Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1165 (Misses' Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 960 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 40 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/10 8:16 PM
Last Updated:7/19/10 8:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sfshaza said...
OMG, what a nightmare! But, at least you didn't lose your sense of humor, because this review is very funny. Given all those difficulties, I think it looks pretty good. But, wow, I will steer clear of this one!
7/19/10 8:28 PM
Elona said...
Gee, Ann, the blouse looks adorable on you. It really does, and I don't think anyone would even notice the slight rippling. After all, in RTW, is there even such a thing as a tuck without any puckering at all? But I understand your pain: I made a multi-tucked wedding shirt for DS, and it was a bear even though the (seemingly bazillion) tucks were all on the straight grain (more or less). I don't think I'd have the bravery you showed in attacking off-grain tucks.
7/19/10 8:32 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ann, it is marvelously good lookin'... only you can judge the pain vs. how much you like it conundrum.. but I would vote it a smashing great & wonderfully sharp looking nifty white shirt. so sorry it was a PITA to construct. Just swat the stork away... No I don't think it looks maternity at all.... & the review was a pretty good read too... thanks for the warning!
7/19/10 8:36 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the detailed review and all the tips. It is a very attractive look on you - I really like the stand up collar.
7/19/10 9:07 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Ann, Very nice blouse, something you would find at Anne Fontaine but better because you made it, of course the process was painful. I bought this pattern but, after your experience, I don't know if I'll attempt it. I am not as expert of sewer as you. Very strange the pattern was marked as Easy with 53 steps! It also bothers me a little that Sandra would stint on the instructions in order to sell her videos.
7/19/10 9:19 PM
Barbara V said...
Looking at your beautiful blouse and how nice it looks on you, one would never guess it was the blouse from h**l. As you forget the whole sad experience I'm sure you'll come to appreciate how very classy your blouse is. The fabric is wonderful.
7/19/10 9:30 PM
ibbizy said...
Wow!! With all the issues you had, your blouse still looks cute. I bought this pattern and was going to try it very soon, but hmmmm....I wouldn't have the patience you have....it would be a wadder for sure!!! LOL!!!
7/19/10 9:43 PM
lamstu said...
Great review! I usually find multiple tucks to be troublesome and I've never tried it on the bias. I'd be pretty annoyed with being referred to other documentation (especially if I didn't have it already and it cost more money). I didn't find your review excessive, but rather quite helpful!
7/19/10 9:56 PM
linda 75142 said...
Lordy, lordy...you had quite time with this one! I like that pattern and I may have it in the stash, but I think I will leave it there. I wasn't looking forward to all those tucks and I'm not fond of marking lots of lines. In the end, I think it looks nice on you. Thanks for the review!
7/19/10 10:16 PM
carolynw said...
First off I have to say the blouse looks lovely on you - secondly, today Vogue is on sale here at our local Fabricland and I had this pattern in my hand - I am glad I put it back now that I have read your review - confirms my feeling that there was just too much to this pattern - if it caused you grief I hate to think of how I would have made out with it. Great review!!
7/19/10 10:29 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your garments always look superb. I like this blouse on you.
7/19/10 10:35 PM
Lynngray said...
Looks great on you. I have pattern. But, I am having second thoughts if you had problems with it. Thanks for the Review
7/19/10 10:58 PM
FreyaStark said...
The blouse looks good on you - even with the puckered tucks. You're right to regard them as a design feature. Sorry it was such a pain to make, and thanks for a highly informative review.
7/20/10 0:25 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and one which had me laughing in several places -- not intended at your expense! Well, all I can say is all of your trouble was worth it in the end (easy for me to say), because it really is a unique and flattering top, with EXPERT tailoring! :o)
7/20/10 0:48 AM
tholtz said...
Thanks for the detailed and comedy of errors review, I will stay away from this one, especially as a beginner!
7/20/10 4:09 AM
susiestitcher said...
After all your trials and tribulations, you have still created a gorgeous blouse! I hope you will enjoy wearing it as the memory of the bad expeience fades. It looks terrific on you. The style is distinctive and sophisticated and looks wonderful with your black skirt. I agree that your tucks are simply a design feature, so do not worry one iota about puckers. I honestly cannot imagine NOT getting them in bias tucks. I am so sorry that you had such a crazy time making your blouse. Thank goodness for Suduko!
7/20/10 7:14 AM
Fran G said...
Your blouse looks wonderful on you,as does everything you create..in spite of it challenges. But if you had difficulty, where does that leave us less experienced sewists??? Thank goodness we can laugh at these things..kudos for completing the blouse..I think I would have surrendered somewhere before the finish line! It surprises me that Sandra would not have given a more detailed instruction for sewing the sleeve placket...she is such a wonderful instructor. Wear your blouse happily..white blouses..my favorite piece of clothing!!
7/20/10 7:58 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Kudos to you for finishing the top which looks great on you! You write a wonderful review too.
7/20/10 8:26 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your blouse is gorgeous despite your nightmare. Thanks for the detailed review. Wear that stylish blouse in triumphant victory!
7/20/10 9:35 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love the pin tucks~ As for the maternity look maybe you could minimize it by wearing a wonderful vest over it.
7/20/10 9:38 AM
Winifred said...
As many others have said,Ann, the shirt looks lovely, but I do empathise over all your frustrations! Not with this patterns as shirts dont look good on me, but another one of Sandra's. The instructions were abysmal, borne out by a few other PR ladies. Important things vital to a beginner too. I wonder if she rushes it too much. I'm just glad for you that you can wear the shirt happily bescause your Egyptian cotton sounds so beautifull.
7/20/10 10:14 AM
LuceLu said...
I think the online Sudoku was therapeutically necessary. Great review. I have this pattern and have purchased some fabric for it. Thanks for the tips! I plan it for part of my Fall/Winter wardrobe.
7/20/10 11:04 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I'm glad you are starting to like this style again with some distance. Your fabric is beautiful, and the shirt is lovely, after all that work. I have this pattern in my stash too, and had been wondering about some of the issues you ran into. With your experience to refer to, I think I will give it a try, but consider myself forewarned. Thanks.
7/20/10 11:26 AM
janet said...
You should be commended for your perserverance! Your blouse turned out quite lovely. Question: "Would a bit of spray starch help camoflage the puckering?" Just a thought.
7/20/10 11:38 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Who would have guess this was a nightmare to make. I think your blouse is beautiful and you wear it well. Thank you for the informative review. Maybe one day I'll have the nerve to make something like this.
7/20/10 12:42 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh.... my. I think I'll skip this one, but I thank you for the very informative and enjoyable review. Your great sense of humor always shines through!
7/20/10 6:18 PM
margk said...
Thanks for your great review. This is a very classy blouse and the fabric sounds like it will be gorgeous to wear.
7/20/10 6:49 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank you for the very thorough review and hints with humor. I really like your blouse and think it looks nice on you. I think sometimes when we struggle so much we have lost out enthusiams for it. May some time spent "curing" in the closet will make you like it in a few months when you put it on again.
7/21/10 9:35 AM
DorothyK said...
If I hadn't known better, I would think you just had the best time making this blouse. Having witnessed all the traumatic stages with you, I have to say you ended up with a beautiful blouse. Congratulations on your strength and fortitude in making it through to the end.
7/21/10 11:08 AM
JETrinity said...
I absolutely think you have a beautiful white blouse to go with everything. With all those tucks, it is a designer creation you made which should get a lot of comments or silent thoughts on how much that must have cost. I have looked at this pattern several times and thought of all the symmetry it has. You did a drop dead thing and probably amost drop dead doing it.
7/21/10 11:12 AM
grey ann said...
Glad to see you back - I love your reviews! Thanks for the warnings.
7/21/10 5:12 PM
Terri A said...
WOW! Well it sounds like what would happen to me with the markings not coming out! Well it is nice you persisted! Thanks for the great review!
7/22/10 7:30 PM
Tere Sews said...
I had to laugh as I read your review because I made some of the same mistakes....I ended up with the collar seam on top so thanks for the tip to always wear the collar up! I also found the sleeve cap is narrow and my arms are pulling at the fabric from the front bodice. And of course, I had already french seamed the armholes before I realized that I tried the blouse on. But I love the shaping so I think next time, I will pin together the pleats on the pattern and cut it out without the bias pleat detail. I have already adjusted the sleeve cap ala Sandra's Fast Fit book for the next version.
7/24/10 5:53 AM
Bunny7 said...
I sew wanted to make this shirt, but....I read the directions before I read your review and I really appreciate the points you've made. A few of the directions seemed off base to me, but not having sewn this and trusting Sandra's other patterns, I thought this is going to be a great and fun challenge. So far the only fun thing about this pattern is your review! I might wait now until I have a free week, lots of muslin and a fun-loving mind set. Thanks for the honesty. Great review
2/23/11 5:38 AM
stsimon said...
Not sure that I would have had the stamina to keep going in a similar situation.....but I'm relieved to see that a really good sewer like you gets into the same kind of fixes that I do! But as to the pattern's style, I honestly don't understand why this pattern, and also the newer Issy Miyake tunic/shirt V1204, have tucks that radiate outward toward the hips that make the hip area look wider. Why not have nice friendly lines that radiate from hip out toward shoulders to make us look slimmer? I'm planning to make the Miyake tunic without those lower tucks, just leaving the ones on the sleeves, upper chest, and back for that very reason. Things are bad enough!
3/1/11 1:03 PM
BaileyB said...
You did a marvelous job and I applaud you for persisting and finishing despite the setbacks! I would have thrown in the towel and started over another day but that's one of may character flaws. ;) Thank you so much for such an honest and detailed review!! I love reading about others' experiences before I begin a new project.
3/7/11 11:12 PM
Lov2Ski/Sew said...
Ann: Your experience sounds like my every project. It looks charming on you and you "made it work". Good save!! Sandra B is offering a 3 hr Interactive Seminar featuring this blouse at the American Sewing Expo in September. She is bringing fitting shells to determine alterations needed for back, bust, arms, shoulders and tummy. Also there will be techniques for sleeve plackets, pointed collar, neckbands, and shirttail hems. I know this style blouse does not work for me, but the techniques being offered in the seminar sould like they would benefit my skill level and be worth the investment.
7/20/11 7:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 5956
photo
Review by valerie se... on 1/30/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6007 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3363 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us