SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-1999-109 (Dress)

Viewed 266 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 176
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/10 6:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DiePhem said...
Amazing dress and a great review. Very inspiring. I like the look without the shoulder pads better, I think they are a little too avantgarde for everyday use.
7/15/10 2:31 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I vote no. Clever copying on your part. I haven't tried the challenge of a "knock off" yet. Must give it a go one day.
7/15/10 2:37 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Now that I look at them again this morning with fresh eyes, the shoulder straps remind me of luggage straps. I mean, I get Bottega's whole resort/vacation thing, but I don't necessarily want to look like I'm wearing my luggage hehe
7/15/10 5:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress; you did an excellent job with the knock off style.
7/15/10 6:41 AM
Diane333 said...
I look forward to your reviews. Good job.
7/15/10 9:32 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your dress is a very clever copy! I think the shoulder straps are an essential part of the design for this contest, but I agree with the others that you wouldn't want to wear them in real life. Actually, the pads remind me of bra strap cushions. http://www.amazon.com/Fashion-Forms-Comfy-Shoulder-Cushions/dp/B0001IRSO2
7/15/10 2:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressive and improved version of your Bottega Veneta inspiration!
7/15/10 3:51 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Haha Nancy, you're right they do! I almost can't wait for the weather to cool down a little so I can wear this dress. But just almost -- I love summer
7/16/10 8:05 AM
rebija said...
What an amazing KnockOff! Thank you for the side-by-side view. Awesome!
7/16/10 8:37 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Wow! I love the way you solved this puzzle. I would not have even known where to start!
7/16/10 1:47 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I had to fix the link to my pattern, it should be viewable now
7/18/10 5:02 PM
valgal said...
What a unique dress and it looks so nice on you.
7/19/10 12:42 PM
kristinlala said...
Very cool dress!!!!!
7/21/10 11:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now