Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-1999-109 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 265 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/10 6:52 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DiePhem said...
Amazing dress and a great review. Very inspiring. I like the look without the shoulder pads better, I think they are a little too avantgarde for everyday use.
7/15/10 2:31 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I vote no. Clever copying on your part. I haven't tried the challenge of a "knock off" yet. Must give it a go one day.
7/15/10 2:37 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Now that I look at them again this morning with fresh eyes, the shoulder straps remind me of luggage straps. I mean, I get Bottega's whole resort/vacation thing, but I don't necessarily want to look like I'm wearing my luggage hehe
7/15/10 5:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress; you did an excellent job with the knock off style.
7/15/10 6:41 AM
Diane333 said...
I look forward to your reviews. Good job.
7/15/10 9:32 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your dress is a very clever copy! I think the shoulder straps are an essential part of the design for this contest, but I agree with the others that you wouldn't want to wear them in real life. Actually, the pads remind me of bra strap cushions. http://www.amazon.com/Fashion-Forms-Comfy-Shoulder-Cushions/dp/B0001IRSO2
7/15/10 2:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Impressive and improved version of your Bottega Veneta inspiration!
7/15/10 3:51 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Haha Nancy, you're right they do! I almost can't wait for the weather to cool down a little so I can wear this dress. But just almost -- I love summer
7/16/10 8:05 AM
rebija said...
What an amazing KnockOff! Thank you for the side-by-side view. Awesome!
7/16/10 8:37 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Wow! I love the way you solved this puzzle. I would not have even known where to start!
7/16/10 1:47 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I had to fix the link to my pattern, it should be viewable now
7/18/10 5:02 PM
valgal said...
What a unique dress and it looks so nice on you.
7/19/10 12:42 PM
kristinlala said...
Very cool dress!!!!!
7/21/10 11:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6795
photo
Review by avril jane on 8/25/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4780
photo
Review by angi_nagel on 12/18/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us