Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7880 (Historic dress (1888)) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 448 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:FreckleHead
photo
About FreckleHeadstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/4/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 8:04 PM
Last Updated:6/28/10 8:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $11.21 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.21  List Price: $14.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonny Dune said...
Lovely, really beautiful.
6/28/10 8:42 PM
Aroura said...
What a gorgeouss dress! And you look truly beautiful and classic in it. The festival looks like it was a lot of fun, and I bet your your costume was a hit. Great job! Thanks for the wonderful review, too. Good notes on the bustle.
6/28/10 9:46 PM
Quietlife said...
Charming.....you really look the part
6/28/10 11:08 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
6/29/10 5:44 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous dress! You look amazing in this, and the styling is just perfect, too.
6/29/10 6:03 AM
tess said...
Beautiful dress, well done it looks amazing!
6/29/10 6:13 AM
cindyann said...
Oh that is wonderful. You look lovely.
6/29/10 8:35 AM
ATP said...
I have this pattern in my UFO pile & finally got it out again recently. This is my very first BIG project, so trying to do things correctly!!! I'm using a shot burgandy/ black taffeta with same coloured brocade for the front of the jacket. I am currently in the process of adding lining to the jacket (The pattern doesn't mention anything about adding lining, but I felt I wanted this to be a special garment that lasts.) I am also thinking of omitting any lace and just adding some simple braid on the jacket ( if any at all). My sister helped me resize the pattern to fit as I'm a larger lass and measured 3 different sizes! Sewing the jacket peplum was a bit tricky, and I'm also finding that the sleeves are a problem. They are too large, but pattern allows for some stitching to help ease in the tops of the sleeves, but the markings on the pattern indicating where to stich between seem too far down the sleeve, leaving about 1.5" / 4cm from the raw edge, (seam allowance is 5/8" / 1.5cm) and therefore the 2 rows of stitching would be visible on the sleeve. Should I just ignore the pattern markings and sew my machine basting closer to the raw edge??
3/31/11 10:15 AM
FreckleHead said...
At ATP: Do whatever you have to to make it fit. When that happens I just pull out the stitching that shows..... Kind of sloppy maybe, but it works for me. Good luck with your project!
4/18/11 5:17 AM
ClioGilly said...
I'm about to make this dress so thanks for the review. Funny you should say that about the bustle because I was thinking it used an unnecessarily complex layout and too much fabric. hmm now I have to decide what to do about.
4/17/13 0:34 AM
jjosiejo said...
I have just made the bustle pad (overskirt is next on my list) and I just used an old voile curtain so it is lightweight and I don't mind how much fabric it needs - it's never going to be seen so why not make it out of any old stuff from your stash?!
10/19/13 5:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us