SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> :-) (Embellished Sweater)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1223 times 
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/04 9:30 PM
Last Updated:5/9/04 10:11 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liana said...
Very cute, and what a good idea to 'improve' things we would never otherwise like enough to wear.
5/10/04 0:21 AM
Karen Bowers said...
what fun, georgene! is this for you or someone else?
5/10/04 1:12 AM
SewTabby said...
I love the creative way you've "tarted up" this sweater. Looks like something you might find at Anthropologie.
5/10/04 2:39 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ha! Sweater reclaimed and unweildly trim conquered! Very pleasing results, too.
5/10/04 4:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice touch up to a knit top. Great idea.
5/10/04 5:43 AM
cindyann said...
Very cheerful sweater. What a great way to take a so-so top and make it into something wonderful.
5/10/04 7:39 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow Georgene! You completely changed the look of that sweater. It looks like it was a fun project. Great job.
5/10/04 7:53 AM
AnneM said...
Great example. I need to get adventurous & try using more trim. I made a nice green dress that is just too green; I need to break it up. Not certain I'm ready to try this just yet, though!
5/10/04 8:10 AM
drsue said...
Wow! You are so creative.
5/10/04 9:00 AM
kathi s said...
Wow! Too cute! Love all your imaginative touches - this is what sewing is all about. It looks like a million bucks.
5/10/04 9:20 AM
Georgene said...
There are lots of beaded and embellished tops out there at retail right now, and I thought this was a nice alternative to going blind doing your own beading. My local independant fabric store got in a shedload of beaded trims and fringes in the last few months, and I have been drooling over them. Sometimes its hard to figure out how to incorporate them into your garment, though. I thought you all might like to see how this one just grew, kind of all by itself. Its was sort of an adventure.
5/10/04 2:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great idea!!! I have a pink cashmere sweater that is in need of similar treatment. Thank you for the inspiration. -Ann
5/10/04 4:24 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
How did I miss this review earlier? Glad I saw it when I finally read Sherril's pants review.... This sweater is so wonderful! It is right in style alright. How I wish I could be this creative! Thanks for the inspiration Georgene.
5/23/04 3:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Georgene, I don't know how I missed this review! Your sweater is absolutely stunning. Very vintage-looking. I wish I could be so creative!
2/4/05 11:26 AM
Tailypo said...
Yowza! I would never have imagined that those little daisies could be put to such good use!
2/13/05 0:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2181

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2010-137

photo
by: dillyo

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now