SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 125587-1002 (Waterproof Hiking pants)

Viewed 702 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 223
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 220
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/10 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous pants - the details are great and they look like they have come off the rack of a very expensive store!
7/10/10 9:01 PM
RLL said...
Wow, I am so impressed.
7/10/10 9:07 PM
Sharonspils said...
You have done such a fantastic job on these and thank you for showing your additional details. Definately better than the best RTW you could buy.
7/10/10 9:22 PM
goosegreen said...
Really impressive! Your sewing never ceases to amaze. Isn't it great that we can create the perfect item?
7/10/10 9:53 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Amazing outstanding work. Enjoyed all your pictures, they look great!
7/10/10 10:52 PM
margk said...
You have done a beautiful job on these pants. I suspect they will get LOTS of use!
7/10/10 10:53 PM
lynny said...
Beautiful sewing, you must be so pleased, well done.
7/11/10 0:14 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, those pants look GREAT and really well designed! Congratulations!
7/11/10 0:17 AM
Mushywear said...
Absolutely amazing! You did an incredible job!
7/11/10 0:42 AM
Ericaeli said...
Your outerwear always impresses/inspires me. These pants are just awesome, and I imagine they will get a lot of use.
7/11/10 1:12 AM
o3b said...
Drool. Sigh. Drool. I just love your stuff. Seam seal TAPE? I'm going to look for that. I only have a bottle of a roll-on liquid from years ago.
7/11/10 1:54 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome! I'm very impressed.
7/11/10 2:01 AM
Sarsez said...
Congrats - Isn't a truly marvelous feeling to get things figured out and a great pair of pants to boot!
7/11/10 2:35 AM
brissie71 said...
Totally impressed here! I've not ever sewn a pair of pants as fabulous as these. Good on you for giving it a go...and making them turn out so well.
7/11/10 3:35 AM
ClaireEmily said...
These pants are just so impressive! Wow. Enjoy them =)
7/11/10 6:31 AM
MNBarb said...
Your engineering skills bowl me over. The best thing is you have a perfect fit with all of the extras you need for your specific activities. Can you please include your source for extras like snaps, zips, etc if they are something special? The notions are one of the things that can separate RTW from handmade. Your garments always look professionally made.
7/11/10 8:58 AM
Diane E said...
These are terrific pants! Thanks for the detailed review. How inspiring!
7/11/10 10:59 AM
marec said...
Absolute perfection! I really enjoy your work and hope to someday approach your level.
7/11/10 11:23 AM
jannw said...
very impressive..look much better than anything I've seen in the shops! Enjoy them for the next 10 years...
7/11/10 1:11 PM
Sandi S said...
awesome job on these!
7/11/10 4:16 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my goodness!!!! What an amazing pair of pants! Thanks for sharing the photos of how you did the seam sealing. You make it look "easy"! You tempt me to give this a try. Even with the gore-tex fabric, I bet you saved some $ and have a perfect fit to boot! Congrats!!!!
7/11/10 10:36 PM
MareeAlison said...
Treefrog - you did a great job on these. They are amazing.
7/12/10 1:47 AM
JillyBe said...
Wow - GREAT job! As a formerly active outdoorsy type who is very familiar w/ Patagonia (aka PataGucci) & their quality, I'm super impressed with your details!
7/12/10 4:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing. I am deeply impressed.
7/12/10 5:48 AM
Selina said...
WOW indeed! Those are some amazing pants! Have you considered submiting your design changes to Patagonia?
7/12/10 9:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! You did a superlative job on these pants.
7/13/10 2:22 PM
Aroura said...
Fantastic job of recreating, and improving, on your inspiration piece. And you drafted it yourself! Amazing!
7/15/10 3:26 AM
rebija said...
I admire anyone who can execute pants this flawlessly! I'd buy them!
7/15/10 10:49 AM
fattyboomboom said...
This is truly commendable workmanship and creativity. I suspect you'll be enjoying the skiing and hiking even more knowing how well you customized your pants.
7/19/10 2:45 PM
AnneM said...
Great job. Very useful, and nothing like custom usefulness! Nice modifications, and thanks for the pics.
7/20/10 8:46 PM
CynthiaSue said...
pretty impressed!!!! very economical if indeed you wear them for 3 years! love the white and black pairing.
7/23/10 0:23 AM
kat86 said...
they're amazing! I do a fair bit of skiing/hiking and didnt know you could buy gore-tex to sew yourself... though I'm a long way from it being worthwhile me trying to make something with it. I'm really impressed, hope you have lots of great trips in them
7/27/10 3:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 36274-1000

photo
by: nowak

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now