SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1002 (Waterproof Hiking pants)

Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/10 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kat86 said...
they're amazing! I do a fair bit of skiing/hiking and didnt know you could buy gore-tex to sew yourself... though I'm a long way from it being worthwhile me trying to make something with it. I'm really impressed, hope you have lots of great trips in them
7/27/10 3:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
pretty impressed!!!! very economical if indeed you wear them for 3 years! love the white and black pairing.
7/23/10 0:23 AM
AnneM said...
Great job. Very useful, and nothing like custom usefulness! Nice modifications, and thanks for the pics.
7/20/10 8:46 PM
fattyboomboom said...
This is truly commendable workmanship and creativity. I suspect you'll be enjoying the skiing and hiking even more knowing how well you customized your pants.
7/19/10 2:45 PM
rebija said...
I admire anyone who can execute pants this flawlessly! I'd buy them!
7/15/10 10:49 AM
Aroura said...
Fantastic job of recreating, and improving, on your inspiration piece. And you drafted it yourself! Amazing!
7/15/10 3:26 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! You did a superlative job on these pants.
7/13/10 2:22 PM
Selina said...
WOW indeed! Those are some amazing pants! Have you considered submiting your design changes to Patagonia?
7/12/10 9:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing. I am deeply impressed.
7/12/10 5:48 AM
JillyBe said...
Wow - GREAT job! As a formerly active outdoorsy type who is very familiar w/ Patagonia (aka PataGucci) & their quality, I'm super impressed with your details!
7/12/10 4:11 AM
MareeAlison said...
Treefrog - you did a great job on these. They are amazing.
7/12/10 1:47 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my goodness!!!! What an amazing pair of pants! Thanks for sharing the photos of how you did the seam sealing. You make it look "easy"! You tempt me to give this a try. Even with the gore-tex fabric, I bet you saved some $ and have a perfect fit to boot! Congrats!!!!
7/11/10 10:36 PM
Sandi S said...
awesome job on these!
7/11/10 4:16 PM
jannw said...
very impressive..look much better than anything I've seen in the shops! Enjoy them for the next 10 years...
7/11/10 1:11 PM
marec said...
Absolute perfection! I really enjoy your work and hope to someday approach your level.
7/11/10 11:23 AM
Diane E said...
These are terrific pants! Thanks for the detailed review. How inspiring!
7/11/10 10:59 AM
MNBarb said...
Your engineering skills bowl me over. The best thing is you have a perfect fit with all of the extras you need for your specific activities. Can you please include your source for extras like snaps, zips, etc if they are something special? The notions are one of the things that can separate RTW from handmade. Your garments always look professionally made.
7/11/10 8:58 AM
ClaireEmily said...
These pants are just so impressive! Wow. Enjoy them =)
7/11/10 6:31 AM
brissie71 said...
Totally impressed here! I've not ever sewn a pair of pants as fabulous as these. Good on you for giving it a go...and making them turn out so well.
7/11/10 3:35 AM
Sarsez said...
Congrats - Isn't a truly marvelous feeling to get things figured out and a great pair of pants to boot!
7/11/10 2:35 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome! I'm very impressed.
7/11/10 2:01 AM
o3b said...
Drool. Sigh. Drool. I just love your stuff. Seam seal TAPE? I'm going to look for that. I only have a bottle of a roll-on liquid from years ago.
7/11/10 1:54 AM
Ericaeli said...
Your outerwear always impresses/inspires me. These pants are just awesome, and I imagine they will get a lot of use.
7/11/10 1:12 AM
Mushywear said...
Absolutely amazing! You did an incredible job!
7/11/10 0:42 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, those pants look GREAT and really well designed! Congratulations!
7/11/10 0:17 AM
lynny said...
Beautiful sewing, you must be so pleased, well done.
7/11/10 0:14 AM
margk said...
You have done a beautiful job on these pants. I suspect they will get LOTS of use!
7/10/10 10:53 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Amazing outstanding work. Enjoyed all your pictures, they look great!
7/10/10 10:52 PM
goosegreen said...
Really impressive! Your sewing never ceases to amaze. Isn't it great that we can create the perfect item?
7/10/10 9:53 PM
Sharonspils said...
You have done such a fantastic job on these and thank you for showing your additional details. Definately better than the best RTW you could buy.
7/10/10 9:22 PM
RLL said...
Wow, I am so impressed.
7/10/10 9:07 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous pants - the details are great and they look like they have come off the rack of a very expensive store!
7/10/10 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1160

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review