Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8331 (Handbags and Tote)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1208 times 
Reviewed by:edie
photo

 
 
About edie
GA USA
Member since: 4/23/03
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/04 3:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mturner said... (9/22/04 10:44 AM) Reply
I have been struggling with this pattern! This was an excellent review. Thanks for telling me about the info for this pattern at diy.com, too!
Sew it seams said... (5/11/04 9:32 PM) Reply
I really like your bag, and your review was very helpful! I'm adding this pattern to my wish list. Thanks for a great review.
candyo said... (5/11/04 7:00 PM) Reply
This is the best review I've read here! VERY helpful! I've had this pattern for a long time, and I'm glad I've waited to try it, now that I have your review to refer to.
debbie.w said... (5/11/04 10:17 AM) Reply
great job -- beautiful purse
Battgirl said... (5/11/04 6:25 AM) Reply
Your bag is delicious. If you are going to make more check out www.umei.com for lots of bag stuff & if you want to do topstitching I have found yli jeans thread the smoothest and stitches like a dream with a 100 or 110 topstitch needle. Keep sewing I would love to see more!
Danvillegirl said... (5/11/04 5:58 AM) Reply
Very, very nice. Looks like you purchased from a nice department store. Good review.
PattyU said... (5/11/04 5:36 AM) Reply
This is a great review. Thanks. The bag looks great. I think I'll get this pattern at the next sale.
drsue said... (5/10/04 10:23 PM) Reply
You did a very nice job. I'm a pretty experienced sewer but I don't think purses are all that easy to make. You did a very good job on the purse and the review.
Liana said... (5/10/04 7:52 PM) Reply
Edie, this is a great purse! I saw that episode on DIY and printed out the instructions too, but never could find the pattern, as their references said Vogue patterns, and I found nothing remotely similar. Thanks for the clue! I'll be getting this pattern.
SewVeryTall said... (5/10/04 5:59 PM) Reply
You did a great job, Edie, on the purse and the review. One thing about using buckram...it can't be laundered. Sometimes I use multiple layers of fusible craft interfacing, so the bag can be tossed in the washing machine.
Stilltheone said... (5/10/04 5:46 PM) Reply
WOW! That is beautiful. Thank you for such a wonderful detailed review. I am making a tapestry purse. I am definitely going to use your suggestion for interfacing the lining also. I was wondering how it would look as I'm using a jeans needle. That is a beautiful bag!
minieme said... (5/10/04 5:03 PM) Reply
Thanks for your detailed review! The bag looks very store-bought. I'm sure your mom will love it. I've tried to get some magnetic closures locally but they dont have any :( Does anyone know of any mail order places? The one I checked out (in Australia) wants $9.95 for a pair!
Hilary said... (5/10/04 4:28 PM) Reply
edie, what a great review! Your bag is beautiful (I wish I could see the inside, I bet that flash of color is really pretty!) I appreciate the tip on buckram (btw, what is it exactly and where can it be found?) and the magnetic closure. I will have to check out the purse section at Hancock's and see if I can pick one up :o) I look forard to more reviews from you! I bet your Mom will love her bag.
ragner said... (5/10/04 4:20 PM) Reply
Fantastic job! Looks just like a certain department store brand we're all familiar with. ;) Very inspiring to know another beginning sewer can pull something like that off!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details