Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2850 (Sweet ruffles wrap blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1030 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:HLT
photo
About HLTstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/10 10:01 PM
Last Updated:7/13/10 10:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dintas said...
I love this top! I've been meaning to make the Anna Sui one int he picture-yours look stunning! Great job!
7/13/10 10:13 PM
Sweetiebop said...
I have been waiting for you to review this. It is terrific and what about the skirt?
7/13/10 10:19 PM
HLT said...
I'll add a link to the skirt, blog & PR! Thanks Sweetiebop & dintas
7/13/10 10:49 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty. I like your version a lot better!
7/13/10 10:54 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful as always!
7/13/10 11:14 PM
yummymummy38 said...
absolutely gorgeous on you, very flattering
7/14/10 0:04 AM
Lori V said...
I really like your top and the changes you made, fantastic.
7/14/10 0:34 AM
Mazzygirl said...
lovely, & nice balance of fru fru without being too much. I think you've inspired a few of us to copy your design idea!
7/14/10 3:49 AM
tess said...
You look fabulous in your top. and thank you for your detailed review very useful!
7/14/10 4:08 AM
nancy2001 said...
You did a terrific job on the blouse, and you wear it beautifully!
7/14/10 6:45 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful blouse! I'm not a ruffle person, but your version gives balance and makes me think I could handle a few ruffles myself!
7/14/10 7:08 AM
donna mel said...
You really know how to take a pattern and re-make it to perfection! I'm nuts about yours, but not so much for the original...too much ruffle on top!
7/14/10 7:23 AM
CypGrl said...
I second all the positive comments above. Gorgeous!
7/14/10 7:48 AM
Karine said...
Gorgeous! Much better than the Vogue products!
7/14/10 8:23 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - great work
7/14/10 9:02 AM
JanieBee said...
Love it! Well done!
7/14/10 9:06 AM
annie11 said...
What a heavenly blouse! I love your modifications to this pattern.
7/14/10 9:36 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Lovely and good move on resizing those ruffles. Looks great!
7/14/10 10:03 AM
persevering said...
BEAUTIFUL!
7/14/10 10:17 AM
Halls said...
Your blouse is beautiful and I like the modification you did for the ruffle, it looks better than the pattern. Also love your choice of fabric, very soft and feminine. Love it!
7/14/10 10:17 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous! This is soooo pretty. I'm too lazy to create something like that right now, but I would love to have a top like this (your version of course).
7/14/10 10:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow this is so fabulous. Love what you did with the ruffles--just right, not over the top. Great work!!
7/14/10 11:22 AM
lauraborealis said...
Great job. I like yours better than the original. It looks fantastic on you.
7/14/10 1:20 PM
Aroura said...
Oh my, this is really gorgeous! I want one, too! Fantastic job on all of it, I'm really in love with this style.
7/14/10 1:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous top! And great job sewing with chiffon. That stuff intimidates me!
7/14/10 2:35 PM
RLL said...
So pretty and feminine. Good job with your changes, it is perfect for you.
7/14/10 3:15 PM
Catbird said...
This is spectacularly pretty. I love Anna Sui designs and I'll bet she would be knocked out by your version. You wear it well!
7/14/10 5:26 PM
Amy-may said...
Oh, that is gorgeous! What a beautiful top.
7/14/10 5:50 PM
janet said...
I do not know what is more GORGEOUS--you or your blouse. You are one exceptionally talented lady!
7/14/10 8:25 PM
christinawo said...
Just beautiful. Thanks for the copious notes on your changes to the pattern. You look terrific!
7/15/10 2:48 AM
Paris75008 said...
That is the prettiest, prettiest blouse! I like your version much better than the J. Crewe one and as for the Vogue pattern, I wouldn't have given it a second glance! You are really talented! Many thanks for sharing the pattern alterations with us and thanks too for the pictures of the mini darts on your Turkish Delight skirt. That was very helpful!
7/15/10 7:45 AM
ChristineX said...
That is a gorgeous top. So feminine and flattering!
7/15/10 10:38 AM
ggf2005 said...
Beautiful...do you feel like a princess when you're wearing it. You should!
7/15/10 5:55 PM
choogirl said...
So pretty. I love it.
7/16/10 3:53 AM
rebija said...
So beautiful and feminine. I love your color choice - very flattering!
7/16/10 8:44 AM
kim*brown said...
So pretty!
7/17/10 10:52 AM
fattyboomboom said...
This is blouse is absolutely gorgeous! Great idea to adjust the size of the ruffles. You look beautiful wearing it.
7/18/10 10:44 AM
ryansmumAria said...
This is gorgeous and so very feminine!
7/20/10 9:34 AM
HLT said...
Wow! How nice of you to read and comment. Thanks so much!
7/20/10 10:40 AM
valgal said...
Beautiful job with this project. I'm gonna have to try this pattern. Great review too.
7/21/10 1:04 AM
Patty the Snug Bug said...
I'm way behind - but just added this pattern to my catalog and saw your review - I'm SO glad to see a ruffle-ectomy was performed! I love the shirt, but don't like the giant ruffle either!
2/24/11 7:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3557 Easy to sew
photo
Review by tatterbat on 6/2/08
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4377 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3316 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Kalena on 1/31/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Vivienne Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us