SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2217 (Harem pants)

Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/10 9:40 PM
Last Updated:7/16/10 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
A very thoughtful review of this style driven by style for its own sake. Thank you.
7/16/10 11:14 PM
mastdenman said...
I actually like the way they look.
7/17/10 0:07 AM
sfshaza said...
I think they are really cute! I love them on you.
7/17/10 2:04 AM
Fictionfan said...
These look really comfortable, even if the whole sarouel revival is silly and can't possibly flatter any shape human body. I like the way they look on you much better than some of the crotch-below-knees versions I've seen. I wonder if you had some really limp fabric, like silk jersey or voile, whether these would give you the drape the drawing suggests the pants should have. Perhaps cotton, like linen, simply has too much body? Thanks for the review and the blog details.
7/17/10 2:47 AM
julesberry said...
Fictionfan: You'd think drapey fabric would be the answer. But I don't believe it, because, as I wrote on my blog, as I was finishing these I saw a very thin, fashionable woman wearing a drapey version, and they looked just awful. Basically they swung around as she walked, drawing attention in a very unflattering way to her bum. The cotton I used was not very crisp, and didn't have much body. Admittedly, as it was light it didn't hang heavily, but as I say, I don't think that would be an advantage when the trousers are in motion!
7/17/10 3:51 AM
FreyaStark said...
They don't look too bad for light-hearted casual wear, especially just at home.
7/17/10 6:16 AM
marec said...
I think they look fun, fresh and lighthearted. They're cute! I think they would be great for a patio/terrace party.
7/17/10 10:35 AM
sewtime said...
I am with the group, I love them!!
7/17/10 1:16 PM
mendospot said...
I like them on you also. They look fun and cute. The harem pant in my opinion doesn't look GOOD on anybody either but they're fun. And you can pull it off.
7/17/10 2:15 PM
Robin Denning said...
I loved your review, it made me laugh. They really look terrific, though. I like them on you.
7/17/10 9:45 PM
yorkshire lass said...
I am sorry you didn't like these. Thanks for a very thoughtful review. I think this is one Marfy pattern I won't be getting.
7/29/10 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now