SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2010-123 

4 more reviews
Viewed 658 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/10 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dolphin said...
Your dress is lovely. I bought some fabric yesterday and this pattern would be ideal for it. Thank you for the heads up.
7/14/10 5:18 AM
Ingiepops said...
Wow, you did a great job with the fabric, the dress looks fabulous on you.
7/14/10 5:40 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
You made a silk sack WORK! Nice job Allie!
7/14/10 6:53 AM
Elke said...
Very cute dress and it looks great on you!
7/14/10 7:45 AM
annie11 said...
You always have the most beautiful fabrics. Love this dress!
7/14/10 9:30 AM
Levone said...
Wow, this looks great! I definitely passed over this one until seeing your version.
7/14/10 9:57 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous! I love how you combined the grains. It looks better on you than the model.
7/14/10 10:15 AM
ChristinePDX said...
Lovely. I have noticed that you have amazing fabrics in HK.
7/14/10 10:15 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for another great review! It is AMAZING how you make such beautiful clothes that look so GREAT on you. Thanks again for being inspirational!
7/14/10 10:21 AM
trinicity said...
beautiful Allison, I love this dress
7/14/10 10:30 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress!
7/14/10 1:17 PM
Sigrid. said...
Surprised to see what you can do with such a basic pattern. You absolutely made it work. Gorgeous fabric and love how you played with the grain.
7/14/10 1:39 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, I love the fabric you have used.
7/14/10 2:59 PM
ladylola said...
Wow! I can't believe how made this pattern look so great! Bravo!
7/14/10 8:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Great use of fabric for the design. I have to admit I didn't remember seeing this pattern in the magazine, but you definitely made it memorable!
7/15/10 5:29 AM
Mahler said...
Super "workwomanship" . You have crated such a great dress. Bravissima !
7/21/10 11:20 PM
Catbird said...
You've made an instantly desirable dress -- I want it! That fabric is perfect for the pattern and your work is superb. It looks great on you.
7/23/10 10:42 AM
balired said...
I am in the midst of making this dress, and I am stuck, because for some reason, the lovely painted leaf print silk crepe, in blues, greens and white, now looks like material for medical scrubs or smocks to me, and nothing I do can get that picture out of my mind. (I will try to post a photo of the material for reference). I am afraid people will think I escaped from the hospital while still wearing my smock! Anyone have any ideas about how to either modify the dress, or accessorize so it doesn't look like a hospital gown?
8/24/10 1:47 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Hi Balired, I recommend posting this - with a pic if possible - in the message boards section so more people will see it. It may just all be about accessories - shoes, belt, jewellry to make it look less like hospital scrubs! Hope it can be saved.
8/25/10 3:27 AM
balired said...
Thanks Allie in HK! I will post it, although I may not be able to until after my trip to NYC tomorrow - was trying to finish it for the trip, but alas, life got in the way. :)
8/25/10 2:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6006

photo
by: MissMarnie

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now