SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8558 (Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 754 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
So pretty on you! I'd hem it up a bit more, otherwise, perfect.
7/4/10 0:13 AM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dress on you Deepika! I love the fabric choice too! I've done that before with patterns and it's a great way to have a few different outfits from one great pattern. Great work!
6/30/10 8:43 PM
becca a said...
Very cute dress! How great to morph 2 favorite patterns to create a new TNT pattern.
6/30/10 1:07 PM
Erin D said...
Wow, what a great experiment! Don't you love when your great idea actually works?
6/30/10 0:45 AM
PVA said...
Great idea to blend the two patterns for a dress & a beautiful outcome! (Muslin? You gotta be kidding!)
6/29/10 7:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, Deepika!
6/29/10 6:25 PM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and combining the two patterns really turned out great!
6/29/10 1:32 PM
Alexruthe said...
Great job! Very cool dress!
6/29/10 11:19 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! I 'think' I have this pattern, but can't find patterns on Burdamode to verify. I love this style as well and plan to trace off the same version of this from the latest Ottobre Woman magazine.
6/29/10 11:02 AM
PittyPat said...
Yes, the draped bias front dresses/blouses all seem to have a bit of 'pull' on them. I think it has a lot to do with the way the fabric drapes and pulls the bias down over the bustline - even on the smallest bustline. A small FBA might help slightly. It is a great pattern. Love how you morphed it into a dress.
6/29/10 10:42 AM
RLL said...
Lovely dress. The fabric is very nice too. You could always retrace and try a small FBA, but you are right about all of this style seeming to have the vertical 'pull'. Too much of an FBA might affect how the cowl drapes. It's always worth a try tho.
6/29/10 10:24 AM
Paris75008 said...
That's amazing! You did a great job of morphing the two patterns. What a great idea. Thanks for sharing the "morphing" process.
6/29/10 10:07 AM
Deepika said...
Do you guys think I need an FBA? I've been looking at some other similar patterns and they all seem to have that horizontal wrinkles. Maybe it's part of the design?
6/29/10 8:38 AM
MNBarb said...
Cool, comfy and looks great, you can't beat that.
6/29/10 6:47 AM
Tini said...
Lovely summer dress! Well done. I wish I had the energy to make myself a dress too (it's so warm here)! And I think the fabric is really nice ;)
6/29/10 2:17 AM
brissie71 said...
Gorgeous dress - and I LOVE the fabric. It's a beautiful colour and print.
6/29/10 1:48 AM
Aroura said...
This is a muslin attempt? Wow, I wouldn't have guessed, it looks great! Love the colors and mixed prints on the fabric, too.
6/29/10 1:34 AM
marec said...
Very cute! Threads had an article a few months ago about doing this. It might be worthwhile to look it up as you were so successful with this idea.
6/29/10 1:32 AM
ryansmumAria said...
sweet~
6/29/10 0:26 AM
michellep74 said...
Very lovely summer dress! Your experiment worked out great!
6/29/10 0:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other Sinbad & Sailor

photo
by: hazelbobv

Review
New Look 6130

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now