SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Nikko Jacket (Nikko Jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 928 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/10 11:19 PM
Last Updated:7/1/10 10:15 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Quilts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
wow Ilove that jacket.. if you need something else to do you could make me one.. lol
12/28/11 10:05 AM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The artist in you really shines through on this one. Thanks for the great review and tutorials. I am getting ready to cut my muslin for this jacket and I refer to your review. Thanks.
2/24/11 10:12 PM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The artist in you really shines through on this one. Thanks for the great review and tutorials. I am getting ready to cut my muslin for this jacket and I refer to your review. Thanks.
2/24/11 10:12 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
This is beautiful, truly wearable art. What a wonderful project. I made this jacket in black wool crepe years ago and I have almost worn it out. My is a lot more free flowing but you have really fit the pattern to your frame.
8/19/10 11:45 PM
Aroura said...
Now that it is all over, I just have to say, I really think you deserved to win! I absolutely LOVE your jacket. I know how much work and love you put into it, sewing it from scratch, and all the gorgeous and creative details. You did the most fantastic job!!
8/2/10 2:21 AM
cleverclogs said...
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL JACKET! Thanks too for the very informative review.
7/11/10 9:32 AM
pfaffkj said...
Your jacket is stunning, JillyBe. I'm in awe. Truly a piece of art -- and wearable to boot! Wear it with pride.
7/10/10 12:35 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What a beautiful labor of love. Congratulations on a very wearable piece of art.
7/9/10 7:14 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous embellishment to a stunning jacket! I enjoyed seeing the pictures that chronicled your work.
7/8/10 8:18 PM
Ashford said...
I also love the loose fitting, unusual, creative lines. And, like you, I know they will not work for my body shape. Maybe I will try one more time. You definitely made this pattern work for you. All the effort and time you put into the design shows. Wearing it will make you and everyone who sees it feel good.
7/8/10 5:49 PM
debloves2sew said...
Beautiful Jacket. Just the right touches everywhere. I love the lining and its ues as piping on the outside is inspired. Great Job!
7/7/10 0:26 AM
yummymummy38 said...
fabulous Asian inspired jacket! Made me think of the Montreal Chinese gardens...
7/6/10 9:04 AM
marec said...
What a pleasure to read through your creative journey and to see all the detailed photographs. Your jacket is just lovely, and a work of art.
7/6/10 1:24 AM
Skyhowie said...
Your jacket is fantastic--and it looks great on you!! Congratulations on a job well done.
7/4/10 10:47 PM
NancyZL said...
WOW! A lovely jacket , unique and beautiful ! Thanks for your review .
7/3/10 5:28 PM
AnneM said...
What a fantastic write-up & pictorial of the process you used to create your beautiful jacket.
7/2/10 4:57 PM
Athene said...
Wow very labour intensive - a very beautiful jacket.
7/2/10 3:38 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments! I'm just basking in the compliments, I must admit! AuntiShel I did a quick sketch of the tree, and then vaguely followed that in cutting it out. Dixie you're a doll, thanks! I meant that the long, boxy look of the original pattern was just wrong wrong wrong on me - even after I shortened it I was so disappointed in how the muslin looked on me, until I shortened the sleeves as well - it was the magic touch. Grey Ann I'm still figuring out my sizes in the various pattern companies - my back is broad, so I'm finding I need to adjust for that; but it seems to be 14, give or take here & there. RTW I'm usually a 6 I'm also long-waisted & short-legged.
7/1/10 9:43 PM
grey ann said...
I think it looks fabulous on you - the length is perfect and I like the 3/4 sleeves. Your embellishment and use of the fabrics is great. Congrats on ending up with a lovely garment and conquering all those naughty fabrics! You made a small, and still shortened/took in. May I ask what size jacket you'd usually buy/wear?
7/1/10 9:13 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW! fa bu lous!
7/1/10 9:03 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Soooo glad you stretched yourself on this gorgeous jacket! Your artistic eye, meticulous sewing skills, and excellent reviews/tutorial have both instructed and inspired me. There's just one thing I don't agree with: *silhouettes like this are so wrong for my body type!* I think the jacket looks terrific on you! It's very flattering, and I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of it. Excellent job!
7/1/10 8:59 PM
Birgitte said...
Absolutely gorgeous and it looks amazing on you. Congratulations on completing a time/mind-consuming project with such excellent results.
7/1/10 5:37 PM
colormefun said...
I think this is stunning. Even though it's loose-fitting, the pattern changes you made really make it sleek. Especially the waist highlighting pleat you added. I'm really impressed.
7/1/10 4:48 PM
Rybe said...
Your jacket is so great! The tree on the back makes me smile, hehe! I love it from the thread to that awesome lining! I'm glad it turned out so wonderfully!
7/1/10 3:49 PM
sfshaza said...
JillyBe, this is a pattern I've been mulling over for some time. You really made it work for you and your artistic process is so interesting. Beautiful!
7/1/10 1:35 PM
sew2little said...
Fabulously beautiful! Seeing your buttonholer makes me long for my old Singer buttonholer!
7/1/10 12:14 PM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you, thank you for this wonderful review/tutorial/creative process. This, to me, is truly wearable art. Absolutely love the seam around the body that you used to shorten the jacket and then kept. The tree is fabulous--is it freeform? Exquisite jacket and wonderful review, thank you!
7/1/10 12:07 PM
Terri K said...
Congratulations on this fabulous jacket! You fashioned a classy work of art that looks great on as well. Thank you for sharing the process and all the construction details.
7/1/10 11:24 AM
PittyPat said...
Love the jacket and the tree was well worth all the work on it! Great job.
7/1/10 9:33 AM
Karine said...
Creative design, professionally done - really, really nice result. Congratulations!
7/1/10 9:24 AM
ryansmumAria said...
jillybe, WOW! This is brilliant. It is so beautiful and you are an artist. It looks great on you. Congratulations, it is a show-stopper.
7/1/10 9:16 AM
sewin said...
You did an amazing job. I love everything about the jacket. Beautiful.
7/1/10 8:59 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this fabulous review, not only of this pattern, but your process. I thoroughly enjoyed this and your result is truly stunning - an wearable! Thanks for sharing with PR. What a treat!
7/1/10 8:32 AM
Diane333 said...
Outstanding job. Very creative and distinctive.
7/1/10 8:17 AM
thirteenstitches said...
WOW!!! I LOVE this! You did a beautiful job. Great fabric choice. AND when you get tired of it you can send it to me ; )
7/1/10 7:32 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this beautiful jacket truly is a work of art.
7/1/10 6:18 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Me too, me too. Love it, and you look so pleased with yourself, as indeed you should.
7/1/10 1:46 AM
Aroura said...
Wow JillyBe, that looks so fantastic. The back is so beautiful, the tree is perfect. IT was certainly worth all your hard work. What a lovely piece of art, that is so very very wearable! Wonderful review, I really enjoyed reading it. The whole thing is really fantastic!
6/30/10 11:52 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great jacket and so original. Your review and all the pictures were wonderful. Very unique and cool at the same time. Looks great on you.
6/30/10 11:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Burda 8438

photo
by: Pinkytoo

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now