SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8558 (Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 753 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very lovely summer dress! Your experiment worked out great!
6/29/10 0:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
sweet~
6/29/10 0:26 AM
marec said...
Very cute! Threads had an article a few months ago about doing this. It might be worthwhile to look it up as you were so successful with this idea.
6/29/10 1:32 AM
Aroura said...
This is a muslin attempt? Wow, I wouldn't have guessed, it looks great! Love the colors and mixed prints on the fabric, too.
6/29/10 1:34 AM
brissie71 said...
Gorgeous dress - and I LOVE the fabric. It's a beautiful colour and print.
6/29/10 1:48 AM
Tini said...
Lovely summer dress! Well done. I wish I had the energy to make myself a dress too (it's so warm here)! And I think the fabric is really nice ;)
6/29/10 2:17 AM
MNBarb said...
Cool, comfy and looks great, you can't beat that.
6/29/10 6:47 AM
Deepika said...
Do you guys think I need an FBA? I've been looking at some other similar patterns and they all seem to have that horizontal wrinkles. Maybe it's part of the design?
6/29/10 8:38 AM
Paris75008 said...
That's amazing! You did a great job of morphing the two patterns. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing the "morphing" process.
6/29/10 10:07 AM
RLL said...
Lovely dress. The fabric is very nice too. You could always retrace and try a small FBA, but you are right about all of this style seeming to have the vertical 'pull'. Too much of an FBA might affect how the cowl drapes. It's always worth a try tho.
6/29/10 10:24 AM
PittyPat said...
Yes, the draped bias front dresses/blouses all seem to have a bit of 'pull' on them. I think it has a lot to do with the way the fabric drapes and pulls the bias down over the bustline - even on the smallest bustline. A small FBA might help slightly. It is a great pattern. Love how you morphed it into a dress.
6/29/10 10:42 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! I 'think' I have this pattern, but can't find patterns on Burdamode to verify. I love this style as well and plan to trace off the same version of this from the latest Ottobre Woman magazine.
6/29/10 11:02 AM
Alexruthe said...
Great job! Very cool dress!
6/29/10 11:19 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and combining the two patterns really turned out great!
6/29/10 1:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, Deepika!
6/29/10 6:25 PM
PVA said...
Great idea to blend the two patterns for a dress & a beautiful outcome! (Muslin? You gotta be kidding!)
6/29/10 7:10 PM
Erin D said...
Wow, what a great experiment! Don't you love when your great idea actually works?
6/30/10 0:45 AM
becca a said...
Very cute dress! How great to morph 2 favorite patterns to create a new TNT pattern.
6/30/10 1:07 PM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress on you Deepika! I love the fabric choice too! I've done that before with patterns and it's a great way to have a few different outfits from one great pattern. Great work!
6/30/10 8:43 PM
drsue said...
So pretty on you! I'd hem it up a bit more, otherwise, perfect.
7/4/10 0:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 2948

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now