SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 117833-1004 (sculpting with flat knits)

Viewed 1438 times 
Reviewed by:trishapatk
photo

 
 
About trishapatkstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/10 12:06 PM
Last Updated:7/1/10 8:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 42 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
vwgrant said...
Lovely work, Trishapatk! Keep the commentary coming on the process!
6/30/10 12:59 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I do relate to projects at some point taking a life of their own and somehow magically tells you what direction in needs to go in and then you are surprised at how your vision converges with it's own... I have also tried to explain it to others and finally decided it was "magic". I know I couldn't have come up with it on my own... I really loved reading your desciption~ you have an artist's heart and soul and your work is magical. I am in awe of your talent and you inspire me to be more. Thank you for sharing!
6/30/10 1:02 PM
Aroura said...
What a great review! I wasn't bored reading the whole thing at all, it was fascinating. Beautiful work, I love the leaves. I'm amazed you did this with an old, RTW, remodeled sweater!
6/30/10 1:14 PM
Karendee said...
What a wonderful review and final artistic sweater. I loved your review; every little detail was interesting. I'm now off to the closet to see what the moths have done to some older clothes. I hope to have some modicum of success.
6/30/10 4:35 PM
lamstu said...
Not boring to me at all, but well-written and understandable. Thanks for sharing your process and your sweater is lovely. I'm also wondering what I should do with some too big sweaters sitting in the "inspiration bin?"
6/30/10 7:00 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Lovely!
6/30/10 8:34 PM
cboots said...
Thanks for a wonderful review; the sweater is lovely!
6/30/10 9:25 PM
slvrsage said...
Love this sweater! I really enjoyed reading about your process, it resonated with me. I am a little unclear about how you did the thread border on the neckline, but love the effect.
6/30/10 9:39 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made, so delicate and pretty!
6/30/10 10:17 PM
JillyBe said...
LOVE those leaves! Thanks so much for sharing your process, and what a perfect use for a recycled sweater.
7/1/10 2:21 AM
Jolet said...
I like the result. Beautiful autumn sweater. What an effort did you put into this project!
7/1/10 6:50 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, love the final result and so enjoyed reading about how you got there. I too shudder sometimes at wearable art as an idea but your sweater is fabulous...and artistic. Bravo!
7/1/10 6:58 AM
cindyann said...
Fantastic review and lovely art. I very much enjoyed reading about your creation.
7/1/10 8:31 AM
Diane333 said...
I love your creation and your informative review.
7/1/10 8:39 AM
Woolygal said...
This is truly art. Kudos.
7/1/10 8:50 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's marvelous and inspiring. Sometimes our most interesting work comes from using only the material we have on hand. I love the color contrast of the thread.
7/1/10 8:55 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Beautiful! I enjoyed reading about your process.
7/1/10 9:03 AM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous result and fascinating process. Thanks for sharing it and all the photos.
7/1/10 9:49 AM
Ciclista said...
Awesome review - loved learning about your design evolution!! And what a gorgeous sweater!
7/1/10 10:16 AM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! What a great transformation! Nice job.
7/1/10 10:22 AM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful and inspiring to follow your creative process. Delightful end result.
7/1/10 11:36 AM
AuntieShel said...
Another truly wearable piece of wearable art!!! This is exquisite and thank you so much for sharing your creative process with us. I used to get upset when something I was making did not turn out like I envisioned it, but am learning that the idea is just a jumping off point and you have to let it go where it wants from there. Thank you so much for this fabulous review. The voting is going to be unbelievably hard for this contest.
7/1/10 12:26 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely beautiful!
7/1/10 12:38 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made!!!
7/1/10 1:32 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Very pretty! Awesome review!
7/1/10 2:15 PM
TJSEWS said...
Oh, your sweater is just absolutely beautiful! I love it. Normally, when I hear the term "wearable art," I think of a boxy shapeless garment that has been embellished to death. But that is not what you did! You know how to do wearable art with taste, knowing when to stop and how to make the garment flattering to the figure at the same time. Now that, in my opinion, is TRUE wearable art!
7/1/10 4:25 PM
So So said...
Wonderful and extremely inspirational. I echo everything TJSews has said. You have made wearable art wearable. Now where are my jumpers?
7/1/10 6:44 PM
Athene said...
Your sweater is lovely. I very much enjoyed reading the review and looking at all the photos. I always enjoy your reviews. The pink sweater on your photostream was also very pretty.
7/2/10 8:13 PM
AnneM said...
See, wearable art isn't a bad thing! Yes, some can be over the top and even tacky, but some can be fantastic. Your sweater is a wonderful example of the latter.
7/2/10 8:26 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous -- truly a work of art. :)
7/3/10 2:24 PM
PetitePear said...
Thank you so much for the detailed description/tutorial. I love hearing how those decisions came about. I am in love with your sweater!
7/3/10 9:27 PM
drsue said...
All I can say is "wow." Very impressive.
7/4/10 0:01 AM
marec said...
I felt like I was on a journey as I read through your review. I love the sweater...I wish I could find the words to explain my emotional response to your work. Just lovely!
7/6/10 1:32 AM
susiestitcher said...
Your work is exceptional, beautiful, and inspiring. I really feel the movement of the leaves floating down and alighting on your shoulders. I agree with other posters that wearable art can sometimes be a bit like color blocking gone psycho -- but your interpretation is what art truly should be -- process, emotion, feeling, discovery, and magic. I loved reading every word and taking the journey with you. Thank you for such inspiration.
7/7/10 7:59 AM
donna mel said...
So beautiful! Thanks for the detailed information. Makes me want to ditch my evening plans and get upstairs to my sewing room!
7/7/10 7:39 PM
Sandi S said...
It's gorgeous - very interesting review.
7/8/10 6:40 PM
Sew Cool said...
I want more. I viewed the hot pink sweater on flicker. What are you doing with that? You have the most elegant taste. I would love to wear your art!!!
7/8/10 10:15 PM
Gelbean said...
Absolutely beautiful!!
7/9/10 10:19 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Gorgeous, and truly inspiring!
7/9/10 2:26 PM
pfaffkj said...
Wonderful review. Wonderful project. I love your sweater.
7/10/10 3:02 PM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, that is the prettiest little sweater! You are really creative and imaginative. I would never have thought that an old cashmere could turn into something like you produced. Thanks for the informative review. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your creative process.
7/10/10 5:38 PM
Jali said...
This is lovely not just because the leaves are beautifully made and blend in seamlessly into the design but also because the sweater is extremely wearable. Just lovely!
7/11/10 2:19 AM
Moxie Carol said...
I have to find a way to share your wonderful review and description of the process with my DMIL who's also an artist. I know it will inspire her in ways I can't imagine and she'll take it in her own direction. Your project really embodies "wearable art". It is going to be tough to choose which piece to vote for!
7/11/10 4:33 PM
Elona said...
Wow, this is SO cool! Thanks for all the details of your thought processes as you approached this project.
7/13/10 3:07 PM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! It is so beautiful. Lovely work.
7/13/10 3:51 PM
sewknitful said...
Beautiful work. I love this cardi!
7/15/10 10:35 AM
ChristineX said...
Great review!
7/15/10 11:26 AM
juchal said...
Wow!! This is beautiful!
7/15/10 4:06 PM
aireal said...
One more here - short, because it's all been said so eloquently, just as your sweater is an eloquent statement of your wonderful artistic vision. More! More!
7/15/10 4:17 PM
Longarm said...
It was such a pleasure to read your review! You are creative in both realms- design and writing; and very talented as well in your fine sewing skills.
7/15/10 11:26 PM
damazingmama said...
truly a work of art. I just love it! Thanks for sharing how it was done so specifically. It makes me want to try it out myself, and helps me know exactly how I can duplicate and get perfect results. Great job!
7/16/10 11:10 AM
Celeste said...
Hmmm... I'm sure thrift stores are full of sweaters waiting to be cut up and "practiced on"...
7/16/10 10:32 PM
solosmocker said...
I love that your sweater is truly wearable. So many art pieces are great expressions, but not wearable. Wonderful review and very pretty sweater.
7/17/10 8:31 AM
WildWyoming said...
So inspiring, and your level of detail as weell as commentary about the creative process is perfect. Thank you.
8/9/10 10:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-119

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Butterick 5559

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now