Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Abayah (Modestclothes.com Abayah) - Type:Other    printable version
Viewed 516 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Therisa
photo
About Therisastarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/10 8:47 AM
Last Updated:7/9/10 9:14 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
knitmachinequeen said...
Very interesting
7/9/10 9:15 AM
KiarasMom said...
I love how you played with different fabric textures to add interest to something traditional in design. What a brilliant idea to let the silk velvet border design to show at the back of the khimar -- it is indeed gorgeous. I'm sure your client will be very pleased!
7/9/10 9:35 AM
Melody said...
Wow, That's beautiful. I think your client will be pleased indeed.
7/9/10 10:06 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful job, very creative changes to a lovely, traditional garment.
7/9/10 10:38 AM
mastdenman said...
The scarf portion is beautiful.
7/9/10 10:49 AM
Kay Y said...
Interesting project - and an unusual one to be reviewed here! I live near a mosque and see ladies in various styles of dress including the niqab but haven't seen any as lovely as this.
7/9/10 11:36 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Very nice! I love the headscarf fabric in particular. I see so many women dressed in traditional Muslim dress every day on my commute to work, and I'm sure your customer will love it. It oozes style and elegance and taste within the constraints of the design brief. Great job!
7/9/10 1:03 PM
ryansmumAria said...
nice job but it pains me...
7/9/10 1:43 PM
JillyBe said...
Fascinating info & a beautiful result! This cracked me up: "I made a design decision which cause the item to fit women with a forearm circumference of 13" or less." :D Thanks for a most interesting review!
7/9/10 1:44 PM
quathy said...
Love your textural work and creativity!
7/9/10 2:15 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very interesting. The veil fabric is lovely.
7/9/10 6:20 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Pretty burnout pattern on the silk veil. Thoughtful design detail to avoid a garment that irritates the wearer's lower eyelids (Wincing--I can hardly imagine). When I navigated through your photo album, the culture clash struck me when the bikini pic popped into view. As others stated--very interesting.
7/9/10 7:59 PM
Therisa said...
@AnneMarie - LOL, the bikini is for my neighbor who had a mastectomy, i took that pic for the review that I plan to post when I finish the garment! lllol
7/9/10 9:38 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Therisa. The silk fabrics are gorgeous.
7/10/10 9:27 AM
lauchlen said...
That's beautiful. I love the way you used different silks to add visual interest because of the single colour palette. I'm going to have to remember that. I'm trying to learn how to make salwar kameez, kurti and choli. There are no patterns for them but I'm hoping with enough studying of images I can figure it out.
7/10/10 3:36 PM
drsue said...
I'm curious what you client thought of your design innovations. Was she pleased with the result?
7/10/10 6:19 PM
christea said...
such beautiful silk.
7/10/10 8:01 PM
Therisa said...
Thanks, everyone, for all of the nice things you've said, and @drsue, the client is 100% thrilled!
7/11/10 4:21 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
That back is gorgeous! Would love to see more pictures, or see it on the customer who it fits.
7/11/10 9:08 AM
Annika said...
Love the idea of making sleeves. And the use of beautiful fabric makes this a winner; there's no resaon for a woman to feel uncomfortable while wearing traditional garb. Good fabric makes it easier to wear.
7/11/10 10:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Butterick 5351
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 6/7/09
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Laurel Laurel
photo
Review by Crystal Pl... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Jalie 2918 Pattern
Jalie 2918 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6743 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us