Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5151 (Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1106 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Cindie
photo
About Cindiestar
Member since: 4/17/03
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/04 4:10 PM
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $2.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $2.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryL said...
I made a bag similar to this - McCalls, I think, and had the same problem trying to sew the bag "around" the handles. It's like they didn't allow enough material to fit. I tried the zipper foot but ended doing it by hand, too. And I'm a terrible hand sewer but it looked better than when I did it on the machine.
5/12/04 4:27 PM
candyo said...
Here's the pattern photo link: http://www.simplicity.com/assets/5151/5151.jpg
5/12/04 5:28 PM
debbie.w said...
I bought this pattern a month or so back and made the other bag with the handle tie. It was simple to sew. My only alteration was to add a pocket on the front and added a thin quilting layer sandwiched between 2 layers of fabric so it is sort of padded. My mistake was trying to use a serger to go around the curves of all that fabric. Should've used the sewing machine for that but I was new to serging and was going serge crazy.
5/13/04 8:55 AM
flowermama said...
I made this bag for my daughter's birthday out of beautiful embroidered rayon brocade with a brocade lining. I also had difficulty sewing the ring handles onto the bag until I quit using the zipper foot and used the zigzag all-purpose foot on my machine but with a straight stitch. I also french seamed the bottoms of the bag and the lining as well as the sides up to the opening and bartacked the ends with the handle openings. The only stitches I had to pull out and resew were the ones I tried to do with the zipper foot!
7/16/04 4:14 PM
Mini said...
I'm planning to do the tie version of this pattern, so this is a timely review. Thanks for the warning about the seam allowances.
7/17/04 12:02 PM
RLP said...
I agree with Cindie's review. However, I have a "beginner" student trying to complete this project with the handles. What a disaster! She is not a good hand-sewer. Has anyone ever seen a similar pattern to this with different instructions?
2/24/05 11:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's M5813 Easy Pants
photo
Review by moonchild6... on 4/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Self Drafted
photo
Review by CharityAK on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4070 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1183 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us