SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4663 (Turkish delight skirt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:HLT
photo

 
 
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/10 8:37 PM
Last Updated:7/9/10 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for the pictures of the mini darts on your blog, HLT. That was very, very interesting. I think we have the same figure type. I'm going to adopt your technique for altering my skirt and pants patterns.
7/13/10 7:57 PM
CynthiaSue said...
totally amazing. i'm so jealous. especially the blousse, must have the summer blouse!! Can you just buy double of all the fabric you get from this store and I'll pay you back;)
7/12/10 0:43 AM
Mazzygirl said...
that is spectacular fabric, I love your skirt! I also love your top & am lookingforward to see you post the details as its just what I've been looking for. beautiful outfit, it looks stunning on you!
7/11/10 6:01 PM
HLT said...
Wow! Thanks for your awesome comments! Echolalia, the fabric is from a local independent fabric store. Susiestitcher...thanks!!!! Paris75008, Ill be posting about the blouse tomorrow on my blog & later in the week on PR. Ok, about the mini darts...if you are ever jeans/pant shopping with me you'll constantly hear me complaining about serious gaping in the back. This is because my waist is significantly more narrow than my curvy bottom. It depends on where the garment places the waist seam that determines if I'll have to add my baby dart. In this case I wanted the skirt to sit just below my waist which is where the circumference change begins...suddenly. I'll only increase a dart size (usually) if it's just a smidge, doing one big chunky dart on the back view will surely cheapen your creative handiwork. I'll update by blog post with mini dart photos today. Thanks for asking!!
7/11/10 8:07 AM
Catbird said...
This is an extra-special skirt and I love it with the blouse and yellow bag. Beautiful!
7/10/10 8:30 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I can SEE why this is your FAVORITE skirt for the summer. In fact, I LOVE the whole outfit. :o)
7/10/10 2:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Your skirt is absolutely gorgeous and you look fabulous in your vibrant classy ensemble. Lovely work.
7/10/10 10:38 AM
Paris75008 said...
That is such a pretty, pretty skirt. I just LOVE it. And your now and later styling is just PERFECT. I love the white blouse. What pattern did you use? And I'd be interested to hear more about the two mini darts in the back, because I need to make the same alteration to my pencil skirts. Why did you opt for that instead of increasing the size of the regular darts?
7/10/10 9:34 AM
echolalia said...
Where did you get that fabric? It is so beautiful, and suits the simple lines of the skirt. Great styling.
7/10/10 8:16 AM
nellc said...
Really lovely skirt, the fabric is gorgeous. I love the different look you have pictured on your blog too.
7/10/10 8:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice skirt. Love the fabric.
7/10/10 7:26 AM
susiestitcher said...
You are so inspiring. I love the fabric but would never have known what to make from it. Beautiful fit and great look! I followed your blog photos and really love how you changed the look for "later" with the boots and sweaters.
7/10/10 7:13 AM
Lisa p said...
Your fabric is stunning the colours are gorgeous.
7/10/10 6:32 AM
aireal said...
Beautiful fabric and really, that blouse is so feminine and flirty. You have such a good touch with fashion. Love your reviews girl.
7/10/10 4:50 AM
Lori V said...
so cute, I like how you styled it for now and later.
7/10/10 2:50 AM
Re Becca said...
That fabric is so festive! I love it
7/9/10 10:47 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Loving this skirt.
7/9/10 9:40 PM
JanieBee said...
Gorgeous!
7/9/10 9:34 PM
Aroura said...
That is such a beautiful brocade fabric, stunning skirt! great job!
7/9/10 9:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now