SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5151 (Bags)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1106 times 
Reviewed by:Cindie
photo

 
 
About Cindiestar
Member since: 4/17/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/04 4:10 PM


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLP said...
I agree with Cindie's review. However, I have a "beginner" student trying to complete this project with the handles. What a disaster! She is not a good hand-sewer. Has anyone ever seen a similar pattern to this with different instructions?
2/24/05 11:34 PM
Mini said...
I'm planning to do the tie version of this pattern, so this is a timely review. Thanks for the warning about the seam allowances.
7/17/04 12:02 PM
flowermama said...
I made this bag for my daughter's birthday out of beautiful embroidered rayon brocade with a brocade lining. I also had difficulty sewing the ring handles onto the bag until I quit using the zipper foot and used the zigzag all-purpose foot on my machine but with a straight stitch. I also french seamed the bottoms of the bag and the lining as well as the sides up to the opening and bartacked the ends with the handle openings. The only stitches I had to pull out and resew were the ones I tried to do with the zipper foot!
7/16/04 4:14 PM
debbie.w said...
I bought this pattern a month or so back and made the other bag with the handle tie. It was simple to sew. My only alteration was to add a pocket on the front and added a thin quilting layer sandwiched between 2 layers of fabric so it is sort of padded. My mistake was trying to use a serger to go around the curves of all that fabric. Should've used the sewing machine for that but I was new to serging and was going serge crazy.
5/13/04 8:55 AM
candyo said...
Here's the pattern photo link: http://www.simplicity.com/assets/5151/5151.jpg
5/12/04 5:28 PM
MaryL said...
I made a bag similar to this - McCalls, I think, and had the same problem trying to sew the bag "around" the handles. It's like they didn't allow enough material to fit. I tried the zipper foot but ended doing it by hand, too. And I'm a terrible hand sewer but it looked better than when I did it on the machine.
5/12/04 4:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
New Look 6762

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review

Pattern