Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5495 (Knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 762 times 59 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/30/10 11:07 AM
Last Updated:6/30/10 11:09 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Time4me said...
It looks good! Thanks for the very informative review.
6/30/10 11:44 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for your review! Barb, its interesting the differences you had from me! I just made this top and found I had no problem keeping the facings inside - as a matter of fact I have rtw knit tops with this type of folded under raw edge. I also found it quite long with no length adjustments and also very similar to the pattern illustration at the hip! I loved it with absolutley no changes, which is pretty rare for me.
6/30/10 11:55 AM
ryansmumAria said...
fabulous! you look great in this
6/30/10 3:00 PM
Taarna said...
Very pretty!
6/30/10 3:48 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top looks great!
6/30/10 4:18 PM
Nan Kay said...
I agree completely with your evaluation of this pattern. Your top looks great. To bad the designer didn't think of the changes you had to make! I know some rtw leaves unfinished v's, but that doesn't mean they wear well unfinished. I'm going to give this pattern another shot because I do love the look! You did a great job of re-designing!
6/30/10 7:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Very cute top. I have this one ready to trace. Thanks for all the helpful tips.
6/30/10 9:48 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
Ugh... thanks for the review and I think you are spot on with the evaluation. Why Butterick insists upon using 1960's techniques is beyond understanding
7/1/10 9:14 AM
LynnRowe said...
I totally agree with you re construction technique on this, but it does look fantastic on you! :)
7/1/10 6:54 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Looks fantastic, the print looks great. I think you could go even lairier (sp?) next time! Helen
7/3/10 4:23 AM
bemodi said...
Since posting this I made another top and a dress from this pattern and added fabric to the front - IMO this really is a great improvement, the results of those experiments are here http://sewingontheedge.blogspot.com/2010/07/butterick-5488-revisited.html
7/15/10 10:21 PM
persevering said...
What a nice garment! Thank you very much for this review and others, I plan to read. Your writing is particularly clear and informative. It is very kind of you to share your knowledge and experience. I read some of your blog postings too and believe I have found another kindred spirit whose information sharing will help me to be more productive.
7/16/10 11:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5752
photo
Review by Eme on 2/5/09
Read Review

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8792 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8876 Misses Dress
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/7/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Versity Cowl Neck Pullover Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us