Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2010-420 (Waistcoat/vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 687 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/10 2:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Oh my, this turned out fantastic! I love the "quilted" effect. I can't believe each little piece was originally a scrap, it looks like it's own whole fabric. Great job! It is really very pretty!
6/30/10 2:23 PM
RLL said...
Wow, I am so WOW'd! What a lot of love and time went into this. Beautiful. I always watch for your reviews and have been wondering where you were. I guess you were busy sewing a lot of little peices together...Hehe.
6/30/10 2:37 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I like the small piecing and the subdued color pallette you have chosen. It is very nice looking and very wearable. It definitely is a work of art and deserves a signature.
6/30/10 3:19 PM
KathySews said...
very beautiful and lots of work. wear it proudly
6/30/10 3:40 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/30/10 3:55 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful vest and love your colors.
6/30/10 4:41 PM
PittyPat said...
Great job on the making the fabric from small pieces. Glad you got it done in time.
6/30/10 4:57 PM
wsm2408 said...
That is fantastic!! It suits you so well and combined with that shirt is really flattering and feminine. I admire your patience in puting it all together! What an inspiration.
6/30/10 5:35 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful and flattering!
6/30/10 7:36 PM
slvrsage said...
Great vest! I love the colors, and the pattern. I also thank you for the detailed review of your process. It will help in my next scrap project!
6/30/10 9:29 PM
JillyBe said...
Fun and extraordinary! As a button freak, I really love the varied buttons - so perfect for the vest. Great job :)
7/1/10 2:16 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very cool and so elegant. Great fit, too.
7/1/10 6:29 AM
Jane S said...
You made so many great design decisions to make this beautiful vest. The scale of the pieces i perfect for a garment, the subtle color choices and the fitted vest design. Bravo, it looks wonderful on you.
7/1/10 6:47 AM
Rybe said...
I love it! It turned out perfectly! That vest really was the perfect choice for the piecing you did, and the piecing looks amazing! I wish I had your patience, haha!
7/1/10 3:57 PM
Athene said...
Wonderful results - and so cool to use different buttons. You have a beautiful vest - I can certainly appreciate all the work that went into creating this project.
7/2/10 3:49 PM
AnneM said...
I absolutely adore this. It is really nice. What a great way of using the little pieces. Your instructions are great on the process you used to put it together.
7/2/10 8:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Irene, this is geometric couture! Eyecatchingly delightful!
7/3/10 2:52 PM
marec said...
This is just so beautiful. The colors are so complementary, and the buttons are perfect. The amount of work that goes into piecing this vest really paid off in a gorgeous piece of wearable art!
7/6/10 1:40 AM
ClaireEmily said...
That is the most amazing vest! It absolutely looks like clothing, but with something extra. The amount of time that must have taken...........well, it was worth it!
7/8/10 5:39 PM
pfaffkj said...
I love your piecing technique -- you created a wonderful piece of fabric for your vest. The buttons are perfect. Beautiful result. Congratulations.
7/10/10 12:41 PM
Scousegal said...
So beautiful and creative. Fancy compiling the pieces as you did. Quilted effect makes it so unique Looks great. Thank you for sharing!!
8/15/10 4:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by Knitz on 5/15/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4643
photo
Review by jessika on 3/5/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us