Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Wardrobe2010 (Wardrobe Contest 2010) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 1204 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:optimistic
photo
About optimisticstar
Member since: 9/9/09
Reviews written: 58
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/10 10:37 PM
Last Updated:9/1/10 9:19 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanaL said...
Can't wait to see what you make. This looks really creative!
7/2/10 2:39 PM
Nancywin said...
This is, indeed, inspirational. I can't wait to see your wardrobe start coming together.
7/2/10 10:27 PM
sandramary said...
Gorgeous! I love sewing with leather, it's my favourite thing to sew! Can't wait to see the finished garments.
7/3/10 7:47 AM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
Can't wait! Love the vibe you're on!
7/3/10 11:34 AM
barebear said...
I love the inspiration board! What a great idea. I've already revamped mine completely a couple times. :) Can't wait to see how it all pans out for you. The leather touches are a neat idea.
7/6/10 7:13 PM
treefrog said...
Excellent! It is really great to see personality come out in a wardrobe.
8/31/10 10:56 PM
jannw said...
very, very nice and what a great idea. Glad it worked well for you
9/1/10 1:07 AM
CynthiaSue said...
wow. you worked you little tail off!!! Really flattering, stylish, creative and edgy! way to go.
9/1/10 2:26 AM
morzel said...
This is one stylish wardrobe! Wonderful.
9/1/10 7:21 AM
marthamyers said...
Black is tricky but you definitely made it work and the photographs are very good. The garments are wonderful. Nice work.
9/1/10 9:28 AM
marec said...
What a wonderfully stylish wardrobe...it's edgy yet feminine. Love it.
9/1/10 10:28 AM
WildWyoming said...
You did a wonderful job! Your measured use of leather shows who leather can be worn tastefully even by a church-going mom and professional. Many of us shy away from leather (other than the classic leather blazer) for fear of looking like we're trying too hard or being too sexy. Your uses are inspirational. Now, how does one launder leather-trimmed pieces? Do they have to be dry cleaned or hand washed? I used to have a black suede skirt, and the one time I dry cleaned it, it lost it's fresh look. Yet, I've read about people washing leather to soften it. I particularly like your leather shrug. What a practical topper for a generally warm area! It could fold up into a large purse or be put on when there are a few hours of cooler weather. And, it wouldn't be heavy to carry like a leather jacket would.
9/1/10 10:30 AM
barebear said...
WOW! This is a gorgeous, and pretty hot wardrobe! I love all the pieces.
9/1/10 12:21 PM
CTBarb said...
Very sophisticated wardrobe! You did a wonderful job both in design and exceution! Bravo!
9/1/10 2:26 PM
rivergum said...
Fantastic! I love your style. The leather accents are very classy.
9/1/10 4:17 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, so chic with an edge. Love how they transition the season and work so well together. bravo!
9/1/10 4:55 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great wardrobe! Love the raw edge leather skirt - great use of the leather.
9/1/10 8:48 PM
optimistic said...
Thank you all! It is great to be able to share my projects with other sewers. I hadn't even thought about laundering the partially leather pieces! I think I'll handwash (dip-wash) them. I have some leather scraps left over, I'll wash those and see how they turn out. I'm glad the pictures turned out well enough.
9/2/10 10:23 PM
Rosesred said...
Wow, this is great! Can definitely see the Gucci influence, your wardrobe looks stylish and expensive. Beautiful clothes, and they seem to suit you very well. Love the combinations, it really works well together.
9/7/10 10:59 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Great looking wardrobe!
9/11/10 1:46 AM
Catherine Goetz said...
You have done an incredible job here. Your wardrobe is trendy, smart and very put together.
9/11/10 7:12 AM
I am Romy said...
This is an intriguing wardrobe with the colors, patterns and style. Very beautiful work. I'm sure you won't go unnoticed with such stunning outfit, congratulation!
9/23/10 9:33 AM
SharonJK said...
So perfectly well thought out. I luvv all the pieces and the leather touches are glam.Good luck the washing I'm a litle scared for you....LOL
9/24/10 12:34 PM
sarah121haras said...
I love it! They all look fantastic and they have a sort of futuristic edge and appeal! Congrats!
9/27/10 7:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 02-2011-421
photo
Review by tiadia on 6/2/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1537 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7336 Pattern
Burda 7336 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/29/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us