Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Era Jacket (Era Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1519 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 214 (patterns: 199)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 114 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/3/04 3:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said... (5/10/04 7:37 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for the review of this jacket, Sue. I really like yours, and appreciate your detailed review. It's very different than I had envisioned. Didn't realize there was that much of a "gap" on the sides. Does the wrong side of the fabric show-in the collar perhaps? I got that impression from the pattern art and had the perfect fabric picked out...
ChrisK said... (5/5/04 4:01 AM) Reply
Thanks Sue, I really appreciate the information regarding the amount of ease in the pattern. I usually cut a 12 so I think I will make the small. My neck isn't long or short - I'll give it a go without alterations and review when I can. I just love the style of this jacket.
Sue Anfang said... (5/4/04 2:18 PM) Reply
Thanks for the comments. To give a point of reference, the collar is probably 5" high (it is turned under 3" to the topstitching then there is a dart horizontally at the bottom of the neck at the shoulders. You can either wear it folded down or up (I showed it pulled up in the pic). On me it is fine but I have a long neck. Chris, this jacket has a lot of ease, I usually take a 14 in the big 4 and cut a Med in this but could easily have made a small, there is lots of ease. Sue
ChrisK said... (5/4/04 1:53 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. How is the collar for you? I know, through the message boards, that Londa was not happy with the collar. I have this pattern and I'm pleased to see this jacket made up. I haven't used a Sewing Workshop pattern before - how did you find the sizing? I am smallish and often find that the big 4 are way too big for me.
Londa Rohlfing said... (5/3/04 11:08 PM) Reply
Sue - what about the height of the collar? I've made and not happy at all with that - I do have a short neck though. My jacket is hanging, waiting for me to take off the collar - cut it off actually, and make it lower on the body...not fun!
jlg said... (5/3/04 9:01 PM) Reply
Sue, very cute jacket. So glad that you reviewed this pattern.
Sue Anfang said... (5/3/04 5:50 PM) Reply
Susan, I think linen would be perfect, especially if you wash it first.
slee said... (5/3/04 4:35 PM) Reply
I love your jacket! Do you think it would be nice in linen? Or would it be too stiff?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Pauline Alice Ninot jacket

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Pattern Details