SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1111 (Kaleidoscope Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 681 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/10 9:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Cool! I was thinking of making this soon (actually, I was hoping to have the first review). And I did think about making it as a dress. You look great!
7/15/10 9:16 AM
Nancy K said...
So glad to see this as I bought it too. It looks great on you.
7/15/10 9:45 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I like seeing this made as a dress--I was considering that, too.
7/15/10 11:57 AM
Gelbean said...
Very nice! The color is great on you!
7/15/10 9:40 PM
Karen6790 said...
I like the proportion on you, at least how it ended up - and the color of course is fabulous.
7/15/10 9:55 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
This pattern really shows off your beautiful fabric. And I'll bet it's very comfortable to wear.
7/16/10 11:16 AM
tshores said...
I just made this pattern and the bodice is even longer on me--it goes down to my waist! Not at all what the picture shows on the pattern, and I was really disappointed. Should've checked; I only checked width and length. So I'm going to redo the pattern and try it again because I do like the fit otherwise.
8/24/13 2:43 AM
thornberry said...
Thanks for your review. I've had this pattern for ages and hadn't used it - but now that I see it as a dress, I definitely will! Thanks for making me think beyond the square.
7/15/14 2:31 AM
NancyGT said...
Thank you for the review. I purchased this and made a mock up muslin, following HP's advise to always make a muslin. Good that I did. The pattern printing was off (seriously off - one piece printed as if it were folded on top of itself and the directions for the asymetrical top which you made were cropped mid column vertically - totally unreadable). The 'under bust' seam was, as you say, much lower than expected. Even in a size 6, the buttons were also much more to the side of my bust than expected - one could NOT wear it open as drawn on the envelope cover. I liked the curve of the neckline -- but all in all, thought that I would redraft most of the pieces should I make it. Ultimately, I threw away the pattern (although I copied the neckline for use elsewhere) and went to something else. Rule 1 - ALWAYS MAKE A TEST PIECE!
8/7/14 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

New Look 6386

photo
by: julliams

Review
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1001

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review