Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2010-108 (Twist Bubble Hem Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 417 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Mushywear
photo
Friend of PR
About Mushywearstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/10 3:33 AM
Last Updated:7/1/10 3:38 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
senaSews said...
Nice and stylish skirt. It's on my list, too!
7/1/10 5:20 AM
dingyadi said...
I just love it! The fabric is perfect and it is super stylish.
7/1/10 7:53 AM
sandramary said...
I love your version of this skirt. I am yet to get this issue but now I can't wait! Thanks for the review.
7/1/10 8:17 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Thanks for the info about shortening the lining. The skirt looks great.
7/1/10 8:36 AM
lakaribane said...
Looks great! But do you think it HAS TO be made in a knit? Is it tight ie needs the stretch of a knit? I'm very tempted, I must say...
7/1/10 10:42 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the review. It's a very cute skirt. I was not sure whether the instructions called for a knit lining or not. I love the look, great job!
7/1/10 10:48 AM
quixoticpixels said...
very stylish!
7/1/10 11:44 AM
Mushywear said...
Thanks all. Lakaribane - the skirt is pretty close fitting, so if you don't make it in a knit, you may want to go up one size. The pattern is not clear on whether to use a knit lining, maybe a woven would work, maybe that is why there are darts in the lining!
7/1/10 1:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I loved this as soon as I saw the preview--I'll definitely be making it this summer. Yours looks so cute on you!
7/1/10 1:49 PM
sugarduck said...
Very cute skirt! This is going on my to-sew list. :-)
7/1/10 1:57 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very darling skirt! It looks quite wonderful on you.
7/1/10 9:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
super cute!! This one is on my long list. Thanks for the added inspirational boost!
7/1/10 11:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice skirt!
7/1/10 11:43 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I love this skirt! Nice job and good review. I am adding it to my "to sew" list. I don't think I ever would have thought to make this, but your skirt has convinced me!
7/2/10 7:18 AM
sb1280 said...
Very cute! I have to admit, although this pattern has garnered a lot of attention from Burda followers, it didn't do much for me in the magazine, but after seeing your version I'm inspired! Looks perfect for casual summer/fall. Thanks for the tips on the lining (length & fabric). Do you think the zipper is a must or could you leave it out?
7/2/10 10:08 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Super cute skirt.
7/2/10 11:38 AM
Mushywear said...
sb1280 - I do think you could easily alter this pattern to have an elastic waistband. But if you use the waistband as drafted, I would definitely recommend inserting the zipper.
7/2/10 1:37 PM
Catbird said...
Great skirt! I like the way you've styled it with a slim-fitting simple black top and cool sandals, letting the unusual hem be the focal point. The zipper helps to give a smooth waistline, which makes it sleek. It all works!
7/4/10 9:04 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Cute! I am just about to make this, I am going to add in extra to the waistband as you did, good idea.
7/4/10 1:34 PM
KrystalL said...
This skirt is casual and chic. Thanks for the review.
8/3/10 8:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1783
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 12/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by moonthirty on 7/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us