SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2378 (Child's)

Viewed 149 times 
Reviewed by:sewsunny37
photo

 
 
About sewsunny37
Member since: 6/12/10
Reviews: 16 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/10 11:48 AM
Last Updated:7/21/10 2:05 AM
Review Rating:
Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Swim Style Patterns


Swimwear Gymwear Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Gram2four said... (5/20/12 0:40 AM) Reply
Wow, fusible hem tape! Thankyou so much for the tip ! I made the top and had to topstitch it and was not really thrilled with the result because of the bit of gathering .{understitching did not keep it from rolling and would have to be ironed, I like to keep things simple for the moms} I will get some tape for the next top & dress. You are very creative for this being your first project. The dress is very cute .I used the sew simple pattern , exactly the same as the dummies pattern. I have both now as I wanted to make more than just the top. I too did not find it for beginners as the directions were lacking for anyone just starting out. You did a great job !
Lisanne said... (6/20/11 6:19 AM) Reply
Very helpful and informative
craftygamma said... (7/21/10 11:01 AM) Reply
Great idea for the fusible hem tape to hold down a facing. You should make a tip out of this. I just stitched down a front facing on a RTW, because I was tired of having to iron it just because the facing billowed. It is a casual wear blouse, so I didn't worry about the "unprofessionalism" of the stitching showing. Fusible hen tape would have worked fine for that. PS...I also like the dresses and respect your children's indivuality.
lacroise1 said... (7/21/10 4:59 AM) Reply
Great job on both dresses! Very very cute and that was ingenious with the fusible hem tape instead of understitching. I will have to try that myself.. Thanks!
sewsunny37 said... (7/21/10 2:04 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for your encouraging comment! You've so inspired me that I made another version of the dress tonight (much easier the second time around!) and posted it to the review. I'm so grateful for the PR community and am glad I found it!
Annette1 said... (7/20/10 2:36 PM) Reply
This is just as cute as it can be, and you did a great job with it! I've often wondered, myself, what is the difference between a "dummy" pattern and a pattern rated as "very easy" or whatever. I think it's just a marketing scheme!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Tee and Tunic

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Tee and Tunic

Pattern Details
StyleArc Lea knit wrap dress

photo
by: saboyu

Review