Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8331 (Handbags and Tote) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1207 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:edie
photo
About edie
GA USA
Member since: 4/23/03
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/04 3:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ragner said...
Fantastic job! Looks just like a certain department store brand we're all familiar with. ;) Very inspiring to know another beginning sewer can pull something like that off!
5/10/04 4:20 PM
Hilary said...
edie, what a great review! Your bag is beautiful (I wish I could see the inside, I bet that flash of color is really pretty!) I appreciate the tip on buckram (btw, what is it exactly and where can it be found?) and the magnetic closure. I will have to check out the purse section at Hancock's and see if I can pick one up :o) I look forard to more reviews from you! I bet your Mom will love her bag.
5/10/04 4:28 PM
minieme said...
Thanks for your detailed review! The bag looks very store-bought. I'm sure your mom will love it. I've tried to get some magnetic closures locally but they dont have any :( Does anyone know of any mail order places? The one I checked out (in Australia) wants $9.95 for a pair!
5/10/04 5:03 PM
Stilltheone said...
WOW! That is beautiful. Thank you for such a wonderful detailed review. I am making a tapestry purse. I am definitely going to use your suggestion for interfacing the lining also. I was wondering how it would look as I'm using a jeans needle. That is a beautiful bag!
5/10/04 5:46 PM
SewVeryTall said...
You did a great job, Edie, on the purse and the review. One thing about using buckram...it can't be laundered. Sometimes I use multiple layers of fusible craft interfacing, so the bag can be tossed in the washing machine.
5/10/04 5:59 PM
Liana said...
Edie, this is a great purse! I saw that episode on DIY and printed out the instructions too, but never could find the pattern, as their references said Vogue patterns, and I found nothing remotely similar. Thanks for the clue! I'll be getting this pattern.
5/10/04 7:52 PM
drsue said...
You did a very nice job. I'm a pretty experienced sewer but I don't think purses are all that easy to make. You did a very good job on the purse and the review.
5/10/04 10:23 PM
PattyU said...
This is a great review. Thanks. The bag looks great. I think I'll get this pattern at the next sale.
5/11/04 5:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very, very nice. Looks like you purchased from a nice department store. Good review.
5/11/04 5:58 AM
Battgirl said...
Your bag is delicious. If you are going to make more check out www.umei.com for lots of bag stuff & if you want to do topstitching I have found yli jeans thread the smoothest and stitches like a dream with a 100 or 110 topstitch needle. Keep sewing I would love to see more!
5/11/04 6:25 AM
debbie.w said...
great job -- beautiful purse
5/11/04 10:17 AM
candyo said...
This is the best review I've read here! VERY helpful! I've had this pattern for a long time, and I'm glad I've waited to try it, now that I have your review to refer to.
5/11/04 7:00 PM
Sew it seams said...
I really like your bag, and your review was very helpful! I'm adding this pattern to my wish list. Thanks for a great review.
5/11/04 9:32 PM
mturner said...
I have been struggling with this pattern! This was an excellent review. Thanks for telling me about the info for this pattern at diy.com, too!
9/22/04 10:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6569
photo
Review by snowflake0... on 7/5/10
Read Review

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1101
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 9/1/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us