SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Knit top)

61 more reviews
Viewed 782 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews: 41 (patterns: 41)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/30/10 11:07 AM
Last Updated:6/30/10 11:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said... (7/16/10 11:00 AM) Reply
What a nice garment! Thank you very much for this review and others, I plan to read. Your writing is particularly clear and informative. It is very kind of you to share your knowledge and experience. I read some of your blog postings too and believe I have found another kindred spirit whose information sharing will help me to be more productive.
bemodi said... (7/15/10 10:21 PM) Reply
Since posting this I made another top and a dress from this pattern and added fabric to the front - IMO this really is a great improvement, the results of those experiments are here http://sewingontheedge.blogspot.com/2010/07/butterick-5488-revisited.html
Helen near Sydney said... (7/3/10 4:23 AM) Reply
Looks fantastic, the print looks great. I think you could go even lairier (sp?) next time! Helen
LynnRowe said... (7/1/10 6:54 PM) Reply
I totally agree with you re construction technique on this, but it does look fantastic on you! :)
chrisquilts_2 said... (7/1/10 9:14 AM) Reply
Ugh... thanks for the review and I think you are spot on with the evaluation. Why Butterick insists upon using 1960's techniques is beyond understanding
sewbehind said... (6/30/10 9:48 PM) Reply
Very cute top. I have this one ready to trace. Thanks for all the helpful tips.
Nan Kay said... (6/30/10 7:37 PM) Reply
I agree completely with your evaluation of this pattern. Your top looks great. To bad the designer didn't think of the changes you had to make! I know some rtw leaves unfinished v's, but that doesn't mean they wear well unfinished. I'm going to give this pattern another shot because I do love the look! You did a great job of re-designing!
mhk3boys said... (6/30/10 4:18 PM) Reply
Your top looks great!
Taarna said... (6/30/10 3:48 PM) Reply
Very pretty!
ryansmumAria said... (6/30/10 3:00 PM) Reply
fabulous! you look great in this
Sue Anfang said... (6/30/10 11:55 AM) Reply
Thanks for your review! Barb, its interesting the differences you had from me! I just made this top and found I had no problem keeping the facings inside - as a matter of fact I have rtw knit tops with this type of folded under raw edge. I also found it quite long with no length adjustments and also very similar to the pattern illustration at the hip! I loved it with absolutley no changes, which is pretty rare for me.
Time4me said... (6/30/10 11:44 AM) Reply
It looks good! Thanks for the very informative review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2005-101B

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details