SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> Abayah (Modestclothes.com Abayah)

Viewed 518 times 
Reviewed by:Therisa
photo

 
 
About Therisastarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/10 8:47 AM
Last Updated:7/9/10 9:14 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Love the idea of making sleeves. And the use of beautiful fabric makes this a winner; there's no resaon for a woman to feel uncomfortable while wearing traditional garb. Good fabric makes it easier to wear.
7/11/10 10:08 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
That back is gorgeous! Would love to see more pictures, or see it on the customer who it fits.
7/11/10 9:08 AM
Therisa said...
Thanks, everyone, for all of the nice things you've said, and @drsue, the client is 100% thrilled!
7/11/10 4:21 AM
christea said...
such beautiful silk.
7/10/10 8:01 PM
drsue said...
I'm curious what you client thought of your design innovations. Was she pleased with the result?
7/10/10 6:19 PM
lauchlen said...
That's beautiful. I love the way you used different silks to add visual interest because of the single colour palette. I'm going to have to remember that. I'm trying to learn how to make salwar kameez, kurti and choli. There are no patterns for them but I'm hoping with enough studying of images I can figure it out.
7/10/10 3:36 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Therisa. The silk fabrics are gorgeous.
7/10/10 9:27 AM
Therisa said...
@AnneMarie - LOL, the bikini is for my neighbor who had a mastectomy, i took that pic for the review that I plan to post when I finish the garment! lllol
7/9/10 9:38 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Pretty burnout pattern on the silk veil. Thoughtful design detail to avoid a garment that irritates the wearer's lower eyelids (Wincing--I can hardly imagine). When I navigated through your photo album, the culture clash struck me when the bikini pic popped into view. As others stated--very interesting.
7/9/10 7:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very interesting. The veil fabric is lovely.
7/9/10 6:20 PM
quathy said...
Love your textural work and creativity!
7/9/10 2:15 PM
JillyBe said...
Fascinating info & a beautiful result! This cracked me up: "I made a design decision which cause the item to fit women with a forearm circumference of 13" or less." :D Thanks for a most interesting review!
7/9/10 1:44 PM
ryansmumAria said...
nice job but it pains me...
7/9/10 1:43 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Very nice! I love the headscarf fabric in particular. I see so many women dressed in traditional Muslim dress every day on my commute to work, and I'm sure your customer will love it. It oozes style and elegance and taste within the constraints of the design brief. Great job!
7/9/10 1:03 PM
Kay Y said...
Interesting project - and an unusual one to be reviewed here! I live near a mosque and see ladies in various styles of dress including the niqab but haven't seen any as lovely as this.
7/9/10 11:36 AM
mastdenman said...
The scarf portion is beautiful.
7/9/10 10:49 AM
Aroura said...
Beautiful job, very creative changes to a lovely, traditional garment.
7/9/10 10:38 AM
Melody said...
Wow, That's beautiful. I think your client will be pleased indeed.
7/9/10 10:06 AM
KiarasMom said...
I love how you played with different fabric textures to add interest to something traditional in design. What a brilliant idea to let the silk velvet border design to show at the back of the khimar -- it is indeed gorgeous. I'm sure your client will be very pleased!
7/9/10 9:35 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Very interesting
7/9/10 9:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now