SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-108 (Twist Bubble Hem Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 419 times 
Reviewed by:Mushywear
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mushywearstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/10 3:33 AM
Last Updated:7/1/10 3:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
senaSews said...
Nice and stylish skirt. It's on my list, too!
7/1/10 5:20 AM
dingyadi said...
I just love it! The fabric is perfect and it is super stylish.
7/1/10 7:53 AM
sandramary said...
I love your version of this skirt. I am yet to get this issue but now I can't wait! Thanks for the review.
7/1/10 8:17 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Thanks for the info about shortening the lining. The skirt looks great.
7/1/10 8:36 AM
lakaribane said...
Looks great! But do you think it HAS TO be made in a knit? Is it tight ie needs the stretch of a knit? I'm very tempted, I must say...
7/1/10 10:42 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the review. It's a very cute skirt. I was not sure whether the instructions called for a knit lining or not. I love the look, great job!
7/1/10 10:48 AM
quixoticpixels said...
very stylish!
7/1/10 11:44 AM
Mushywear said...
Thanks all. Lakaribane - the skirt is pretty close fitting, so if you don't make it in a knit, you may want to go up one size. The pattern is not clear on whether to use a knit lining, maybe a woven would work, maybe that is why there are darts in the lining!
7/1/10 1:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I loved this as soon as I saw the preview--I'll definitely be making it this summer. Yours looks so cute on you!
7/1/10 1:49 PM
sugarduck said...
Very cute skirt! This is going on my to-sew list. :-)
7/1/10 1:57 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very darling skirt! It looks quite wonderful on you.
7/1/10 9:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
super cute!! This one is on my long list. Thanks for the added inspirational boost!
7/1/10 11:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice skirt!
7/1/10 11:43 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I love this skirt! Nice job and good review. I am adding it to my "to sew" list. I don't think I ever would have thought to make this, but your skirt has convinced me!
7/2/10 7:18 AM
sb1280 said...
Very cute! I have to admit, although this pattern has garnered a lot of attention from Burda followers, it didn't do much for me in the magazine, but after seeing your version I'm inspired! Looks perfect for casual summer/fall. Thanks for the tips on the lining (length & fabric). Do you think the zipper is a must or could you leave it out?
7/2/10 10:08 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Super cute skirt.
7/2/10 11:38 AM
Mushywear said...
sb1280 - I do think you could easily alter this pattern to have an elastic waistband. But if you use the waistband as drafted, I would definitely recommend inserting the zipper.
7/2/10 1:37 PM
Catbird said...
Great skirt! I like the way you've styled it with a slim-fitting simple black top and cool sandals, letting the unusual hem be the focal point. The zipper helps to give a smooth waistline, which makes it sleek. It all works!
7/4/10 9:04 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Cute! I am just about to make this, I am going to add in extra to the waistband as you did, good idea.
7/4/10 1:34 PM
KrystalL said...
This skirt is casual and chic. Thanks for the review.
8/3/10 8:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now