SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

163 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/6/10 1:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
very nice..love your topstitching and pocket design
7/6/10 1:37 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Those are great! Really I think the leg shape and general fit looks great =)
7/6/10 1:53 AM
velosewer said...
You do good work. I love the detailing.
7/6/10 2:12 AM
becca a said...
Your top stitching and pocket design are great. I agree, making jeans is addictive.
7/6/10 2:17 AM
lyndle said...
Great jeans. I'm so pleased to see a plus-size review of these (I'm not quite sure you qualify though). I agree, the top stitching is beautiful and you have a good fit. Did you use top stitching thread?
7/6/10 2:50 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic looking jeans, you have done an excellnet job. Love the pockets.
7/6/10 3:32 AM
goosegreen said...
Ooh thank you Lyndle but I think I *am* plus sized in the bottom half! My topstitching thread is a spool just labelled "Jeans Thread" which I had in my stash. No idea who makes it but it is NOT the same as YLI's Jean Stitch which I also have. My secret to topstitching is pressing after every row and using a stitch length of 3.
7/6/10 3:50 AM
Skye said...
Nice looking pair of jeans - great top stitching.
7/6/10 4:02 AM
MNBarb said...
I think you have a good fit and the pocket topstitching looks great. The crotch might come down a bit after a few deep knee bends with the stretch denim, there's just no end to it's relaxing as the day progresses. Nice job!
7/6/10 11:50 AM
MNBarb said...
PS. I agree that everyone should make a pair of jeans. It's so rewarding when they work!
7/6/10 11:52 AM
GlobalMom said...
Nice job. One tip that I picked up recently which works great for topstitching stretch denim is to spray the piece you want to topstitch with spray starch, iron it dry, and then do your topstitching. I've done this several times and it always works like a charm (no stretching during stitching), plus the starch washes out when you're finished. Welcome to the "I made them myself and they fit!" jeans club!
7/6/10 12:39 PM
aliann1 said...
Great topstitching. Can you tell me what make/model of machine you used?
7/6/10 8:05 PM
goosegreen said...
Construction was done on my Janome MC8000 (17 yrs old and still going strong!), overlocking on my Janome 634D and the topstitching was done on my basic Janome mechanical 18W model because my 8000 doesn't like topstitching thread. It also meant I could leave the mech machine set up & didn't lose any of the settings when I turned it off. :D
7/7/10 0:31 AM
JEF said...
Nice jeans -I love you back pockets and will echo the "great topstitching" comments.
7/7/10 10:37 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Wonderful work on your jeans! I am so happy for you, and yes, I have become addicted to this pattern already.
7/19/10 2:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: megumi

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now