Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8558 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 744 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 0:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very lovely summer dress! Your experiment worked out great!
6/29/10 0:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
sweet~
6/29/10 0:26 AM
marec said...
Very cute! Threads had an article a few months ago about doing this. It might be worthwhile to look it up as you were so successful with this idea.
6/29/10 1:32 AM
Aroura said...
This is a muslin attempt? Wow, I wouldn't have guessed, it looks great! Love the colors and mixed prints on the fabric, too.
6/29/10 1:34 AM
brissie71 said...
Gorgeous dress - and I LOVE the fabric. It's a beautiful colour and print.
6/29/10 1:48 AM
Tini said...
Lovely summer dress! Well done. I wish I had the energy to make myself a dress too (it's so warm here)! And I think the fabric is really nice ;)
6/29/10 2:17 AM
MNBarb said...
Cool, comfy and looks great, you can't beat that.
6/29/10 6:47 AM
Deepika said...
Do you guys think I need an FBA? I've been looking at some other similar patterns and they all seem to have that horizontal wrinkles. Maybe it's part of the design?
6/29/10 8:38 AM
Paris75008 said...
That's amazing! You did a great job of morphing the two patterns. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing the "morphing" process.
6/29/10 10:07 AM
RLL said...
Lovely dress. The fabric is very nice too. You could always retrace and try a small FBA, but you are right about all of this style seeming to have the vertical 'pull'. Too much of an FBA might affect how the cowl drapes. It's always worth a try tho.
6/29/10 10:24 AM
PittyPat said...
Yes, the draped bias front dresses/blouses all seem to have a bit of 'pull' on them. I think it has a lot to do with the way the fabric drapes and pulls the bias down over the bustline - even on the smallest bustline. A small FBA might help slightly. It is a great pattern. Love how you morphed it into a dress.
6/29/10 10:42 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! I 'think' I have this pattern, but can't find patterns on Burdamode to verify. I love this style as well and plan to trace off the same version of this from the latest Ottobre Woman magazine.
6/29/10 11:02 AM
Alexruthe said...
Great job! Very cool dress!
6/29/10 11:19 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and combining the two patterns really turned out great!
6/29/10 1:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, Deepika!
6/29/10 6:25 PM
PVA said...
Great idea to blend the two patterns for a dress & a beautiful outcome! (Muslin? You gotta be kidding!)
6/29/10 7:10 PM
Erin D said...
Wow, what a great experiment! Don't you love when your great idea actually works?
6/30/10 0:45 AM
becca a said...
Very cute dress! How great to morph 2 favorite patterns to create a new TNT pattern.
6/30/10 1:07 PM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress on you Deepika! I love the fabric choice too! I've done that before with patterns and it's a great way to have a few different outfits from one great pattern. Great work!
6/30/10 8:43 PM
drsue said...
So pretty on you! I'd hem it up a bit more, otherwise, perfect.
7/4/10 0:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6620
photo
Review by Kaitlinneg... on 1/15/07
Read Review

New Look 6352 Pattern
New Look 6352 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 6006 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Adele - Violette Field Th
photo
Review by thornberry on 1/5/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us