SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5985 (Zip hoodie)

1 more reviews
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/10 8:41 PM
Last Updated:7/19/10 8:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
When you cross a hoodie with a cape, do you get a Cappie or a Hape or Coodie? I like it... fun style. and a perfect antedote for your fabulously difficult tucked shirt...
7/19/10 8:48 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very nice combination of casual styling and pretty fabric.
7/19/10 9:10 PM
sfshaza said...
Very cute! I love the polka dot fabric and the glitzy zipper. I also have that pattern aging in my stash and I will have to give it another look.
7/19/10 10:12 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love your wide sleeved jacket, Ann!
7/19/10 10:21 PM
Barbara V said...
Like combining foods in unusual ways for new flavors, I see this similarly with the casual look of a hoodie mixed with dressier elements of a cape. I like it with the mix especially made up in the wonderful polka dot fabric and using the rhinestone zipper. Great fun!
7/19/10 10:23 PM
Aroura said...
Really nice, great style and it looks fantastic! The zipper is a nice touch.
7/19/10 11:50 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, GOOD, you deserved an easier, rewarding pattern after the blouse from hell. :o) I've contemplated this pattern many times, and yours looks GREAT. And, by the way, I don't know if you made your jeans, too, but they fit GREAT!
7/20/10 0:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a refreshingly innovative incarnation of a unique style. Have fun wearing it!!
7/20/10 5:50 AM
Rebecca D said...
Totally missed this one, now you've got me thinking about it. Very cute.
7/20/10 6:39 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
What a great jacket! Love the rhinestone zipper!!
7/20/10 7:53 AM
ryansmumAria said...
As always, stunning!
7/20/10 9:39 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Wow! You've taken what is usually a very casual garment and made it into high fashion. If you want to add another exotic note to it, where I live a hoodie is also called a bunny hug. This is apparently a Saskatchewan term only, but now you're in the know. And you've inspired me to reconsider this pattern.
7/20/10 11:33 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I wouldn't have even considered this pattern before seeing your fabulous version. Love the sparkly zipper and the elegant fabric choice! Your projects are always a refreshing inspiration for me.
7/20/10 11:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Are you happy now? I'm going to buy this pattern when I have to go to Wal-Mart today, haven of the masses. :o)
7/20/10 1:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Whoops, I got impatient and clicked too many times.
7/20/10 1:40 PM
Cornelia said...
That looks great! Somehow, it managed to focus my eye on your very well fitted jeans. Good wardrobe planning. No don't tell me those jeans are RTW.
7/20/10 3:49 PM
Karendee said...
Like AnneMarie60, I would not have glanced twice at this pattern before seeing your wonderful project. You certainly changed my idea of this capelet. Your fabric/zipper combo plus your style while wearing it, makes it all perfect! Thanks for the review.
7/20/10 5:35 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for the great comments everyone. We reviewers thrive on them. About the jeans: yes RTW, Calvin Klein bought at Costco! I must be easy to fit.
7/20/10 7:55 PM
DorothyK said...
This is adorable. I love the combination of that fabulous fabric with the glitzy zipper. Great hoodie!
7/21/10 10:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5490

photo
by: annie11

Review