SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Knit top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 770 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/30/10 11:07 AM
Last Updated:6/30/10 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
It looks good! Thanks for the very informative review.
6/30/10 11:44 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for your review! Barb, its interesting the differences you had from me! I just made this top and found I had no problem keeping the facings inside - as a matter of fact I have rtw knit tops with this type of folded under raw edge. I also found it quite long with no length adjustments and also very similar to the pattern illustration at the hip! I loved it with absolutley no changes, which is pretty rare for me.
6/30/10 11:55 AM
ryansmumAria said...
fabulous! you look great in this
6/30/10 3:00 PM
Taarna said...
Very pretty!
6/30/10 3:48 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top looks great!
6/30/10 4:18 PM
Nan Kay said...
I agree completely with your evaluation of this pattern. Your top looks great. To bad the designer didn't think of the changes you had to make! I know some rtw leaves unfinished v's, but that doesn't mean they wear well unfinished. I'm going to give this pattern another shot because I do love the look! You did a great job of re-designing!
6/30/10 7:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute top. I have this one ready to trace. Thanks for all the helpful tips.
6/30/10 9:48 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Ugh... thanks for the review and I think you are spot on with the evaluation. Why Butterick insists upon using 1960's techniques is beyond understanding
7/1/10 9:14 AM
LynnRowe said...
I totally agree with you re construction technique on this, but it does look fantastic on you! :)
7/1/10 6:54 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Looks fantastic, the print looks great. I think you could go even lairier (sp?) next time! Helen
7/3/10 4:23 AM
bemodi said...
Since posting this I made another top and a dress from this pattern and added fabric to the front - IMO this really is a great improvement, the results of those experiments are here http://sewingontheedge.blogspot.com/2010/07/butterick-5488-revisited.html
7/15/10 10:21 PM
persevering said...
What a nice garment! Thank you very much for this review and others, I plan to read. Your writing is particularly clear and informative. It is very kind of you to share your knowledge and experience. I read some of your blog postings too and believe I have found another kindred spirit whose information sharing will help me to be more productive.
7/16/10 11:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Silhouette Patterns 675

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1799

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review