SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1960 (twin set)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2185 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/04 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Just beautiful! I love all your elegant touches. I know what you mean about watching out for the 'bathrobe effect'. Your cardigan jacket is probably as comfy as a bathrobe, but looks stylish
5/10/04 0:05 AM
jlg said...
What an elegant outfit. I'm impressed with how you took this year's trends and gave them your own style.
5/10/04 5:56 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful outfit! You look very stylish in it too!
5/10/04 7:05 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your outfit is so beautiful!!! I love all your details. The pink tweed is perfect for the bias cut flounce on the skirt. Thank you for posting all the photos. Great review.
5/10/04 7:45 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, you look Great. Beautiful outfit. Love the color
5/10/04 8:38 AM
SandraB said...
What a great looking outfit. Your extra touches make this simple pattern look so beautiful, elegant and expensive.
5/10/04 9:09 AM
drsue said...
What a wonderful ensemble. Your work and creativity really paid off.
5/10/04 9:10 AM
kathi s said...
Loove your suit! Its a knockout! I adore Chanel style- it's so elegant. Fabrics are perfect and the little touch of selvedge trim really sets them off!
5/10/04 9:24 AM
ragner said...
Wow, that skirt fits you perfectly and it's so flattering! Meeooooww!
5/10/04 10:03 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! Y'know, I was just looking at this pattern the other day, wondering if it was one I needed. Maybe it is... Anyway, the whole ensemble looks fabulous!
5/10/04 10:04 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Liana, you really hit a home run with this one! All I can do is repeat what the others have written. You look like you could walk into any elegant affair and turn every head in the place! Thank you so much for sharing all the details as well as the finished product. I love it.
5/10/04 10:31 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice outfit! Very inspiring. I don't look at that chanel outfit & see much of interest. Obviously I need to work on my outfit imagination, since it inspired such a wonderful outfit from you.
5/10/04 10:54 AM
Liana said...
Thanks everyone. I was pleased with this. Anne, Funny you should mention the Chanel photo. I saw it and liked the effect, then thought, hate the tank top, hate the skirt, color is bad, it's too skimpy. Then I wondered what I saw in it! But the idea is so good. Once we get one of those, we can run with it.
5/10/04 11:36 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
5/10/04 2:14 PM
Liana said...
Oopsy Daisy, It's Burda 8566.
5/10/04 2:17 PM
busy91 said...
Very Chanel. You did an awesome job.
5/10/04 3:53 PM
moushka said...
Awesome! Gorgeous! What an inspirational project! Thanks for sharing all te details.
5/10/04 4:13 PM
Jan B. said...
Great outfit, great job! I love all your details. Did you make the ribbon trim you chose not to use on this outfit? Inquiring minds want to know! Thanks for your thoughtful, detailed review.
5/10/04 7:53 PM
Liana said...
Jan B., Yes, I made the ribbon trim too. It was in Threads #12. (I'm a fast worker!) I've been thinking of it for a long time, and thought this might be the season for it, but this wasn't the garment. Sigh.
5/10/04 7:56 PM
MaryBeth said...
This suit is wonderful with all the details you've added. I love the way the cuff are not too big but are distinctive. Inspiring!
5/10/04 8:39 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
So designer!! Just wonderful!!!
5/10/04 8:48 PM
layla said...
Stunning Style !! Love This Outfit !!
5/10/04 9:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very elegant! I have the same tweed fabric. It seemed to work okay with the knit as a trim. Interesting. Love the look of the skirt also.
5/11/04 5:55 AM
Donna Wingfield said...
The top pattern in this twinset has become my very favorite. I've added a dart, made it sleeveless, made it with a funnel neck, made it from cotton knits, wool jersey, and on and on. Liana's review has insprired me to try the cardigan.
7/18/04 12:26 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Liana, somehow I missed this wonderful review! I absolutely love your outfit. I think I am going to shamelessly copy the skirt. ;-)
7/18/04 12:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 4975

photo
by: Nancy Anne

Review
Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Donel

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now