Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6658 (Lined cape) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 494 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:rmusic1
photo
About rmusic1star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/3/10
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/10 3:41 PM
Last Updated:8/9/10 5:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
An interesting idea. Can't wait for the finished cape.
7/11/10 3:38 AM
bluenines said...
very nice cape, great idea to use reflictive fabric for the seams, much more stlyish than the rtw vest that you can buy
8/9/10 4:38 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, cute and functional!!
8/9/10 4:54 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a great idea! Too bad you had trouble but I think your end result is just the thing for safe and stylish riding.
8/9/10 6:06 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, safe and stylish.
8/9/10 6:53 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is gorgeous!!! That is a very stylish bicycle and bicycling outfit! (much nicer than my ugly fluro yellow jacket). Inspiring work! =)
8/9/10 7:52 PM
persevering said...
Thanks so much for inspiring posting. As I'm a biker too, all the effort you put into your clever cape makes a lot of sense to me.
8/9/10 7:54 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself, yes it was a lot of work by the sound of it, but what a great result! Great 'thinking outside the box' to use a cape for a bike-riding cover-up - brilliant idea! who'd have thought it would be perfect for that?! it looks fantastic, its also highly functional & practical to boot with the reflective trim, it can't get much better than that! (except maybe a windslicker version & matching hat for rainy days?? ) Well done!
8/9/10 9:17 PM
JillyBe said...
Love the whole package! The cape, the bike, the setting - fabulous! Quit fussing and enjoy, I say! You are stylin'!
8/10/10 1:36 AM
Terri A said...
Very wow - love the cape and the photo was cool!
8/10/10 2:41 AM
lareine said...
What a fantastic idea, and a great end result! I have a similar style bike and I hate how my modern gear looks on it. You have inspired me to make something more suitable :)
8/10/10 5:27 AM
Michele19 said...
Brilliant! It came out great and looks smart and cute.
8/10/10 5:44 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love your cape. What kind of bike do you have? And where did you get your panniers? You are stylin' on your ride.
8/10/10 6:54 AM
MissCelie said...
So, I love the cape. But, I am totally taken with the entire look and ensemble!
8/10/10 9:14 AM
Sana said...
I think you're being too hard on yourself. It looks good and adding reflective tapes to the seams was clever.
8/10/10 11:08 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I usually think capes look rather costumish--but you have changed my mind, I want one just like this! Quit fussing and enjoy, your work is exquisite!
8/10/10 2:04 PM
Tallahasseelassie said...
I think your cape is lovely and job well done. Very smart looking and would never guess the stripes were reflective - thought just decorative. Nicely done. Bet you get loads of compliments when on your bike wearing your cape!
8/10/10 3:27 PM
Hilary said...
Lovely!! I really love your bike, too (my favorite, RED ! :o) The cape turned out beautifully, stylish & functional as well. I think I need one too, and I already have this pattern. Thanks for the review!
10/23/10 3:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmanypat... on 3/18/11
Read Review

McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by karenball on 7/16/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us