SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Surplice Empire Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/10 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
3HoursPast said...
Well, that's certainly not a slapdash effort. Good work, great dress, and my miserly heart sings about the price tag.
7/13/10 10:21 AM
Mahler said...
Super dress ! You have used this fabric so well. Wonderful look on you !
7/13/10 10:28 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous dress. It looks terrific on you. Your sleeves look perfect for the style and much better than the pattern.
7/13/10 10:28 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I tried to post a comment on your blog! This is a beautiful combination of the perfect pattern for the fabric! I love the colours and it looks great on you!!
7/13/10 10:50 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful! Love the way it turned out - even more than the inspiration! Great work
7/13/10 10:53 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is a great dress. I like it better than the dress that inspired it.
7/13/10 11:17 AM
sewbehind said...
This is really cute on you. Beautiful!
7/13/10 11:39 AM
ConnieBJ said...
A perfect use for that border print. Looks great!
7/13/10 12:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the way you modified the original pattern to achieve a beautiful interpretation of your inspiration dress!
7/13/10 12:56 PM
MNBarb said...
I agree that yours is nicer than Suzi's. What a lucky person to get this really beautiful fabric as a gift. I always appreciate the details on a small bust alteration as this is also a change I need to make on patterns. Really beautiful dress, congrats.
7/13/10 12:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your dress looks lovely on you -- and it's even nicer than the original!
7/13/10 2:27 PM
Frogstitcher said...
What timing! I was just looking at this pattern the other day. Your dress is an inspiration. Another fabulous garment in your closet, well done.
7/13/10 3:56 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful! That dress looks so good on you, I think it looks better than the inspiration dress!
7/13/10 4:02 PM
ElsaD said...
You've done a stunning job on this.
7/13/10 4:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very clever, and a lovely dress. Yours is nicer than the original.
7/13/10 4:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Trena, Another cute dress.
7/13/10 5:36 PM
valerie sews said...
I love it, especially the sleeves.
7/13/10 7:10 PM
donna mel said...
I LOVE this dress - much more than the inspirational dress. I think it is so flattering on you. Thanks for your detailed review, I have a similar figure and will need all of your tips.
7/13/10 9:46 PM
lmg said...
It looks lovely on you....floaty, romantic, summery and better than the original.
7/13/10 11:51 PM
Diane333 said...
Terrific fabric, color and style for you.
7/14/10 7:42 AM
Karine said...
Love it! Great work.
7/14/10 8:24 AM
Halls said...
Beautiful dress, looks just like the designer version, at a much better price
7/14/10 10:38 AM
Mufffet said...
What a nice dress...so chic and stylist! So cool looking - my fingers are so tired just from pushing on the VERY HELPFUL button on your reviews! :))
7/14/10 10:54 AM
AuntieShel said...
I LOVE your dress. To me its the perfect combination of cute and sophisticated at the same time. You did a lot of work to that pattern to get the look you wanted.
7/14/10 11:49 AM
ChristineX said...
Great dress!!!
7/15/10 10:40 AM
arianamaniacs said...
very cute
7/16/10 9:01 AM
waltzqueen said...
Your dress is soooo much better than your inspiration. Very attractive on you - dare I say cute?
7/16/10 6:38 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Lovely dress and delightful review! I like your iteration better than the inspiration!
7/18/10 10:36 AM
lindaII said...
yours is SO MUCH CUTER than the original. Good work, VERY cute!
7/26/10 3:00 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Way better than the inspiration! Really cute on you! Also love the fabric.
9/6/10 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

No Pattern Used My Twin Dress Form

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Cutting Line Designs 11202

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now