Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Era Jacket (Era Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1511 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 191
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/04 3:44 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slee said...
I love your jacket! Do you think it would be nice in linen? Or would it be too stiff?
5/3/04 4:35 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Susan, I think linen would be perfect, especially if you wash it first.
5/3/04 5:50 PM
jlg said...
Sue, very cute jacket. So glad that you reviewed this pattern.
5/3/04 9:01 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Sue - what about the height of the collar? I've made and not happy at all with that - I do have a short neck though. My jacket is hanging, waiting for me to take off the collar - cut it off actually, and make it lower on the body...not fun!
5/3/04 11:08 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks for the review. How is the collar for you? I know, through the message boards, that Londa was not happy with the collar. I have this pattern and I'm pleased to see this jacket made up. I haven't used a Sewing Workshop pattern before - how did you find the sizing? I am smallish and often find that the big 4 are way too big for me.
5/4/04 1:53 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the comments. To give a point of reference, the collar is probably 5" high (it is turned under 3" to the topstitching then there is a dart horizontally at the bottom of the neck at the shoulders. You can either wear it folded down or up (I showed it pulled up in the pic). On me it is fine but I have a long neck. Chris, this jacket has a lot of ease, I usually take a 14 in the big 4 and cut a Med in this but could easily have made a small, there is lots of ease. Sue
5/4/04 2:18 PM
ChrisK said...
Thanks Sue, I really appreciate the information regarding the amount of ease in the pattern. I usually cut a 12 so I think I will make the small. My neck isn't long or short - I'll give it a go without alterations and review when I can. I just love the style of this jacket.
5/5/04 4:01 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks so much for the review of this jacket, Sue. I really like yours, and appreciate your detailed review. It's very different than I had envisioned. Didn't realize there was that much of a "gap" on the sides. Does the wrong side of the fabric show-in the collar perhaps? I got that impression from the pattern art and had the perfect fabric picked out...
5/10/04 7:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 11/20/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5251
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 8/14/11
Read Review

McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us