SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2010-123 

4 more reviews
Viewed 659 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/10 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
balired said...
Thanks Allie in HK! I will post it, although I may not be able to until after my trip to NYC tomorrow - was trying to finish it for the trip, but alas, life got in the way. :)
8/25/10 2:57 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Hi Balired, I recommend posting this - with a pic if possible - in the message boards section so more people will see it. It may just all be about accessories - shoes, belt, jewellry to make it look less like hospital scrubs! Hope it can be saved.
8/25/10 3:27 AM
balired said...
I am in the midst of making this dress, and I am stuck, because for some reason, the lovely painted leaf print silk crepe, in blues, greens and white, now looks like material for medical scrubs or smocks to me, and nothing I do can get that picture out of my mind. (I will try to post a photo of the material for reference). I am afraid people will think I escaped from the hospital while still wearing my smock! Anyone have any ideas about how to either modify the dress, or accessorize so it doesn't look like a hospital gown?
8/24/10 1:47 PM
Catbird said...
You've made an instantly desirable dress -- I want it! That fabric is perfect for the pattern and your work is superb. It looks great on you.
7/23/10 10:42 AM
Mahler said...
Super "workwomanship" . You have crated such a great dress. Bravissima !
7/21/10 11:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Great use of fabric for the design. I have to admit I didn't remember seeing this pattern in the magazine, but you definitely made it memorable!
7/15/10 5:29 AM
ladylola said...
Wow! I can't believe how made this pattern look so great! Bravo!
7/14/10 8:04 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, I love the fabric you have used.
7/14/10 2:59 PM
Sigrid. said...
Surprised to see what you can do with such a basic pattern. You absolutely made it work. Gorgeous fabric and love how you played with the grain.
7/14/10 1:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress!
7/14/10 1:17 PM
trinicity said...
beautiful Allison, I love this dress
7/14/10 10:30 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for another great review! It is AMAZING how you make such beautiful clothes that look so GREAT on you. Thanks again for being inspirational!
7/14/10 10:21 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Lovely. I have noticed that you have amazing fabrics in HK.
7/14/10 10:15 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! I love how you combined the grains. It looks better on you than the model.
7/14/10 10:15 AM
Levone said...
Wow, this looks great! I definitely passed over this one until seeing your version.
7/14/10 9:57 AM
annie11 said...
You always have the most beautiful fabrics. Love this dress!
7/14/10 9:30 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and it looks great on you!
7/14/10 7:45 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
You made a silk sack WORK! Nice job Allie!
7/14/10 6:53 AM
Ingiepops said...
Wow, you did a great job with the fabric, the dress looks fabulous on you.
7/14/10 5:40 AM
Dolphin said...
Your dress is lovely. I bought some fabric yesterday and this pattern would be ideal for it. Thank you for the heads up.
7/14/10 5:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4291 (OOP)

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now