SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6083 - Jumpsuit (Misses' Jumpsuit In 3 Lengths)

2 more reviews
Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Handmade by Carla
photo

 
 
About Handmade by Carlastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/10 11:02 PM
Last Updated:7/4/10 11:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
1SewSweet said...
Hi Carla...love your top and what a great save of that beautiful fabric! So glad you didn't give up and ended up with something so beautiful...that's the mark of a great future sewing Diva!
7/6/10 6:36 AM
Levone said...
Your salvaged tube top turned out to be very cute! I love the color.
7/5/10 6:22 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks, Susie. Your response is very helpful. I did exactly what you suggested when I tried it on (pulled up the waist area to adjust the crotch). I think I'll try this one again now that I'm not going into this blindfolded. I definitely think the stretch fabric contributed to this issue.
7/5/10 12:30 PM
susiestitcher said...
Your top is really cute and I am so glad your salvaged something. I agree with sewsewboy. If your jumpsuit crotch is hanging below your actual crotch, you need to shorten the whole pant section between your waistline and your crotch. Envision trying on your jumpsuit and pulling up the waist area until the crotch hit you where you wanted. You would have all the extra fabric pulled up above your waist. That is the place where you would want to remove the fabric, so you would actually shorten the length of the jumpsuit between the waistline and the crotch point. On a pattern, you would fold out the needed amount before cutting. In a jumpsuit that is already cut out, you would have to cut off the extra amount at the waistline seam to shorten it and then make any adjustments for the hipline shaping, pockets, etc. For your next jumpsuit, try to tissue fit at the very least, so you can get an idea of where the crotch will be placed. Also, when you use a really stretchy fabric, the crotch may hang lower due to the stretch in the fabric, so you really cannot assume that the next jumpsuit will hang as low as this last one. Just test things out a bit and you will have more success at getting the cute jumpsuit you want. Good luck.
7/5/10 7:19 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks for the great tips! I had a feeling the crotch drama could have been avoided. I may try it again after I try a similar Simplicity jumpsuit pattern. I'll look at the pants pattern again and try the tissue fitting. Do you remember how long ago you saw the jumpsuit pattern in Burda?
7/5/10 2:10 AM
sewsewboy said...
Like your tube top.The color is really good with your skin tone. Sorry that the Jumper didn't work out. It may have been avoided. You took it IN or SHORTENED it throught the rise/seat. My sister had me make her one a while back and we sort of tissue fitted the pattern. The crotch was evident. It was hanging like 4 inches below her actual crotch. Folded UP the tissue across the hipline til it hit a spot that we agreed was right. I either make muslins or tissue fit to prevent major issues. As for the Vintage patterns you are trying next. Easy to widen the legs. Lay out the pattern tissue and slide craft paper undereneath it. Then redraw the pant leg to the desired width basically starting the new line from the width of the hipline straight down. That should be easy. If not, look through Threads Magazines websites. I remember an article on altering patterns. That'll help. Keep up the sewing efforts. Burda had a cute Jumpsuit pattern. You may want to try that one. It was in their Young Fashion section. Good luck.
7/5/10 0:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 244038-1003

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5825

photo
by: Nadalynn

Review