SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8897 (Top and Skirt)

Viewed 547 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/10 1:52 AM
Last Updated:7/20/10 1:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
It looks like a very comfy top. I love the fabric and the colour.
7/20/10 2:04 AM
Aroura said...
Yours looks much better than the model's. What a great lot of work you put into it, an it shows! Lovely.
7/20/10 2:15 AM
Sigrid. said...
The top really shows off the possibilities of this pattern, Love the shaping of it and as always, perfect work.
7/20/10 2:23 AM
sfshaza said...
It's like reading a story. :) You are nice to your Daddy. I love the double darts on this pattern. I love your top!
7/20/10 2:59 AM
BillieJean said...
I love this top and I love your review. I can just see you with your dogs right behind you, making all those trips back and forth to stir the granola. I have dogs and I know what you mean.
7/20/10 6:48 AM
KathySews said...
I think I should just make a list of what you make and follow. I love this. I would have passed this pattern by because of the skirt. Also, I want that fabric! Beautiful.
7/20/10 7:22 AM
HeyJane said...
Super stylish! Love that collar, it's so flattering.
7/20/10 7:24 AM
Renren said...
Very nice! Love the fabric, the top, the review, and the four dogs following you to the kitchen.
7/20/10 8:42 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
This is such a great top! It looks a lot better than the pattern envelope and the fabric and colout are just right. Your review made me smile (they usually do!). Are you the Pied Piper for dogs? I hope your Dad enjoys his granola.
7/20/10 9:08 AM
Christas said...
What a pretty top - love the shaping you added too! Goodness, with all this sewing you have been doing lately your poor stash is going to dwindle down to nuthin' ! I can't believe you keep wanting to sew pretty fall and winter clothes in this heat, but one this is for sure, you will have a gorgeous cooler weather wardrobe! Excellent review, as ALWAYS!
7/20/10 9:17 AM
Christas said...
You made granola and didn't send me any ...... so sad!
7/20/10 9:19 AM
Annette1 said...
Fluffy Bunny: Ha! Believe it or not, Mom and Daddy used to call me the Pied Piper when we lived in Virginia, because at that time, there were lots of dogs just running around in the neighborhood, and they all followed me EVERYWHERE I WENT! :O)
7/20/10 10:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely top Annette! I, too, like the way the fabric turned out after washing & drying. Lucky Daddy!! :-)
7/20/10 10:09 AM
Patti B said...
Lovely top. I have always liked that type of collar. Yours looks SO much better than the pattern!
7/20/10 10:12 AM
Catbird said...
Oooh...I love this one! These deep, rich colors you've been using lately look fantastic on you (and that type of collar does, too) and it's so cool how that fabric got transformed in the washer and dryer. I enjoyed the saga of you and your four huge dogs burning the midnight oil, traipsing back and forth between the Sewing Room From Hell and Daddy's Granola. It's amazing to me that the spark of a notion about doing some sewing while the granola was baking turned into a pattern search, a washing and drying event, pattern alterations, cutting, sewing and a beautiful top at the end! Even with TWO batches of granola that's quite an accomplishment. I love this and love the pin with it. Now I can't wait to see those Issey Miyake pants ;-))
7/20/10 10:19 AM
Riesie said...
Gorgeous! Very Kim Novak in Bell, Book and Candle! (Well, her's was red silk, but still.......same gorgeous neckline).
7/20/10 10:37 AM
Ann Smith said...
What an amusing story. Another night owl I see! I have that pattern too so you have inspired me with your great looking top.
7/20/10 10:51 AM
janet said...
Tres chic!
7/20/10 11:11 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love the collar too. Thanks for reviewing this pattern. Your top is sophisticated and chic. One that I would love in my wardrobe.
7/20/10 12:14 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
A winner! You're like me trying to decide which piece of fabric to marry with which pattern! Enjoyed following the alterations you made. I really like the length of this top because it's just right for the vintage look you desired. Also enjoyed following your thought process. I know your dad will enjoy his homemade granola, btw.
7/20/10 12:35 PM
Karendee said...
What a fun review just packed full of handy sewing tips!! And as for the top, it is perfect. Of course that top doesn't need a zipper!!! But I would have never thought of that particular side seam alteration. Like several other posters, I really like these darker colors on you and I'm finding the "newly grown short hairdo" just the thing to show off your fall/winter styles. I think this is the perfect time to get ready for fall/wiinter clothing since you're following the RTW cycle. When one is so hot, sewing summer clothes seem redundant. I agree with sfshaza (read her blog, Annette) in saying this review reads like a story. What fun!!!
7/20/10 12:45 PM
carolynw said...
It's lovely Annette and your review - funny as usual - I have titled it "Further Adventures with Annette". Washing that wool sure gave you a whole other deminsion to think of - I want to try it but think I am going to just end up with a ruined piece of cloth. Oh well - nothing tried - nothing done so will pick out my least favourite piece of wool and have a go!!
7/20/10 1:10 PM
MNBarb said...
So glad you didn't burn the granola after you got a wrapped up in sewing. I love your reviews, they're like chatting over a cup of coffee. This in one of my favorite collar styles, I think it looks good on everyone. Love the fabric and the top!
7/20/10 1:12 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette I love it. What color boiled wool are you thinking of?
7/20/10 1:32 PM
Annette1 said...
Sweetie Bop: Well, I'm not sure, BUT I did find a WHOLE BUNCH OF THEM on Mood Fabrics. I've been OGLING them for quite a while -- ha! I really like the RED and the BROWN. (Big surprise there, right?)
7/20/10 1:37 PM
Barbara V said...
Very flattering top. I love the collar. Whew....glad you got the collar cut out before running out of fabric!
7/20/10 4:13 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette get them both. That top is fabulous on you.
7/20/10 4:37 PM
Karendee said...
Meant to say earlier that I really love the length of the top. I'd reconsider making the top longer next time. It's quite slimming or perhaps you're just slim.
7/20/10 5:29 PM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty! That fabric is just gorgeous! I love the double darts, and the collar. So many possibilities with this pattern!
7/20/10 6:06 PM
Margaret said...
Great looking top! I like the short length too.
7/20/10 8:11 PM
room2ndfloor said...
I missed you there for a while. Glad to see that you are back, sassy as ever.
7/20/10 8:48 PM
Athene said...
A great top and the fabric is gorgeous.
7/20/10 10:15 PM
marec said...
Love it!
7/21/10 1:45 AM
Peggy L said...
DITTO:) Love the top, the hair and the pin:) You are working hard to put some weight back on your Dad and I am sure he is enjoying all of the attention.
7/21/10 2:31 AM
susiestitcher said...
What beautiful fabric you ended up with. I love the color! Your top is great on you. Granola fumes...LOL! Lovely sewing job.
7/21/10 6:52 AM
Fran G said...
What a great review! Love your top. Does your energy come from the granola??!!?? Holy cow! My days of starting anything at 11pm are so behind me!
7/21/10 7:04 AM
HLT said...
Way to start on your fall wardrobe! I love that collar!
7/21/10 8:15 PM
Mahler said...
I am in love with your top. The fabric and pattern are amazing. Acutally, I want that pattern so badly !!! I will try to find it on Ebay. It is OOP no ? You look wonderful
7/21/10 11:14 PM
Terri A said...
The granola sounds yummy and so does the wool you found in your stash! Great job:-)
7/22/10 7:27 PM
Jane S said...
Love your top, love the color on you and love your review. Isn't it funny how washing fabric changes the texture just enough for it to become something else. You picked a great pattern...double darts look wonderful. Bravo once again.
7/22/10 10:13 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a cool story, and the top is so chic!
7/23/10 10:33 PM
callmeRuth said...
Hey, beautiful lady...I love your new top and I enjoyed reading your review. Keep sewing those fall/winter clothes and you'll be ahead of the game.
7/28/10 11:01 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Beautiful top! Well worth all your hard work. Love the retro collar.
7/30/10 9:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-105

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review