Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: D-01 (A-Plus A-Line) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 376 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/28/10 5:30 PM
Last Updated:6/28/10 5:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
Thanks so much for this review! While I really like your skirt, I do not believe it is worth the paper it's printed on! (pun intended :) Thanks again.
6/28/10 6:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I printed my first pattern last week. It was for a child's halter top and used 30 sheets of paper. I'm in your camp, really, what a waste! When a size zero kills a tree, that is a problem. I don't think it's about simiplicity since they don't bother to provide great instructions. You did get a great skirt out of this pattern and if you make it again the use of paper will make more sense.
6/28/10 6:58 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks for the tip on the egregious waste of paper. I just got some fabric that would have been perfect for this, but I may use something else due to the waste...and, why bother if the pattern is asymmetrical anyway?!
6/28/10 7:12 PM
Erin D said...
Your skirt looks great. I agree-the printing sounds completely wasteful.
6/28/10 7:42 PM
Meredith P said...
Thanks to you, when I print, I'm going to figure out only the pages I really need (if I can). That also saves me from the asymmetrical issues too! :-)
6/28/10 8:12 PM
Catbird said...
Chalk up another winner! You make the greatest things -- I'm really becoming a fan. I like how you style everything, too, like the yellow shoes with this exceptional skirt. I am in total agreement with your rant on the paper waste in BurdaStyle print-it-yourself patterns. I've printed out a few and have felt ashamed of myself for the waste! Maybe we can put some loving but firm pressure on them to come up with a new plan. Anyway, I adore your skirt!
6/28/10 8:15 PM
ryansmumAria said...
adorable! and I love love love the shoes.
6/28/10 8:34 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Love it. Beautiful!
6/28/10 10:09 PM
Elke said...
Great looking skirt!
6/28/10 10:10 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Excellent point about the paper waste and the non-symmetry! All of these problems are faults with everything in the Twinkle Sews book (along with having a separate pdf for each size, so you have to print and tape it all in order to discover it may not fit!!). Another sewer had the great idea to use the AI files in the book and alter them in Illustrator to get everything on the fold to save paper... Good thing the end result of the skirt is so nice to be worth the hassle though!
6/29/10 6:08 AM
squirrellypoo said...
And just because I'm seeing comments about this - this is a Twinkle Sews pattern, NOT one made by BurdaStyle! So the asymmetrical and not-on-the-fold problems are Twinkle Sews problems, not indicative of the other, BurdaStyle-produced patterns!
6/29/10 6:09 AM
lamstu said...
Cute skirt and helpful review. Too bad about the drafting and the wastage. Maybe we can get them to give us scale drawings of these simple patterns that we can recopy onto gridded paper. But to end on a positive note, I love it when a project looks as good as RTW (or better!)
6/29/10 8:19 AM
becca a said...
Fantastic skirt and review! I haven't yet downloaded this pattern because I didn't understand why it took 51 pages. Your skirt is so chic that I may have to print out that pattern anyway.
6/29/10 8:27 AM
Paris75008 said...
I just LOVE that skirt on you. Beautifully sewn and great review. I downloaded the pattern, I just have to have a skirt like that for my summer vacation. I'm going to print it on the reverse side of used paper I keep in a box for recycling. I would never print this out on clean, unused paper. Unbelievably wasteful! Thanks for pointing this out, your review is really helpful
6/29/10 10:37 AM
Mirakel said...
Wonderful job, it is so cute and looks better than the BR version. Thanks for the info on the pattern issues. I've tried downloading BurdaStyle patterns and have had the same complaints - I can't justify the paper waste when I can buy a similar pattern for $1.99 on sale! It looks great on you and I love the yellow shoes (although a nice yellow cardigan is a must, too!).
6/29/10 12:48 PM
valgal said...
What a cute skirt but you're right that's a lot of paper.
7/6/10 0:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5211
photo
Review by pt6356 on 3/31/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by homejewel on 11/14/10
Read Review

Burda 6916 Pattern
Burda 6916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6503 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6503 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us