SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Wardrobe2010 (Wardrobe Contest 2010)

Viewed 1205 times 
Reviewed by:optimistic
photo

 
 
About optimisticstar
Member since: 9/9/09
Reviews written: 58
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 10:37 PM
Last Updated:9/1/10 9:19 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanaL said...
Can't wait to see what you make. This looks really creative!
7/2/10 2:39 PM
Nancywin said...
This is, indeed, inspirational. I can't wait to see your wardrobe start coming together.
7/2/10 10:27 PM
sandramary said...
Gorgeous! I love sewing with leather, it's my favourite thing to sew! Can't wait to see the finished garments.
7/3/10 7:47 AM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
Can't wait! Love the vibe you're on!
7/3/10 11:34 AM
barebear said...
I love the inspiration board! What a great idea. I've already revamped mine completely a couple times. :) Can't wait to see how it all pans out for you. The leather touches are a neat idea.
7/6/10 7:13 PM
treefrog said...
Excellent! It is really great to see personality come out in a wardrobe.
8/31/10 10:56 PM
jannw said...
very, very nice and what a great idea. Glad it worked well for you
9/1/10 1:07 AM
CynthiaSue said...
wow. you worked you little tail off!!! Really flattering, stylish, creative and edgy! way to go.
9/1/10 2:26 AM
morzel said...
This is one stylish wardrobe! Wonderful.
9/1/10 7:21 AM
marthamyers said...
Black is tricky but you definitely made it work and the photographs are very good. The garments are wonderful. Nice work.
9/1/10 9:28 AM
marec said...
What a wonderfully stylish wardrobe...it's edgy yet feminine. Love it.
9/1/10 10:28 AM
WildWyoming said...
You did a wonderful job! Your measured use of leather shows who leather can be worn tastefully even by a church-going mom and professional. Many of us shy away from leather (other than the classic leather blazer) for fear of looking like we're trying too hard or being too sexy. Your uses are inspirational. Now, how does one launder leather-trimmed pieces? Do they have to be dry cleaned or hand washed? I used to have a black suede skirt, and the one time I dry cleaned it, it lost it's fresh look. Yet, I've read about people washing leather to soften it. I particularly like your leather shrug. What a practical topper for a generally warm area! It could fold up into a large purse or be put on when there are a few hours of cooler weather. And, it wouldn't be heavy to carry like a leather jacket would.
9/1/10 10:30 AM
barebear said...
WOW! This is a gorgeous, and pretty hot wardrobe! I love all the pieces.
9/1/10 12:21 PM
CTBarb said...
Very sophisticated wardrobe! You did a wonderful job both in design and exceution! Bravo!
9/1/10 2:26 PM
rivergum said...
Fantastic! I love your style. The leather accents are very classy.
9/1/10 4:17 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, so chic with an edge. Love how they transition the season and work so well together. bravo!
9/1/10 4:55 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great wardrobe! Love the raw edge leather skirt - great use of the leather.
9/1/10 8:48 PM
optimistic said...
Thank you all! It is great to be able to share my projects with other sewers. I hadn't even thought about laundering the partially leather pieces! I think I'll handwash (dip-wash) them. I have some leather scraps left over, I'll wash those and see how they turn out. I'm glad the pictures turned out well enough.
9/2/10 10:23 PM
Rosesred said...
Wow, this is great! Can definitely see the Gucci influence, your wardrobe looks stylish and expensive. Beautiful clothes, and they seem to suit you very well. Love the combinations, it really works well together.
9/7/10 10:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking wardrobe!
9/11/10 1:46 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
You have done an incredible job here. Your wardrobe is trendy, smart and very put together.
9/11/10 7:12 AM
I am Romy said...
This is an intriguing wardrobe with the colors, patterns and style. Very beautiful work. I'm sure you won't go unnoticed with such stunning outfit, congratulation!
9/23/10 9:33 AM
SharonJK said...
So perfectly well thought out. I luvv all the pieces and the leather touches are glam.Good luck the washing I'm a litle scared for you....LOL
9/24/10 12:34 PM
sarah121haras said...
I love it! They all look fantastic and they have a sort of futuristic edge and appeal! Congrats!
9/27/10 7:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Indygo Junction 908

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now