SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1165 (Misses' Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1026 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/10 8:16 PM
Last Updated:7/19/10 8:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 44 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lov2Ski/Sew said...
Ann: Your experience sounds like my every project. It looks charming on you and you "made it work". Good save!! Sandra B is offering a 3 hr Interactive Seminar featuring this blouse at the American Sewing Expo in September. She is bringing fitting shells to determine alterations needed for back, bust, arms, shoulders and tummy. Also there will be techniques for sleeve plackets, pointed collar, neckbands, and shirttail hems. I know this style blouse does not work for me, but the techniques being offered in the seminar sould like they would benefit my skill level and be worth the investment.
7/20/11 7:47 PM
BaileyB said...
You did a marvelous job and I applaud you for persisting and finishing despite the setbacks! I would have thrown in the towel and started over another day but that's one of may character flaws. ;) Thank you so much for such an honest and detailed review!! I love reading about others' experiences before I begin a new project.
3/7/11 11:12 PM
stsimon said...
Not sure that I would have had the stamina to keep going in a similar situation.....but I'm relieved to see that a really good sewer like you gets into the same kind of fixes that I do! But as to the pattern's style, I honestly don't understand why this pattern, and also the newer Issy Miyake tunic/shirt V1204, have tucks that radiate outward toward the hips that make the hip area look wider. Why not have nice friendly lines that radiate from hip out toward shoulders to make us look slimmer? I'm planning to make the Miyake tunic without those lower tucks, just leaving the ones on the sleeves, upper chest, and back for that very reason. Things are bad enough!
3/1/11 1:03 PM
Bunny7 said...
I sew wanted to make this shirt, but....I read the directions before I read your review and I really appreciate the points you've made. A few of the directions seemed off base to me, but not having sewn this and trusting Sandra's other patterns, I thought this is going to be a great and fun challenge. So far the only fun thing about this pattern is your review! I might wait now until I have a free week, lots of muslin and a fun-loving mind set. Thanks for the honesty. Great review
2/23/11 5:38 AM
Tere Sews said...
I had to laugh as I read your review because I made some of the same mistakes....I ended up with the collar seam on top so thanks for the tip to always wear the collar up! I also found the sleeve cap is narrow and my arms are pulling at the fabric from the front bodice. And of course, I had already french seamed the armholes before I realized that I tried the blouse on. But I love the shaping so I think next time, I will pin together the pleats on the pattern and cut it out without the bias pleat detail. I have already adjusted the sleeve cap ala Sandra's Fast Fit book for the next version.
7/24/10 5:53 AM
Terri A said...
WOW! Well it sounds like what would happen to me with the markings not coming out! Well it is nice you persisted! Thanks for the great review!
7/22/10 7:30 PM
grey ann said...
Glad to see you back - I love your reviews! Thanks for the warnings.
7/21/10 5:12 PM
JETrinity said...
I absolutely think you have a beautiful white blouse to go with everything. With all those tucks, it is a designer creation you made which should get a lot of comments or silent thoughts on how much that must have cost. I have looked at this pattern several times and thought of all the symmetry it has. You did a drop dead thing and probably amost drop dead doing it.
7/21/10 11:12 AM
DorothyK said...
If I hadn't known better, I would think you just had the best time making this blouse. Having witnessed all the traumatic stages with you, I have to say you ended up with a beautiful blouse. Congratulations on your strength and fortitude in making it through to the end.
7/21/10 11:08 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank you for the very thorough review and hints with humor. I really like your blouse and think it looks nice on you. I think sometimes when we struggle so much we have lost out enthusiams for it. May some time spent "curing" in the closet will make you like it in a few months when you put it on again.
7/21/10 9:35 AM
margk said...
Thanks for your great review. This is a very classy blouse and the fabric sounds like it will be gorgeous to wear.
7/20/10 6:49 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh.... my. I think I'll skip this one, but I thank you for the very informative and enjoyable review. Your great sense of humor always shines through!
7/20/10 6:18 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Who would have guess this was a nightmare to make. I think your blouse is beautiful and you wear it well. Thank you for the informative review. Maybe one day I'll have the nerve to make something like this.
7/20/10 12:42 PM
janet said...
You should be commended for your perserverance! Your blouse turned out quite lovely. Question: "Would a bit of spray starch help camoflage the puckering?" Just a thought.
7/20/10 11:38 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I'm glad you are starting to like this style again with some distance. Your fabric is beautiful, and the shirt is lovely, after all that work. I have this pattern in my stash too, and had been wondering about some of the issues you ran into. With your experience to refer to, I think I will give it a try, but consider myself forewarned. Thanks.
7/20/10 11:26 AM
LuceLu said...
I think the online Sudoku was therapeutically necessary. Great review. I have this pattern and have purchased some fabric for it. Thanks for the tips! I plan it for part of my Fall/Winter wardrobe.
7/20/10 11:04 AM
Winifred said...
As many others have said,Ann, the shirt looks lovely, but I do empathise over all your frustrations! Not with this patterns as shirts dont look good on me, but another one of Sandra's. The instructions were abysmal, borne out by a few other PR ladies. Important things vital to a beginner too. I wonder if she rushes it too much. I'm just glad for you that you can wear the shirt happily bescause your Egyptian cotton sounds so beautifull.
7/20/10 10:14 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love the pin tucks~ As for the maternity look maybe you could minimize it by wearing a wonderful vest over it.
7/20/10 9:38 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your blouse is gorgeous despite your nightmare. Thanks for the detailed review. Wear that stylish blouse in triumphant victory!
7/20/10 9:35 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Kudos to you for finishing the top which looks great on you! You write a wonderful review too.
7/20/10 8:26 AM
Fran G said...
Your blouse looks wonderful on you,as does everything you create..in spite of it challenges. But if you had difficulty, where does that leave us less experienced sewists??? Thank goodness we can laugh at these things..kudos for completing the blouse..I think I would have surrendered somewhere before the finish line! It surprises me that Sandra would not have given a more detailed instruction for sewing the sleeve placket...she is such a wonderful instructor. Wear your blouse happily..white blouses..my favorite piece of clothing!!
7/20/10 7:58 AM
susiestitcher said...
After all your trials and tribulations, you have still created a gorgeous blouse! I hope you will enjoy wearing it as the memory of the bad expeience fades. It looks terrific on you. The style is distinctive and sophisticated and looks wonderful with your black skirt. I agree that your tucks are simply a design feature, so do not worry one iota about puckers. I honestly cannot imagine NOT getting them in bias tucks. I am so sorry that you had such a crazy time making your blouse. Thank goodness for Suduko!
7/20/10 7:14 AM
tholtz said...
Thanks for the detailed and comedy of errors review, I will stay away from this one, especially as a beginner!
7/20/10 4:09 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and one which had me laughing in several places -- not intended at your expense! Well, all I can say is all of your trouble was worth it in the end (easy for me to say), because it really is a unique and flattering top, with EXPERT tailoring! :o)
7/20/10 0:48 AM
FreyaStark said...
The blouse looks good on you - even with the puckered tucks. You're right to regard them as a design feature. Sorry it was such a pain to make, and thanks for a highly informative review.
7/20/10 0:25 AM
Lynngray said...
Looks great on you. I have pattern. But, I am having second thoughts if you had problems with it. Thanks for the Review
7/19/10 10:58 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your garments always look superb. I like this blouse on you.
7/19/10 10:35 PM
carolynw said...
First off I have to say the blouse looks lovely on you - secondly, today Vogue is on sale here at our local Fabricland and I had this pattern in my hand - I am glad I put it back now that I have read your review - confirms my feeling that there was just too much to this pattern - if it caused you grief I hate to think of how I would have made out with it. Great review!!
7/19/10 10:29 PM
linda 75142 said...
Lordy, lordy...you had quite time with this one! I like that pattern and I may have it in the stash, but I think I will leave it there. I wasn't looking forward to all those tucks and I'm not fond of marking lots of lines. In the end, I think it looks nice on you. Thanks for the review!
7/19/10 10:16 PM
lamstu said...
Great review! I usually find multiple tucks to be troublesome and I've never tried it on the bias. I'd be pretty annoyed with being referred to other documentation (especially if I didn't have it already and it cost more money). I didn't find your review excessive, but rather quite helpful!
7/19/10 9:56 PM
ibbizy said...
Wow!! With all the issues you had, your blouse still looks cute. I bought this pattern and was going to try it very soon, but hmmmm....I wouldn't have the patience you have....it would be a wadder for sure!!! LOL!!!
7/19/10 9:43 PM
Barbara V said...
Looking at your beautiful blouse and how nice it looks on you, one would never guess it was the blouse from h**l. As you forget the whole sad experience I'm sure you'll come to appreciate how very classy your blouse is. The fabric is wonderful.
7/19/10 9:30 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Ann, Very nice blouse, something you would find at Anne Fontaine but better because you made it, of course the process was painful. I bought this pattern but, after your experience, I don't know if I'll attempt it. I am not as expert of sewer as you. Very strange the pattern was marked as Easy with 53 steps! It also bothers me a little that Sandra would stint on the instructions in order to sell her videos.
7/19/10 9:19 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the detailed review and all the tips. It is a very attractive look on you - I really like the stand up collar.
7/19/10 9:07 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ann, it is marvelously good lookin'... only you can judge the pain vs. how much you like it conundrum.. but I would vote it a smashing great & wonderfully sharp looking nifty white shirt. so sorry it was a PITA to construct. Just swat the stork away... No I don't think it looks maternity at all.... & the review was a pretty good read too... thanks for the warning!
7/19/10 8:36 PM
Elona said...
Gee, Ann, the blouse looks adorable on you. It really does, and I don't think anyone would even notice the slight rippling. After all, in RTW, is there even such a thing as a tuck without any puckering at all? But I understand your pain: I made a multi-tucked wedding shirt for DS, and it was a bear even though the (seemingly bazillion) tucks were all on the straight grain (more or less). I don't think I'd have the bravery you showed in attacking off-grain tucks.
7/19/10 8:32 PM
sfshaza said...
OMG, what a nightmare! But, at least you didn't lose your sense of humor, because this review is very funny. Given all those difficulties, I think it looks pretty good. But, wow, I will steer clear of this one!
7/19/10 8:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2284

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now