Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6083 - Jumpsuit (Misses' Jumpsuit In 3 Lengths) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 245 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Handmade by Carla
photo
About Handmade by Carlastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/10 11:02 PM
Last Updated:7/4/10 11:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsewboy said...
Like your tube top.The color is really good with your skin tone. Sorry that the Jumper didn't work out. It may have been avoided. You took it IN or SHORTENED it throught the rise/seat. My sister had me make her one a while back and we sort of tissue fitted the pattern. The crotch was evident. It was hanging like 4 inches below her actual crotch. Folded UP the tissue across the hipline til it hit a spot that we agreed was right. I either make muslins or tissue fit to prevent major issues. As for the Vintage patterns you are trying next. Easy to widen the legs. Lay out the pattern tissue and slide craft paper undereneath it. Then redraw the pant leg to the desired width basically starting the new line from the width of the hipline straight down. That should be easy. If not, look through Threads Magazines websites. I remember an article on altering patterns. That'll help. Keep up the sewing efforts. Burda had a cute Jumpsuit pattern. You may want to try that one. It was in their Young Fashion section. Good luck.
7/5/10 0:48 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks for the great tips! I had a feeling the crotch drama could have been avoided. I may try it again after I try a similar Simplicity jumpsuit pattern. I'll look at the pants pattern again and try the tissue fitting. Do you remember how long ago you saw the jumpsuit pattern in Burda?
7/5/10 2:10 AM
susiestitcher said...
Your top is really cute and I am so glad your salvaged something. I agree with sewsewboy. If your jumpsuit crotch is hanging below your actual crotch, you need to shorten the whole pant section between your waistline and your crotch. Envision trying on your jumpsuit and pulling up the waist area until the crotch hit you where you wanted. You would have all the extra fabric pulled up above your waist. That is the place where you would want to remove the fabric, so you would actually shorten the length of the jumpsuit between the waistline and the crotch point. On a pattern, you would fold out the needed amount before cutting. In a jumpsuit that is already cut out, you would have to cut off the extra amount at the waistline seam to shorten it and then make any adjustments for the hipline shaping, pockets, etc. For your next jumpsuit, try to tissue fit at the very least, so you can get an idea of where the crotch will be placed. Also, when you use a really stretchy fabric, the crotch may hang lower due to the stretch in the fabric, so you really cannot assume that the next jumpsuit will hang as low as this last one. Just test things out a bit and you will have more success at getting the cute jumpsuit you want. Good luck.
7/5/10 7:19 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks, Susie. Your response is very helpful. I did exactly what you suggested when I tried it on (pulled up the waist area to adjust the crotch). I think I'll try this one again now that I'm not going into this blindfolded. I definitely think the stretch fabric contributed to this issue.
7/5/10 12:30 PM
Levone said...
Your salvaged tube top turned out to be very cute! I love the color.
7/5/10 6:22 PM
1SewSweet said...
Hi Carla...love your top and what a great save of that beautiful fabric! So glad you didn't give up and ended up with something so beautiful...that's the mark of a great future sewing Diva!
7/6/10 6:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 6120
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 9/4/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paco Peralta Chinese Jacket Chinese Jacket
photo
Review by marthamyer... on 1/24/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3801 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6539 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us