Online Sewing Class: Understanding Sheer Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2378 (Child's)

Viewed 148 times 
Reviewed by:sewsunny37
photo

 
 
About sewsunny37
Member since: 6/12/10
Reviews: 16 (patterns: 16)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/10 11:48 AM
Last Updated:7/21/10 2:05 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gram2four said... (5/20/12 0:40 AM) Reply
Wow, fusible hem tape! Thankyou so much for the tip ! I made the top and had to topstitch it and was not really thrilled with the result because of the bit of gathering .{understitching did not keep it from rolling and would have to be ironed, I like to keep things simple for the moms} I will get some tape for the next top & dress. You are very creative for this being your first project. The dress is very cute .I used the sew simple pattern , exactly the same as the dummies pattern. I have both now as I wanted to make more than just the top. I too did not find it for beginners as the directions were lacking for anyone just starting out. You did a great job !
Lisanne said... (6/20/11 6:19 AM) Reply
Very helpful and informative
craftygamma said... (7/21/10 11:01 AM) Reply
Great idea for the fusible hem tape to hold down a facing. You should make a tip out of this. I just stitched down a front facing on a RTW, because I was tired of having to iron it just because the facing billowed. It is a casual wear blouse, so I didn't worry about the "unprofessionalism" of the stitching showing. Fusible hen tape would have worked fine for that. PS...I also like the dresses and respect your children's indivuality.
lacroise1 said... (7/21/10 4:59 AM) Reply
Great job on both dresses! Very very cute and that was ingenious with the fusible hem tape instead of understitching. I will have to try that myself.. Thanks!
sewsunny37 said... (7/21/10 2:04 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for your encouraging comment! You've so inspired me that I made another version of the dress tonight (much easier the second time around!) and posted it to the review. I'm so grateful for the PR community and am glad I found it!
Annette1 said... (7/20/10 2:36 PM) Reply
This is just as cute as it can be, and you did a great job with it! I've often wondered, myself, what is the difference between a "dummy" pattern and a pattern rated as "very easy" or whatever. I think it's just a marketing scheme!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Burda 8121

photo
by: popo

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2013-4

photo
by: westmoon

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Pattern Details