SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-123 (Surplice Empire Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/10 10:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
3HoursPast said...
Well, that's certainly not a slapdash effort. Good work, great dress, and my miserly heart sings about the price tag.
7/13/10 10:21 AM
Mahler said...
Super dress ! You have used this fabric so well. Wonderful look on you !
7/13/10 10:28 AM
dingyadi said...
Gorgeous dress. It looks terrific on you. Your sleeves look perfect for the style and much better than the pattern.
7/13/10 10:28 AM
Sue Anfang said...
I tried to post a comment on your blog! This is a beautiful combination of the perfect pattern for the fabric! I love the colours and it looks great on you!!
7/13/10 10:50 AM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful! Love the way it turned out - even more than the inspiration! Great work
7/13/10 10:53 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is a great dress. I like it better than the dress that inspired it.
7/13/10 11:17 AM
sewbehind said...
This is really cute on you. Beautiful!
7/13/10 11:39 AM
ConnieBJ said...
A perfect use for that border print. Looks great!
7/13/10 12:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the way you modified the original pattern to achieve a beautiful interpretation of your inspiration dress!
7/13/10 12:56 PM
MNBarb said...
I agree that yours is nicer than Suzi's. What a lucky person to get this really beautiful fabric as a gift. I always appreciate the details on a small bust alteration as this is also a change I need to make on patterns. Really beautiful dress, congrats.
7/13/10 12:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your dress looks lovely on you -- and it's even nicer than the original!
7/13/10 2:27 PM
Frogstitcher said...
What timing! I was just looking at this pattern the other day. Your dress is an inspiration. Another fabulous garment in your closet, well done.
7/13/10 3:56 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful! That dress looks so good on you, I think it looks better than the inspiration dress!
7/13/10 4:02 PM
ElsaD said...
You've done a stunning job on this.
7/13/10 4:21 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very clever, and a lovely dress. Yours is nicer than the original.
7/13/10 4:44 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Trena, Another cute dress.
7/13/10 5:36 PM
valerie sews said...
I love it, especially the sleeves.
7/13/10 7:10 PM
donna mel said...
I LOVE this dress - much more than the inspirational dress. I think it is so flattering on you. Thanks for your detailed review, I have a similar figure and will need all of your tips.
7/13/10 9:46 PM
lmg said...
It looks lovely on you....floaty, romantic, summery and better than the original.
7/13/10 11:51 PM
Diane333 said...
Terrific fabric, color and style for you.
7/14/10 7:42 AM
Karine said...
Love it! Great work.
7/14/10 8:24 AM
Halls said...
Beautiful dress, looks just like the designer version, at a much better price
7/14/10 10:38 AM
Mufffet said...
What a nice dress...so chic and stylist! So cool looking - my fingers are so tired just from pushing on the VERY HELPFUL button on your reviews! :))
7/14/10 10:54 AM
AuntieShel said...
I LOVE your dress. To me its the perfect combination of cute and sophisticated at the same time. You did a lot of work to that pattern to get the look you wanted.
7/14/10 11:49 AM
ChristineX said...
Great dress!!!
7/15/10 10:40 AM
arianamaniacs said...
very cute
7/16/10 9:01 AM
waltzqueen said...
Your dress is soooo much better than your inspiration. Very attractive on you - dare I say cute?
7/16/10 6:38 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Lovely dress and delightful review! I like your iteration better than the inspiration!
7/18/10 10:36 AM
lindaII said...
yours is SO MUCH CUTER than the original. Good work, VERY cute!
7/26/10 3:00 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Way better than the inspiration! Really cute on you! Also love the fabric.
9/6/10 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now