SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-108 (Twist Bubble Hem Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 419 times 
Reviewed by:Mushywear
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mushywearstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/10 3:33 AM
Last Updated:7/1/10 3:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
senaSews said...
Nice and stylish skirt. It's on my list, too!
7/1/10 5:20 AM
dingyadi said...
I just love it! The fabric is perfect and it is super stylish.
7/1/10 7:53 AM
sandramary said...
I love your version of this skirt. I am yet to get this issue but now I can't wait! Thanks for the review.
7/1/10 8:17 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
Thanks for the info about shortening the lining. The skirt looks great.
7/1/10 8:36 AM
lakaribane said...
Looks great! But do you think it HAS TO be made in a knit? Is it tight ie needs the stretch of a knit? I'm very tempted, I must say...
7/1/10 10:42 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the review. It's a very cute skirt. I was not sure whether the instructions called for a knit lining or not. I love the look, great job!
7/1/10 10:48 AM
quixoticpixels said...
very stylish!
7/1/10 11:44 AM
Mushywear said...
Thanks all. Lakaribane - the skirt is pretty close fitting, so if you don't make it in a knit, you may want to go up one size. The pattern is not clear on whether to use a knit lining, maybe a woven would work, maybe that is why there are darts in the lining!
7/1/10 1:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I loved this as soon as I saw the preview--I'll definitely be making it this summer. Yours looks so cute on you!
7/1/10 1:49 PM
sugarduck said...
Very cute skirt! This is going on my to-sew list. :-)
7/1/10 1:57 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very darling skirt! It looks quite wonderful on you.
7/1/10 9:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
super cute!! This one is on my long list. Thanks for the added inspirational boost!
7/1/10 11:10 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice skirt!
7/1/10 11:43 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
I love this skirt! Nice job and good review. I am adding it to my "to sew" list. I don't think I ever would have thought to make this, but your skirt has convinced me!
7/2/10 7:18 AM
sb1280 said...
Very cute! I have to admit, although this pattern has garnered a lot of attention from Burda followers, it didn't do much for me in the magazine, but after seeing your version I'm inspired! Looks perfect for casual summer/fall. Thanks for the tips on the lining (length & fabric). Do you think the zipper is a must or could you leave it out?
7/2/10 10:08 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Super cute skirt.
7/2/10 11:38 AM
Mushywear said...
sb1280 - I do think you could easily alter this pattern to have an elastic waistband. But if you use the waistband as drafted, I would definitely recommend inserting the zipper.
7/2/10 1:37 PM
Catbird said...
Great skirt! I like the way you've styled it with a slim-fitting simple black top and cool sandals, letting the unusual hem be the focal point. The zipper helps to give a smooth waistline, which makes it sleek. It all works!
7/4/10 9:04 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Cute! I am just about to make this, I am going to add in extra to the waistband as you did, good idea.
7/4/10 1:34 PM
KrystalL said...
This skirt is casual and chic. Thanks for the review.
8/3/10 8:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 3944

photo
by: KathleenS

Review
Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now