 are way too big for me.
5/4/04 1:53 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the comments. To give a point of reference, the collar is probably 5" high (it is turned under 3" to the topstitching then there is a dart horizontally at the bottom of the neck at the shoulders. You can either wear it folded down or up (I showed it pulled up in the pic). On me it is fine but I have a long neck. Chris, this jacket has a lot of ease, I usually take a 14 in the big 4 and cut a Med in this but could easily have made a small, there is lots of ease. Sue
5/4/04 2:18 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks Sue, I really appreciate the information regarding the amount of ease in the pattern. I usually cut a 12 so I think I will make the small. My neck isn't long or short - I'll give it a go without alterations and review when I can. I just love the style of this jacket.
5/5/04 4:01 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks so much for the review of this jacket, Sue. I really like yours, and appreciate your detailed review. It's very different than I had envisioned. Didn't realize there was that much of a "gap" on the sides. Does the wrong side of the fabric show-in the collar perhaps? I got that impression from the pattern art and had the perfect fabric picked out...
5/10/04 7:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-125

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now