SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Wardrobe2010 (Wardrobe Contest 2010)

Viewed 1205 times 
Reviewed by:optimistic
photo

 
 
About optimisticstar
Member since: 9/9/09
Reviews written: 58
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 10:37 PM
Last Updated:9/1/10 9:19 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarah121haras said...
I love it! They all look fantastic and they have a sort of futuristic edge and appeal! Congrats!
9/27/10 7:37 AM
SharonJK said...
So perfectly well thought out. I luvv all the pieces and the leather touches are glam.Good luck the washing I'm a litle scared for you....LOL
9/24/10 12:34 PM
I am Romy said...
This is an intriguing wardrobe with the colors, patterns and style. Very beautiful work. I'm sure you won't go unnoticed with such stunning outfit, congratulation!
9/23/10 9:33 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
You have done an incredible job here. Your wardrobe is trendy, smart and very put together.
9/11/10 7:12 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking wardrobe!
9/11/10 1:46 AM
Rosesred said...
Wow, this is great! Can definitely see the Gucci influence, your wardrobe looks stylish and expensive. Beautiful clothes, and they seem to suit you very well. Love the combinations, it really works well together.
9/7/10 10:59 AM
optimistic said...
Thank you all! It is great to be able to share my projects with other sewers. I hadn't even thought about laundering the partially leather pieces! I think I'll handwash (dip-wash) them. I have some leather scraps left over, I'll wash those and see how they turn out. I'm glad the pictures turned out well enough.
9/2/10 10:23 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great wardrobe! Love the raw edge leather skirt - great use of the leather.
9/1/10 8:48 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, so chic with an edge. Love how they transition the season and work so well together. bravo!
9/1/10 4:55 PM
rivergum said...
Fantastic! I love your style. The leather accents are very classy.
9/1/10 4:17 PM
CTBarb said...
Very sophisticated wardrobe! You did a wonderful job both in design and exceution! Bravo!
9/1/10 2:26 PM
barebear said...
WOW! This is a gorgeous, and pretty hot wardrobe! I love all the pieces.
9/1/10 12:21 PM
WildWyoming said...
You did a wonderful job! Your measured use of leather shows who leather can be worn tastefully even by a church-going mom and professional. Many of us shy away from leather (other than the classic leather blazer) for fear of looking like we're trying too hard or being too sexy. Your uses are inspirational. Now, how does one launder leather-trimmed pieces? Do they have to be dry cleaned or hand washed? I used to have a black suede skirt, and the one time I dry cleaned it, it lost it's fresh look. Yet, I've read about people washing leather to soften it. I particularly like your leather shrug. What a practical topper for a generally warm area! It could fold up into a large purse or be put on when there are a few hours of cooler weather. And, it wouldn't be heavy to carry like a leather jacket would.
9/1/10 10:30 AM
marec said...
What a wonderfully stylish wardrobe...it's edgy yet feminine. Love it.
9/1/10 10:28 AM
marthamyers said...
Black is tricky but you definitely made it work and the photographs are very good. The garments are wonderful. Nice work.
9/1/10 9:28 AM
morzel said...
This is one stylish wardrobe! Wonderful.
9/1/10 7:21 AM
CynthiaSue said...
wow. you worked you little tail off!!! Really flattering, stylish, creative and edgy! way to go.
9/1/10 2:26 AM
jannw said...
very, very nice and what a great idea. Glad it worked well for you
9/1/10 1:07 AM
treefrog said...
Excellent! It is really great to see personality come out in a wardrobe.
8/31/10 10:56 PM
barebear said...
I love the inspiration board! What a great idea. I've already revamped mine completely a couple times. :) Can't wait to see how it all pans out for you. The leather touches are a neat idea.
7/6/10 7:13 PM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
Can't wait! Love the vibe you're on!
7/3/10 11:34 AM
sandramary said...
Gorgeous! I love sewing with leather, it's my favourite thing to sew! Can't wait to see the finished garments.
7/3/10 7:47 AM
Nancywin said...
This is, indeed, inspirational. I can't wait to see your wardrobe start coming together.
7/2/10 10:27 PM
JanaL said...
Can't wait to see what you make. This looks really creative!
7/2/10 2:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

More Info
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

More Info
Butterick 6567

photo
by: karenadey

Review