SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1175 (Misses' Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 724 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/10 1:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissyBelle said...
Well, I'm silly enough to wear this dress with ankle boots so you've inspired me. You did a great job constructing it.
3/11/11 7:13 PM
wzrdreams said...
Could you elaborate more on the sizing and fit? What do you mean by "which brings me to... if any of you want to borrow this dress... you can!" ? Why? Modesty aside, how did this fit you? Did you make the 12 with idea to fit it for yourself? I ask because I want to know how accurate the fit is. The pattern says "close fitting" and we all know how subjective that term is when there is anywhere between 0-2 7/8" ease in "close fitting" dress patterns. I have this pattern and do want to give it a try so more information would be very helpful. Thank you. ETA: Thank you for your additional help and advice!
8/11/10 11:57 AM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so glad you made this. I've got the pattern too with the same idea that it would be fun to construct even if not wearable by me. I would love to see it on you....
8/7/10 4:14 PM
Levone said...
Wow, this is a cute dress! I would love to see how it actually looks on you. You should definitely wear it...maybe to a summer wedding or some type of formal/semi-formal event.
7/14/10 4:55 PM
Blooms said...
I would love to see this on you. I have bought this pattern and a voile to make it up as a beach dress.
7/14/10 3:24 AM
JETrinity said...
Go ahead and wear it backwards. No will know. I have looked at this dress so many times and wondered it anyone would sew it.
7/13/10 6:43 PM
nicegirl said...
You are brave to tackle this challenging piece! I think it came out really cute. Would love to see it on you!
7/13/10 1:57 PM
Athene said...
Your dress is lovely. Thank you for the review. It is really good seeing this dress on a dressform as it definitely shows how low the neckline is. I have the pattern but have not yet made it and seeing the neckline is very helpful to me.
7/13/10 0:10 AM
donna mel said...
Wow this is beautiful! And looks like it was fun to make.
7/12/10 9:25 PM
margk said...
Good on you for going ahead with this. I think it is for a similar reason I enjoy sewing costumes - they may only get worn once, but they are fun!
7/12/10 6:48 PM
Lynz said...
I really like your dress. I might give this one a go as your version looks much nicer than the vogue one.
7/12/10 5:47 PM
annie11 said...
I love the fact that you are sewing something just for the challenge! Your dress turned out really cute, and I'm glad to hear that it was fun to sew. I have a few Vogue patterns that I've never made because I didn't think I'd wear them- I think I might get them out and give them a go just for the fun of it, thanks to your review!
7/12/10 4:46 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
That is very cute, and unique. It would look great as a jumper over a leotard-type top and some leggings!
7/12/10 3:35 PM
Audrey B. said...
So cute! I bet you could wear a tank under it and a belt over it to dress it down.
7/12/10 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3504

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now