SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1111 (Kaleidoscope Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 681 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/10 9:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Cool! I was thinking of making this soon (actually, I was hoping to have the first review). And I did think about making it as a dress. You look great!
7/15/10 9:16 AM
Nancy K said...
So glad to see this as I bought it too. It looks great on you.
7/15/10 9:45 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I like seeing this made as a dress--I was considering that, too.
7/15/10 11:57 AM
Gelbean said...
Very nice! The color is great on you!
7/15/10 9:40 PM
Karen6790 said...
I like the proportion on you, at least how it ended up - and the color of course is fabulous.
7/15/10 9:55 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
This pattern really shows off your beautiful fabric. And I'll bet it's very comfortable to wear.
7/16/10 11:16 AM
tshores said...
I just made this pattern and the bodice is even longer on me--it goes down to my waist! Not at all what the picture shows on the pattern, and I was really disappointed. Should've checked; I only checked width and length. So I'm going to redo the pattern and try it again because I do like the fit otherwise.
8/24/13 2:43 AM
thornberry said...
Thanks for your review. I've had this pattern for ages and hadn't used it - but now that I see it as a dress, I definitely will! Thanks for making me think beyond the square.
7/15/14 2:31 AM
NancyGT said...
Thank you for the review. I purchased this and made a mock up muslin, following HP's advise to always make a muslin. Good that I did. The pattern printing was off (seriously off - one piece printed as if it were folded on top of itself and the directions for the asymetrical top which you made were cropped mid column vertically - totally unreadable). The 'under bust' seam was, as you say, much lower than expected. Even in a size 6, the buttons were also much more to the side of my bust than expected - one could NOT wear it open as drawn on the envelope cover. I liked the curve of the neckline -- but all in all, thought that I would redraft most of the pieces should I make it. Ultimately, I threw away the pattern (although I copied the neckline for use elsewhere) and went to something else. Rule 1 - ALWAYS MAKE A TEST PIECE!
8/7/14 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now